George T. answered 09/29/20
17 Years of Digital Marketing Experience
CLV is a crucial concept for marketing because it proves you can spend a lot of money up front to bring in a customer, even though you don't see any profit for quite some time. You calculate CLV the same way you would a net profit -- revenue minus costs -- except you have to consider the added dimension of time.
I'll show you how to calculate average CLV for all customers and you can extrapolate.
Step 1: calculate costs
One-time:
$600 CPA (cost per acquisition)
Recurring, annual:
$45 Annual maintenance costs per customer
$30 record-keeping and billing costs
This is the easiest part. The only thing we want to be wary of is we don't accidentally mix up the one-time CPA with the annual costs.
Step 2: calculate revenue
We're calculating the composite revenue here -- averaging out the revenue generated by all 3 different packages.
Formula:
(rate * (1 - discount) * percentage_of_users) * 12
($30 * (1 - 0.12) * .5) * 12 = $158.40
So, the half of all customers who take the basic service package pay $158.40 per year.
The figures for the premium and superpremium packages yield $211.20 and $84.48, respectively.
Add the three numbers together and you get annual composite revenue of $454.08
Step 3: net out year 1
Easy-peasy!
Formula: revenue - costs = profit
$454.08 - $675 = $-220.92
Step 4: net out year 2
Same formula as step 3 with one exception: we're going to eliminate 20% of the revenue AND the costs (because we retained 80% of the customers). Note also our one-time CPA of $600 is gone -- so costs are now significantly less:
Formula: (revenue - costs) * retention_rate = profit
$454.08 - $75 = $303.26
Step 5: repeat
Now it's simpler -- you can just multiply last year's net profit by retention rate. I did this out to year 10:
| 3 | $194.09 |
| 4 | $155.27 |
| 5 | $124.22 |
| 6 | $99.37 |
| 7 | $79.50 |
| 8 | $63.60 |
| 9 | $50.88 |
| 10 | $40.70 |
(I stopped at 10 years because that seemed reasonable -- different industries have different benchmarks for effective CLV durations.)
Step 6: sum it up!
Now just add the net values of each year, 1-10, to get CLV. I get $889.98 -- what did you get?