Rachel K.

Carrboro, NC


Friendly and patient tutor for students of all ages

400+ Hours
Background check passed as of 12/15/15
5.0 average from 103 ratings
Very Supportive and Structured
— Wendy, Chapel Hill, NC on 4/30/14


Send a message explaining your needs and Rachel will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Rachel

Wesleyan University


Wesleyan University (Music)

About Rachel

Hi! My name is Rachel and I tutor in multiple subjects, particularly ones related to English, Math, and Music. I graduated from Wesleyan University in 2007 and since then have been tutoring privately and as an independent contractor through a number of agencies. I love working with students of all ages and skill levels, and believe strongly that a sense of humor is important to any good tutoring relationship. That's why sessions with me are (hopefully) FUN as well as educational.

When I was in high school, I struggled with Geometry and Chemistry and had a wonderful tutor who helped me get through those classes with good grades and a real enjoyment of each subject. My goal as a tutor is to be as helpful to my students as my tutor was for me, and my experience on the "other side" of tutoring has taught me to be patient and understanding with every student, even if it takes him or her a little longer to work out a problem. If you choose to work with me, I promise to be reliable, friendly, and creative in my tutoring. I look forward to hearing from you!
Hi! My name is Rachel and I tutor in multiple subjects, particularly ones related to English, Math, and Music. I graduated from Wesleyan University in 2007 and since then have been tutoring privately and as an independent contractor through a number of agencies. I love working with students of all ages and skill levels, and believe strongly that a Read more

12 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Carrboro, NC 27510
Background Check: Passed

"Very Supportive and Structured"

- Wendy, Chapel Hill, NC on 4/30/14


- Stephanie, Pittsboro, NC on 5/23/13

"Responsive & Energetic"

- Terri, Carrboro, NC on 1/12/12

"Very patient"

- De, Chapel Hill, NC on 10/11/11
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Prealgebra
Elementary Science
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Reading, Writing
Music History,
Special Needs:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Study Skills
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary, Writing
Career Development,
Public Speaking,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


In the last few years, I have worked with many students with ADD and ADHD. Every student is different, and one thing that I have learned in my teaching is that a strategy that doesn't work for one child or adult might be a good solution for another. I try to be creative, compassionate, and fun in my approaches to helping students focus. Some solutions have included: incentive systems; short breaks within sessions; physical activity like jumping jacks or dancing; games and songs; organizational checklists; etc. I am open to trying new things and collaborating with parents and teachers to find strategies that work.

Career Development

I have experience working in administrative positions, retail positions, and freelance jobs of all kinds. I have also been in charge of recruiting and hiring for various groups and know what it is like to be both an interviewer and interviewee. In addition, I have helped a number of people through the rigorous college and graduate admissions process. I enjoy helping others advance their careers, mostly through goal-setting, action plans, organization skill work, and general life coaching. I have a student currently who has asked for this service and I feel qualified and ready to provide it.

Ear Training

For my undergraduate degree, I majored in music. Part of the theory component of my degree was ear training. In addition, I have over ten years of experience singing in both classical choirs and pop a cappella groups, and my musical ear has developed during that time. When working with students on ear training, I like to use memorable songs to help them recognize intervals (for example, "Happy Birthday," "Jingle Bells," movie and TV themes), and also use harmony singing and keyboard playing to help illustrate the qualities of different chords.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have tutored elementary students from all grades (K-6) both online and in person. My method is to locate the student's strengths and weaknesses, and to work patiently and continuously in areas in which the student is struggling. I specialize in teaching addition, subtraction, multiplication, long division, fractions, decimals, percents, equations, graphs, etc. In English, I work with the student on all aspects of language: Reading, Spelling, Writing, Comprehension, etc. I'd be happy to answer any additional questions you might have about my experience or methods!


I have been playing the flute for over twenty years and have been teaching for the last five or six years. My undergraduate degree from Wesleyan University is in Music, with equal focus on theory, history, and performance. My style as a teacher balances a relaxed, friendly attitude towards lessons with a strong commitment to quality and to pushing each student to achieve his or her goals on the flute. Although originally classically trained, I attended Stanford Jazz Workshop for additional jazz training and am happy to any kind of music that students want to learn---Irish flute, rock, pop, etc. I like to have fun in lessons and try to come up with suggestions for fun ways to practice!

General Music

My undergraduate degree is in Music; I am both an academic scholar of music and a performer of music in all styles. I sing, write songs, and play both banjo and flute. I feel comfortable teaching any and all aspects of this broad subject and welcome the opportunity to share my knowledge with students of all ages and levels.

Music History

Music history/musicology is my passion. I graduated from Wesleyan University in 2007 with a degree in music, focusing jointly on history, theory, and performance. Although my great love is rock & roll/pop history, I also traveled to England to study Western classical history at Royal Holloway University for 6 months, with a focus on Wagner, Elgar, and Shostakovich. Other areas of interest include jazz and country--I currently play banjo and am extremely interested in the origin of folk ballads, such as those listed in the Roud Folk Song Index.

Public Speaking

I come at public speaking from in artistic background with over 20 years of experience in acting as well as music and dance performance. I help students with stage fright associated with public speaking, vocal projection, and pre-planning (including help with organizing thoughts and ideas prior to a public speaking event). I also help with the writing end of public speaking, which includes teaching students to write speeches that are persuasive, direct, personal (when appropriate), and effective.


Songwriting is my passion--I love writing songs and helping others learn to write them. I have written and self-released two albums of original songs and played locally with a number of different bands and groups. In songwriting lessons, students can learn to understand and use their strengths and work on their weaknesses. We discuss lyrics, chord patterns, and instrumentation. One thing that I have found helpful is to identify the student's favorite songwriters and then discuss what makes his or her songs so unique. Students from all genres, ages, and skill levels are welcome.

Study Skills

I currently tutor several students through other local tutoring agencies who have been diagnosed with ADD and ADHD-type disorders and struggle in all of their coursework with organizational and time management issues. With these students, I work heavily on study skills. Some concepts I teach include: planning thoroughly for the week; making small and manageable goals; working out incentive programs to help motivation; and cutting out distractions so that studying can be successful. I hope to help others with these skills through Wyzant as well.

Wesleyan University


Wesleyan University (Music)

Very Supportive and Structured

Rachel has a kind and gentle style which works well with my daughter. She gently proposes ideas and then lets my daughter try it to see if it works for her. This is a good fit for us.

— Wendy, Chapel Hill, NC on 4/30/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $60.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 20 miles of Carrboro, NC 27510.