Stephanie B.

Houston, TX


Math, Science and Language Tutor

200+ Hours
4.8 average from 99 ratings
The "Perfect" Tutor
— Lee, Columbia, CT on 6/18/12


Send a message explaining your needs and Stephanie will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Stephanie

University of Connecticut


University of Connecticut (Chemistry)

About Stephanie

I am a graduate of the University of Connecticut with a bachelor's in chemistry. I have substituted in all grades, and I was also a long term substitute for grades 6 - 8 in science and math.

I am a certified teacher in the state of Texas in Science 8 - 12. I currently teach IPC at Alvin High School

I've completed all related chemistry courses, including general chemistry and organic chemistry. I've also done well in the related laboratory courses.

I'm proficient in writing lab reports and give the basic structure on what needs to be covered in a typical lab report. I've also taken AP chemsitry in highschool.

I am fluent in Italian, in both written and oral. I've done two years of Italian in college, and I'm also a first generation Italian American, speaking Italian at home and with family.

I've taken many math courses throughout my college years and also in high school, including calculus I/II, multivariable calculus, elementary differential equations, and linear algebra. I've taken AP calculus in highschool, and received a 3 on the AP Exam.

For some students, science and math can be daunting due to the amount of math concepts needed for that subject. I can take those concepts and break them down into simple and easy to follow ways for the student to grasp, without struggling. I will work with the student to hone in on their skills and what needs to be worked on to bring the two together to help build on their foundation for the class.

My tutoring methods vary from student to student depending on the subject and their needs. I'm flexible in adjusting and going at the student's pace. I'm capable of coming up with lesson plans, sample questions and examples that are easy to follow, understand, and applicable to the subject at hand.

I am kind, patient and willing to work hard with the student to help them get through their class and understanding of the material. I'm prepared, organized, neat, and have a great attitude for teaching those of any age.

I'm flexible in hours and days of the week, and I look forward in getting to know you, and helping your education in any way I can.
I am a graduate of the University of Connecticut with a bachelor's in chemistry. I have substituted in all grades, and I was also a long term substitute for grades 6 - 8 in science and math.

I am a certified teacher in the state of Texas in Science 8 - 12. I currently teach IPC at Alvin High School

I've completed all related
Read more

24 hours notice required

Group Tutoring - $25.00/student If child is not in school yet - $15.00/hour Will change rate specifically for your need.

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Houston, TX 77090
Background Check: Passed

"The "Perfect" Tutor"

- Lee, Columbia, CT on 6/18/12

"Really knowledgeable and friendly teacher"

- Francesca, Hollywood, FL on 1/5/17
Stephanie replied on 1/5/2017

Thank you so much!

"Great Tutor"

- Lisa, Niantic, CT on 8/21/12

"Very kind"

- Elizabeth, New London, CT on 3/20/12

"Great tutor who is very patient and extremely knowledgeable."

- Jennifer, Groton, CT on 3/7/12

"Great communication"

- Patti, Bolton, CT on 2/23/12
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Geometry, Microsoft Excel, Prealgebra, Precalculus,
SAT Math, Trigonometry
Elementary Science,
Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics, Praxis
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
General Computer,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Whether it be rudimentary or advanced college algebra, my algebra tutoring teaches the basics for any advanced math course needed in the future. If the concept doesn't make sense, I can break them down into simpler blocks that are understandable.

Algebra 2

A step up from Algebra I, this is a continuation of Algebra I, delving into quadratic equations, linearity, roots, and radicals. These concepts are a little tougher, but I can take them to a basic level and make them easier to understand.


From high school to college, Biology covers a wide range of subjects, including cell division, photosynthesis, the animal kingdom, genetics, anatomy, and ecology.

Have taken high school biology I and II, and also college introduction to Biology I. I've taken and tutored also in biochemistry, relating to the topics mentioned above.

This is a subject that requires lots of worksheets and practice, along with some presentations and visuals. With some guidance, mastering biology will be easy.


I have successfully taken AP Calculus, Calculus I, Calculus II, Multivariable Calculus, Elementary Differential Equations, and Linear Algebra.

