Over 20 tutoring hours

Sabaa I.

Carrollton, TX

$40/hour

Civil Engineer Tutor - Experienced in Math/Science/Spanish

4.7 average from 11 ratings
Very patient
— Nazee, Carrollton, TX on 12/12/11

Message Sabaa

Send Sabaa a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Sabaa or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 3 hours
Replies in 3 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Texas, Arlington

Education

University of Texas, Arlington

About Sabaa

My name is Sabaa, and my background is a degree in Civil Engineering, along with a minor in Mathematics and Architecture. I have also taken 7 years of Spanish courses, of which 1 year was a class full of native speakers. I have attended school in Texas, so I am well aware of what expectations the schools around here have. I have also worked with kids in summer camps as well as in a classroom setting in diverse subjects. In addition, I've tutored young adults and adults, as well. I enjoy tutoring, and I would love to help you (or your child) in any way I can. I am not afraid to admit that I may not always have an answer, but I promise I will come up with one even if I do not have one right off the bat. My specialty is Math, Science and Spanish areas, but I can also help with reading, writing, and more creative areas. I look forward to working with you! My name is Sabaa, and my background is a degree in Civil Engineering, along with a minor in Mathematics and Architecture. I have also Read more

Policies
Cancellation
8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Carrollton, TX 75007

"Very patient"

- Nazee, Carrollton, TX on 12/12/11

"Very calm and helpful"

- Hira, Frisco, TX on 1/2/16
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations,
Elementary Math, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra, SAT Math, Trigonometry
Science:
Chemistry, Civil Engineering
Art:
Drawing, Painting
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Computer:
AutoCAD,
Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Business:
Microsoft Excel,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

AutoCAD

Basic Skills include drawing lines, polylines, circles, ellipses and some commonly used commands such as offset, fillet, and polygons. I am also knowledgeable about point databases, profiles, and alignments in AutoCAD Civil 3D. I have used several versions of AutoCAD and have been using it for almost 7 years now. I am also knowledgeable is some add-ons to AutoCAD such as StormCAD.

Civil Engineering

I have a Bachelor of Science degree in Civil Engineering from the University of Texas at Arlington, and currently work as a licensed Engineer in Training. Additionally, I am certified as a Floodplain Manager. I have worked in various fields of civil engineering, and also have leadership experience in professional organizations, such as TSPE and ASCE.

Differential Equations

I have been exposed to a plethora of applications of differential equations. Exposure from my academic background, which includes my degree in Engineering and minor in Math, has really helped me understand techniques for solving various types of differential equations effectively. Types of differential equation I can solve include, but are not limited to homogoneous, non-homogenous, first order and higher order differential equations.

Elementary (K-6th)

My background includes over 5 years of working with elementary aged kids of all grades and various backgrounds. I really enjoy working with them, and am particularly skilled in helping them with Math and Science, but can also aid in other subjects such as Writing, Reading, Spanish and Social Studies. On a voluntary basis, I have also taught a class for elementary aged kids for about 2 years and participated in various other programs, due to my strong interest and passion in teaching.

Microsoft Excel

I have used Excel extensively in many applications, from basic data entry to writing macros. I have been using it for more than 10 years and continue to use it. It's a great program for increasing efficiency and organization.

University of Texas, Arlington

Education

University of Texas, Arlington

Very patient — My son was happy with this lesson. She was prepared and covered what he asked of her. If my son needs more help we will definitely contact Sabaa. Thanks. ...

— Nazee, Carrollton, TX on 12/12/11

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sabaa will travel within 40 miles of Carrollton, TX 75007.