Over 100 tutoring hours


Miami, OK


Retired Cert.Teacher Elem thru High School SpEd & Gen. Studies

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 4/21/14
5.0 average from 66 ratings
Remarkable Progress
— Barbara, Afton, OK on 7/29/16

Message DIANA

Send DIANA a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed DIANA or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Liberty University


Liberty University (Psychology)


I am a Retired Cert.Teacher who specializes in Special Education, Basic French & Spanish, Pre-Algebra, Reading, Language Arts, Test Preparation and Study Skills. In addition, I have B.S. in Psychology, A.A. in Sociology, and an A.S. in Dietetics. I have taught both General Ed and Special Needs (inclusive and resource) students, Elementary to High School level, as well as gifted students in a public school system.

The techniques I use in tutoring are very basic. First determine how the student learns: Is it through kinesthetic, auditory or visual instruction? Does the student use flash cards for general memorization or does he/she need verbal repetition (auditory) for results? Your child's learning style must be determined first for maximum results, and this is what I do that sets me apart from other teaching styles.
I am a Retired Cert.Teacher who specializes in Special Education, Basic French & Spanish, Pre-Algebra, Reading, Read more

Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Miami, OK 74354
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Remarkable Progress"

- Barbara, Afton, OK on 7/29/16

"EXCELLENT tutor!!"

- Nina, Atlanta, GA on 5/9/13

"Very Patient!!"

- Kim, Loganville, GA on 8/24/11
Test Preparation:
French, Spanish,
Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Study Skills

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have received my Special Ed certification in both Florida and Georgia and have taught in public middle and high schools in both states. I taught students with Aspergers. Autism, SLD, ADD/ADHD, OHI, and EBD, and more. I received my certification in 7/2005 and 2007, respectively.


I have received my Teacher Certification in Special Ed in both Florida and Georgia, in 2005 & 2007, respectively. I have taught students with Asperger's Syndrome, Autism, SLD, ADD/ADHD, and EBD and more, in both Middle and High Schools.


I have received my Teacher's Certification for Special Ed in both Florida and Georgia in 2005 and 2007, respectively. I have taught students with Asperger's Syndrome, Autism, SLD, ADD/ADHD, OHI, EBD and more. I have taught SpEd students in both Middle and High School settings.

Elementary (K-6th)

My teaching certification is in Special Education K-12 however, I can General Ed as well in all subject areas, including study skills and test prep.


I have taught Language Arts (English) both as a Co-lab Inclusion teacher as well as a Special Ed teacher teaching Language Arts and covering curriculum-based English from general grammar, parts of speech, writing techniques, poetry, etc. In addition I have facilitated special projects and reports, teaching in the round (similar to Common Core instruction).


I have taken ESOL courses to broaden my teaching experience and have since worked with ESOL students in the classroom. I have also tutored Elementary French and Spanish, and have traveled extensively, which gives me global perspective when working with students where English is a second language.


I have taught and tutored students with dyslexia as well as students using the FUNNIX system at the elementary level in Georgia. I have also taken Reading Endorsement classes in Florida for PLU teacher points that covered basic phonics skills.


My post-certification in both Florida & Georgia is in Special Ed Consultative, which means I've worked predominantly with SpEd students who are mainstreamed into the classroom. These are children who generally have ADD, ADHD, Asperger's Syndrome, etc. --not students who have severe or profound disabilities. I have also assisted and taught Reading and phonics in elementary through high school levels and have tutored with Wyzant for over 7 years. I am currently retired from teaching in public schools.


As an Honor Student in Spanish on the West Coast, I started my teaching career straight out of high school as a Bi-lingual Parapro. Years later, I became certified as a Special Ed teacher but have tutored primary-level Spanish for several years. If you need help with basic Spanish, simple verb conjugation, general conversation and vocabulary, I can help you!

Special Needs

I am a GA Certified Special Education teacher and can teach general studies as well to all students (including gifted students)such: as Social Studies, Pre-Algebra, US History and Study Skills. I am currently teaching in a Title 1 school, so I work during the school day, but am available to tutor in the evenings and occasionally on weekends for a short term project.

Study Skills

I can tutor children of all ages to help them with standardized tests such as the CRCT's. Gateway's, etc. I can also tutor older children and adults as well, so if you are preparing for a college entrance exam, need to write an essay, a resume, or pass an ASVAB test, let me know, and I can help! Successful testing and writing skills requires specific strategies to be effective and pass, whether you are a child or an adult.


I have taken ESOL courses and have experience in tutoring foreign language. I have also lived overseas learning languages in class and by the "full immersion" method. I am very familiar with the dynamics of the TOEFL tests and can help facilitate the student to pass.

Liberty University


Liberty University (Psychology)

Remarkable Progress — She has been the best in helping my grandson in his reading. She has made remarkable progress in this and my grandson looks forward to seeing her the 2 times a week that he does. She is very patient with him and works well with. She is the best. ...

— Barbara, Afton, OK on 7/29/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Travel policy

DIANA will travel within 5 miles of Miami, OK 74354.