I am proficient in tutoring in any aspect of each of the listed courses, including derivatives, integrals, word problems, trig substitution and integrals, partial fractions, matrices, eigenvalues.


I hold a BS in Chemistry from the University of Connecticut. Courses include General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Analytical, Instrumental, Inorganic, and Physical Chemistry. In addition to these courses, the subsequent lab courses were taken.

Elementary (K-6th)

Worked previously in an after school daycare for kids between K-8. Part of the program required the students to work on their homework, and I've helped kids with their math, reading and writing skills during that time.

Elementary Math

Can successfully teach addition, subtraction, multiplication, division, fractions, long division, basic geometry and any elementary math skills your child may need. Worked with kids from ages 5-10 in all areas.

Elementary Science

Can successfully go over elementary science concepts from kindergarten through fifth grade. Worked with kids ages 5-10.


English, whether it be from the language or you're stuck in interpreting a Shakespeare play, this subject covers a wide range of topics.

Shakespeare, proofreading, editing, essay building, writing, short stories, novels, and much more.

This is more of a lecture type tutoring, with notes about what the author is talking about, interpretation, and writing essays on specific topics.

I have taken AP English, and Creative Writing classes at the college level.

General Computer

General Computer skills involve the following topics:

Installing programs from a hard disk, installing and running programs from a CD, using a mouse, formatting a disk, copying and deleting files, creating and renaming folders, deleting a folder, save documents, printing whole documents, and specific pages.

I've taught basic computer skills to adults and students as well. This is a hands on approach, but there are some techniques that can be taught online.


I am a first generation Italian-American, Fluent in both written and oral. Italian is spoken at home and with family, and I have successfully completed two years of Italian in college.

Microsoft Word

Proficient in Microsoft Word from 95 through 2013.

Basic and Advanced Microsoft Word skills include:

Creating and opening new and saved documents

Changing margins

Saving documents on the hard drive, flash drive, or CD

Editing, copying, pasting, undoing

Formatting text, including font, size, color, and style

Checking spelling and grammar

Replacing and finding text

Changing text alignment

Using tabs and columns

Inserting pictures, files, spreadsheets,

Creating tables

Inserting footers and headers

Inserting cover pages

I've been using Microsoft Word for 10 plus years, and know my way around the interface, menus, commands, and shortcuts, to create professional looking documents.

Organic Chemistry

I successfully passed Organic I and II with lab, as part of my BS in Chemistry.


I've tutored a Kindergartener, who has having trouble with reading and phonics. To review the basic phonics, we went through each of the sounds of consonants and a little bit of vowels.

In addition, we did blended sounds such as fr-, bl-, etc, to encourage recognition of them in small reading passages, therefore increasing their confidence in recognizing words, and the sounds they made.

This led to the student's succession in learning to read and pronunciation

I've also have done this in a Kindergarten classroom as a substitute.


I have successfully passed the PRAXIS I exam in writing, reading and math portions.

The reading portion focuses on reading comprehension and analysis of certain passages asking for the purpose of the author's intention in the passage, and also inference of what is said in the passage. The math portion deals with simple algebra and number operations, percents, graphs and word problems. The writing portion deals with grammatical issues, punctuation, correct grammar rules, and one essay.

This is an exam that is built like the SAT's except much broader.

Writing = 181
Math = 182
Reading = 175


Teach IPC, have taken over 6 years of math in college, precalculus being one.


Basic Trigonometry, how to find sine, cosine, tangent. Graphing of trigonometry functions, relationships between functions, derivatives, inverse trig functions, integrals of trig functions.

University of Connecticut


University of Connecticut (Chemistry)

The "Perfect" Tutor

It’s been a pleasure working with Stephanie over the past three months. There is honestly nothing that I can critique her on. Every session we spent was professional and productive, and I felt very comfortable working with her. I always felt that I had her 100% attention and dedication even though she had many other tutoring students. Stephanie always answered my emails no matter how late I sent t

— Lee, Columbia, CT on 6/18/12

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Group Tutoring - $25.00/student If child is not in school yet - $15.00/hour Will change rate specifically for your need.

Travel policy

Stephanie will travel within 40 miles of Houston, TX 77090.