Over 50 tutoring hours

Kerri I.

Delray Beach, FL


Patient Tutor; Extensive Experience with Children

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 1/14/13
5.0 average from 17 ratings
Amazing Teacher
— Christina, Boca Raton, FL on 3/28/14


Send a message explaining your needs and Kerri will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Kerri

Florida Atlantic University
Florida Atlantic University (BA)


Florida Atlantic University

Florida Atlantic University (BA) (MEd)

About Kerri

Hi! I am an experienced tutor, with a focus in working with kids who have difficulties with reading, writing and language arts. I am also certified as a tutor through the Palm Beach County School Board. My approach with your child will be to help him/her learn by understanding and developing skills that will focus on his or her individual strengths. My background is in clinical mental health and I am currently completing an internship at the Delray Center for Healing, as a therapist for children as young as 11. I graduated from Florida Atlantic University Cum Laude in 2003 with a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology. I am finishing my Masters in Education, and have maintained a 4.0 GPA throughout graduate school. I have been a tutor in the Boca Raton/Delray Beach area for several years, and currently work with students between the ages of 5 and 24, from both public and private schools.

I grew up in Boca Raton, Florida and my husband and I recently celebrated our two year wedding anniversary. My husband is a personal chef for families in the area and I have spent the last 10 years learning how to cook. I have used the skills that I have acquired to create healthy meals in our home and teach others to do the same. Additionally, I am a very active individual and enjoy sports very much. I love the beach and spend a great deal of time in the ocean. It is important to me to stay healthy and to teach the children that I influence to eat well and stay active. There is a tremendously important relationship between the health of the body and functioning of the mind, and I help the children I work with begin making this connection in their own lives.

I have worked with kids for as long as I can remember and have the ability to relate well to them and explore ways to make learning fun. I structure tutoring sessions in a way that will build self-esteem and highlight your child's strengths. I believe that kids learn best when they are excited about the process and decide that THEY can create their own success. My goal is to teach kids the skills to be able to ultimately work independently with confidence.
Hi! I am an experienced tutor, with a focus in working with kids who have difficulties with reading, writing and language arts. I am also certified as a tutor through the Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Delray Beach, FL 33484
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Amazing Teacher"

- Christina, Boca Raton, FL on 3/28/14

"Very positive initial results"

- Chaz, Lake Worth, FL on 2/27/13
English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Swimming, Track & Field

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have spent the last 8 years learning how to cook, and teaching others what I have learned. My husband is a certified chef with a degree in culinary arts. Over the years, I have taken an interest in cooking, and he has given me one-on-one lessons. I enjoy it so much, that I have taught others as well. One client of mine spent her entire childhood eating fast food and take out. She suffered from gastrointestinal issues and wanted to reverse the damage that was done. When she became pregnant with her own daughter, she desperately wanted to learn how to create home-cooked meals. We got together once a week during her pregnancy, and since her daughter was born. It has been 2 years since we first began working together, and she is now able to provide her family with nutritious homemade foods.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am an experienced tutor for K-6, as I have worked with many students in this age bracket. I typically tutor children in all subjects through 5th grade, and in English, Reading, Spelling and Grammar through high school. One of my current students is receiving tutoring for 4th grade Reading Comprehension, in order to prepare her for FCATs. We have been working together for quite some time and she is making tremendous progress. Our goals are to help her gain a better understanding of character development, setting, problem/resolution, and themes in reading.

Elementary Math

I am an experienced math tutor and currently working with several students on single and double digit addition and subtraction, as well as multiplication, division, and many other elementary math skills. I employ techniques with the children to make learning fun, such as counting pennies or marbles. I find that the visual aids help the children to grasp the concepts very early on.


I have taught phonics to several kindergarten and first grade students. I have helped these students to improve their reading skills and increase their grades. Once a child has established phonemic awareness, decoding words becomes fun and easy. In addition, we work on sight words and introduce the idea that not all words can be sounded out.


My experience playing the piano began as a young child. Initially, my dad and grandma taught me how to play, but when I was 9 years old, I began formal lessons. I competed in the National Piano Guild for 12 years and continued taking lessons well into adulthood. Playing piano has always been a passion of mine. I have taught many children how to play, and have instilled in them a passion and love for the piano.


I am an experienced reading tutor and have access to the Palm Beach County School Board benchmarks for elementary and middle school reading standards. These resources help to ensure that I am reviewing and reiterating with the students, the materials that the teachers cover during class time. I work with students on all areas related to reading (ie vocabulary, spelling, writing, punctuation and reading comprehension) to be sure that we uncover the true reasons why a student may be struggling. This helps to create a solid plan to best help the student improve.

Study Skills

I am an experienced tutor and work with students every day to help them improve their study skills. For example, when working with a student who has reading comprehension troubles, I teach them skills to help them absorb the information they are reading. We read together and I stop periodically to quiz them on the material they have read. This helps them stay focused and accountable for what they are reading.

Florida Atlantic University
Florida Atlantic University (BA)


Florida Atlantic University

Florida Atlantic University (BA) (MEd)

Amazing Teacher — Kerri is an all around great teacher and tutor. We originally hired her for grammar tutoring for my 5th grader but she is very versatile. She is now tutoring my son in writing, grammar, vocabulary, reading comprehension, and study skills. It is nice to know that my son has an adult he can reach out to that is not "mom" or "dad." We plan on keeping Kerri around for the long haul if she will have us ...

— Christina, Boca Raton, FL on 3/28/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kerri will travel within 15 miles of Delray Beach, FL 33484.