Over 100 tutoring hours

Rhonda W.

Duncansville, PA


K-6 PA Certified Teacher/Adult /Learning Support/ESL

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 7/11/15
4.5 average from 37 ratings
Accommodating and Effective Tutor
— Tracy, Gallitzin, PA on 1/25/13

Message Rhonda

Send Rhonda a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Rhonda or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Penn State University, University Park
El. Ed.


Penn State University, University Park (El. Ed.)

About Rhonda

Are you looking for somebody who is organized, dependable, and who can be flexible to tutor your child? I have a B.S. in Elementary Education from Penn State University, graduating as the Valedictorian of my class with a 3.94 GPA. I have 15 years of experience combined with tutoring, substitute teaching and I have also held a permanent substitute position for a 3rd grade class. I have taught students from Sweden, China, Poland, and most recently, Spain. Very rewarding! I have also been called many times to work with a special needs class, and also had five special needs students in my homeroom and science/social studies classes.

My teaching style is laid back. I deal well with students who need someone who is calm. I am very good at explaining details, and very good at making the lessons relaxed and nonthreatening. My goal is to make my students feel at ease and to enjoy the learning process. I am so excited to see the fruits of my labor when a student finally "gets it." It is a very rewarding job.

If you are interested in working with me, please contact me and I will return your correspondence in a timely manner to set up our lesson times.

Are you looking for somebody who is organized, dependable, and who can be flexible to tutor your child? I have a B.S. in Elementary Education from Penn State University, graduating as the Valedictorian of my class with a 3.94 GPA. I have 15 years of experience Read more

5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Duncansville, PA 16635
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Accommodating and Effective Tutor"

- Tracy, Gallitzin, PA on 1/25/13
Algebra 1, Elementary Math
Bible Studies, English,
Grammar, Literature, Reading,
SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Reading
Social Studies
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science,
Grammar, Phonics,
Spelling, Study Skills,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a degree in Elementary Education from Penn State University. I was the valedictorian of the College of Education, 1992. I pre-student-taught 1st grade and student-taught 2nd grade. Since college, I have taught every grade as either a substitute, a permanent sub, or as a tutor. I have also taught at the Secondary level as a sub.

The year that I was a permanent sub, I had total responsibility for the classroom, including all the lesson planning, grading, parent-teacher conferences, and teaching. There were also five special needs students in the classroom, for which I was responsible for half the day. I have also subbed in learning support classes in the elementary level, and was called regularly because they told me I had a "calming influence" on the children. All of my experiences have enabled me to gain a more rounded understanding of the elementary curriculum and have helped me better understand the different grade levels.

Elementary Math

I have eight years' experience teaching Elementary Math, as a substitute teacher and as a tutor. I have taught all grade levels (K-6), and enjoy helping students understand the concepts of Mathematics so they can move on to the next level of expertise.

Elementary Science

I have taught Elementary Science as a Permanent Sub and as a Daily Sub. I have also taught Science as a Homebound Tutor for students who were ill or had been in an accident. In all, I have 10 plus years experience.


I have taught English to elementary, junior high, senior high, and adult students. One student who was in senior high needed a passing grade in order to graduate. He was able to pass and graduate on time with hard work and my help. I also worked with an adult student from Spain who needed to learn how to speak English. She progressed very well.


I have worked with ESL students in the elementary Grades and I also had an adult ESL student. I had a kindergarten student from Sweden, who spoke no English when he moved to our area, and by the end of the school year, he could converse in full sentences! In 2011, I worked with a woman who had moved to our area from Spain. It was a lot of fun and very rewarding!


I have had experience with teaching phonics at the K-4 grade levels. I did my pre-student-teaching in 1st grade, my student-teaching at 2nd grade, and had a permanent sub position at the 3rd grade level, working with the students in all of these classes with a phonics program. I have also tutored many elementary students over the years and part of our reading lessons involved working with phonics. I have used several different methods to teach phonics- charts, workbooks, sight/sound recognition, large group instruction, and one-on-one.

I have also worked with English-Second-Language students over the years. The students have been from Sweden, Poland, and China. One elementary student, in particular, could not read or speak any English at all, and when I was finished tutoring him, we could carry on a conversation! It was very rewarding! I have had different experiences with phonics, as far as how I have taught it and the type of students I have worked with over the years, which has enabled me to gain valuable experience in this area. I would love to work with you, or your child, and am also willing to work with older students or adults who need to learn how to read better.


I have experience teaching all elementary grade levels in Reading and I have also tutored adult Reading. The positions I have held range from permanent substitute teacher, per diem substitute teacher, home-bound tutor, and remedial tutor. I love Reading and have excellent questioning skills which aid the student in the area of comprehension.

Special Needs

I have worked with various groups of special needs students over the years. As a permanent sub of a third grade class, I had 5 learning support students half the day. I have also subbed for two school districts in their Learning Support Classes. I have also worked with students who are English-Second-Language, having great success in helping them learn the English language.

Study Skills

I have a degree in Elementary Education and have worked with grades K-6 as well as some secondary students in the area of study skills. One of my most rewarding experiences was working with a young man who needed to improve his grades in order to graduate high school. After a lot of hard work in various subjects, including study skills, he improved his grades enough to graduate! I have also given standardized tests to Elementary Students and taught various study skills in order to do well on these tests. In most subjects, it seems that study skills have been interwoven, either directly, or indirectly into the curriculum. My teaching method is to introduce an appropriate study skill when the moment allows, thus, making it more relevant to the student. I feel that part of this topic is also discovering what type of learner you or your child is- visual, auditory, or kinesthetic. This helps determine what kind of activity will most help your child retain the information. I love to see students learn how to learn and would love to work with you or your child in this important area!


I have tutored all ages in writing competency and have taught writing in Elementary School. My personal writing competency is very high, as I received excellent grades in my college writing courses and was always at the top of my class in this subject. I know I can help anyone, regardless of their age, improve their writing skills by increasing the clarity and overall readability of their writing.

Penn State University, University Park
El. Ed.


Penn State University, University Park (El. Ed.)

Accommodating and Effective Tutor — We have had a very positive experience using Rhonda for our 8 yr old son. We have seen steady improvement in his math and reading grades and he enjoys going to work with her. I would definitely recommend Rhonda if you are looking for an elementary school tutor to help your son or daughter. ...

— Tracy, Gallitzin, PA on 1/25/13

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $25.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rhonda will travel within 20 miles of Duncansville, PA 16635.