Ask a question
0 0

roman armies were divided into groups called what?

Roman armies were divided into groups called what? They conquered territories which were later provinces. 
Tutors, please sign in to answer this question.

2 Answers

The Roman Army was divided into legions.  Within each legion or legio there were ten cohortes or cohorts.  Legions had a name and number like legio x gemina.  During the first three centuries of the Roman Empire there  were between 25 and 34 legions, containing 5000-6000 men each.  Each cohort was further divided into three manipuli.  Each manipuli (literally handfuls) was further divided into two centuriae, and specialized based on needs.  
Keppie, Lawerence.  "The Making of the Roman Army"
cohorts= 1/10 of a legion