Simon T.

asked • 02/16/24

Action in a 3 way pot that also has an under raise

Hi. I would like clarification on a ruling that was made in a pot I was involved in in a private game. it involves 3 players. 1 small stack (player A) and 2 larger stacks


Amounts arent accurate, and only relavent with regards to the Under Raise (house rules are a raise must be double the last bet (not double the raise) to constitute a full raise. Anything under that is an under raise. this makes it easier for the amateur dealers.


3 way to the flop (again, cards are irrevalent)

Player A (BB) bets 750

Player B calls

Player C raises to 1650

Player A all in for 2600 (everyone understands that this is an underbet under house rules)

Player B wants to go all in...


A ruling is made that Player B cannot do so becase Player A had under raised Player C and that Player B's call of the initial 750 constituted äction in the hand"


My feeling is that Player B should have been allowed to shove as, although he had had action on Player A's initial bet, he had not acted on the full/legitimate raise from Player C yet, so should not be bound by the "cant raise an under raise"rule.


Thoughts?


Regards


Simon



1 Expert Answer

By:

Still looking for help? Get the right answer, fast.

Ask a question for free

Get a free answer to a quick problem.
Most questions answered within 4 hours.

OR

Find an Online Tutor Now

Choose an expert and meet online. No packages or subscriptions, pay only for the time you need.