Over 50 tutoring hours

Christof K.

West Bend, WI

$40/hr

German and more by an experienced German professional

In-person lessons
Replies in 4 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
 
 
49 Ratings
 
 
4hrs Response Time
Great Tutor - Highly Recommended!
— Adam, Brookfield, WI on 10/9/14

Message Christof

Send Christof a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Christof or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Technische Universitaet Darmstadt
Other

Education

Technische Universitaet Darmstadt (Other)

About Christof

My name is Christof. I am 49 years old and a German citizen. I immigrated into the United States in January, 2012. I am a creative director and professional writer. German is my native language. I am also fluent in English.

I am an experienced tutor for all levels: beginner, intermediate, advanced/professional.

I studied German language, political science, and modern history for three years. I have traveled a lot and am highly interested in the multicultural aspects of our global world. Since I am a native speaker and a professional language user, the German I teach is always state of the art - whether it is conversational, formal, or creative. For me, language is a dynamic process, and communication is a showcase of skills, character, and personality.
Since my college days, I have tutored people in different fields of German, history, geography, and reading. My wife teaches ELL, so we constantly exchange experience, methods, etc.
My name is Christof. I am 49 years old and a German citizen. I immigrated into the United States in January, 2012. I am a creative director and professional writer. German is my native language. I am also fluent in Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of West Bend, WI 53095
In-person lessons

"Great Tutor - Highly Recommended!"

- Adam, Brookfield, WI on 10/9/14

"Wunderbar!"

- Rachel, Waupun, WI on 11/11/14

"Excellent Tutor.Get along great "

- Duane, Hartford, WI on 2/20/14
Math:
Prealgebra
English:
Reading,
Writing
Language:
German
Music:
Music History
Elementary Education:
Reading
Homeschool:
Prealgebra,
Reading,
Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Soccer
Corporate Training:
German

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

American History

American history was a part of my history and political science studies at college. It was part of my high school education in history class and in my English classes. I tutored American history as a single subject, and as a part of English and history tutoring classes for adults and high school students. Since I immigrated into the USA in 2012, I have "refreshed" my knowledge of American history. My wife, licensed to teach social studies, is a great source of input and shares my interest in history in general, and American history in particular.

European History

I studied modern history and political science for 3 years at college (as minors). I have traveled extensively, and on my travels I have visited many historically relevant places in Europe such as Rome, Athens, London, Glasgow, and Paris, etc. I continue to travel and learn from my "live history experiences," since history is a meaningful hobby of mine. I have tutored European history occasionally, partly to high school students, and partly to adults in preparation for travel.

Geography

I studied modern history and political science (subjects highly related to geography)at college for 3 years.

I took all possible voluntary geography courses at high school since the subject caught my interest. It still is a great interest of mine and has inspired me to travel extensively:
USA, Spain-4X, Portugal-3X, France-12X, Switzerland-4X, Holland- 8X, Italy-3X, Argentina-3X, Belgium, England, Scotland, Poland, Croatia, Greece, Czech Republic, Tunisia, Singapore, Bali, Brazil, Chili, Canada.

This "mix" of contemporary experience and historical studies gives me a solid background concerning changes in the geographical face of the world (especially important for eastern Europe, former Yugoslavia etc), as well as an understanding of the impact of those changes to the political landscape.

So far, geography has not been an isolated tutoring topic for me, but an important part of tutoring when teaching about language, history, and politics, etc.

German

I am a native German speaker. I am also fluent in English. I studied (majored in) German language science at college for three years. As a Creative Director/professional writer, I know all facets of German, and how to communicate them to my students.

I have been hired for teaching private "creative writing" seminars. I have also coached people in preparation for job interviews.

Music History

Music history was integrated into many of my history courses at college. I also studied music history in high school. Interest in music is a family tradition. My great-grandfather was the first violinist of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, and a great aunt of mine was an opera singer. Due to this interest, I took music history classes in middle school, high school, and college. I have also written reports about music events for a regional cultural magazine, and tutored students in music history during college.

Prealgebra

To learn and excel in algebra, one needs to understand mathematical concepts.
I am a conceptual thinker with strong deductive and analytical skills. I have the ability to explain abstract topics to others in a manner that is simple to understand. I believe that part of this is due to my advertising/creative director experience where clearly communicating complex and difficult topics to a wide range of personalities is of utmost importance.
Algebraic math was a subject I studied in school and did well on when taking my final high school examination. I believe that with persistence and hard work, anyone can learn math.

Reading

Reading and comprehending literature pertaining to all types of subjects and difficulty levels was crucial for my college career and continues to be important for my professional career. Over time, I have learned different reading/comprehension techniques, as well as developing some of my own. I have instructed co-workers and apprentices in advertising agencies in the field of reading/comprehension skills, and I have tutored reading at both middle and high school level in Germany.

Soccer

I coached a youth soccer team for my regional soccer club in Germany. Furthermore, I was involved in intramural soccer coaching at college.

My experience as a youth coordinator and basketball coach for my regional sports club are additional coaching experiences.

Writing

Throughout my entire professional career, writing, and the ability to teach writing, have been essential skills for me.
I write for a variety of occasions and in many different styles, such as advertising campaigns, newspaper/magazine
articles, theater dialogues, radio spots, and conceptional papers, etc.
As a creative director, I have helped trainees, junior writers, and students gain, exercise, and refine their writing skills, as well as
develop their own styles. I am familiar with both theoretical and practical requirements for writing.

Technische Universitaet Darmstadt
Other

Education

Technische Universitaet Darmstadt (Other)

Great Tutor - Highly Recommended! — I am a working professional who recently had a job opportunity in Germany. When I received my assignment, I spoke absolutely zero German. I contacted Christof and he made me feel very comfortable. We identified a list of goals and established a plan to ensure we hit all of the milestones we had identified. Christof comes prepared with a lesson plan and teaching material. This is very helpful; ...

— Adam, Brookfield, WI on 10/9/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Christof will travel within 5 miles of West Bend, WI 53095.

Background Check Status for Christof K.

Christof K. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Christof, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.