Search 73,932 tutors
Over 50 tutoring hours

Cara D.

Music or Italian/English Language Tutor

Merrimac, MA (01860)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
Email Cara D.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Cara D.

Cara D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Cara, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I am a very passionate and active tutor! I'm very enthusiastic, and I love to help others learn and a be a part of the learning process. I am always excited to share knowledge; I'm patient, understanding, and I work hard to make connections with students and help them understand the material. I'm outgoing, fun, and positive by nature, and I work to bring out the strengths in my students through a positive learning atmosphere. I'm willing to be a resource to the student even outside of lesson times via phone or email. I have a lot of experience with students of all ages, from working with adult learners and college students to small children.

Email Cara

Cara’s subjects

English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Composition (Music), General Music, Guitar, Music Theory, Piano, Songwriting, Voice (Music)
Composition (Music)
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
English, ESL/ESOL, Piano, Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Writing, TOEFL
Cooking, Sewing
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Italian, Proofreading, Public Speaking


I have been actively passionate about the correct preparation of food (as well as portion size and healthy, fresh ingredients) for about 10 years now. I began cooking for myself at about age 10 and took an interest in food science and sustainable food practices by about age 18. I have conducted continuous research on nutrition and food science (seeing as the information tends to constantly be in flux) and I have taken cooking classes while abroad in Italy and apprenticed under an Italian cook on and off for 3 years. I have also researched and visited many different types of farms in both the United States and Europe and taken an active role in the slow food movement.


I have been actively teaching ESL/ESOL for about one year now. I teach Cambodian and Italian students. I also have my TESOL certification from Oxford Seminars, which I obtained in July of 2010. I have taught beginner to advanced students with an array of approaches for each different learner. I use lots of creative materials to try to access my students' ability to learn.

General Music

I have been actively playing and studying music for 17 years. I have given private lessons in guitar, voice, and piano for a year and a half now. I have a BA in Communications which helps me to work with different learners and approach my teaching style.


I have been studying the guitar both by myself and under the guidance of a teacher for 8 years. I have been teaching the guitar since September of 2011 at a small music studio in Merrimac, MA. I also have taken college level music theory and music history classes and I perform out and play with various musicians constantly (which I've been doing for 6 years).


Studied Italian at Scuola Lorenzo de' Medici, Firenze, Italia - 3 years
Lived in Florence, Italy for part of year 2008-2012
Teaching Italian privately since 2010


I am certified to teach ESL (TESL certification) and have been intensely teaching foreign students on beginner levels of phonics, single letter sounds, and pronunciation (Cambodian origin-- this culture struggles especially in phonics) for about 6 months now, using various approaches and self-designed teaching tools and materials to improve the students' understanding of english phonics.


I have been privately teaching since 2010. I am classically trained with a holistic approach - Dr. Faina B. I have been a pianist for 10 years and am a performing singer-songwriter (pop).

Public Speaking

I have studied public speaking on a college level and I hold a BA in communications. Throughout my college career I engaged in public speaking in front of classmates, peers, and community. As a performing musician now I constantly am utilizing affective public speaking when presenting myself to an audience.


I have been tutoring students for about two years now, including in English writing, phonics, and grammar, English as a second language, Italian language, and music. I have a positive attitude with my students and a lot of patience for young learners. My biggest strength as a tutor is my ability to work with language and the various devices of it (reading, writing, speaking, etc) and teaching it in an approachable way. As a young learner, I learned to read at a very young age (end of preschool) and always had a natural affinity for writing and using English.


I have been an actively gigging and performing singer/songwriter for 7 years now. I've written over 50 original pieces and received recognition for my work, including free recording time to engineers wanting to expand their studio with good material to advertise. Songwriting is my strongest asset as a musician.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Cara

back to top


Marist College (Communication)

Cara is very understanding of the students' learning needs Cara took the time to understand our son's learning needs and then structured goals which could be met. She is very perceptive and sensitive to the student who learns differently. Not only does she work closely with the student, she kept us in the loop at all times. Her structured style worked very well for our son. She even was helpful in advocating for an altered homework work load. We can' ...

— Mary from West Newbury, MA on 5/29/12);

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Please inquire about multiple subject tutoring and group tutoring rates and policies.

Travel policy

Cara will travel within 20 miles of Merrimac, MA 01860.

Email Cara

Usually responds in about 12 hours

Send Cara a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Cara or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.