Search

Carina T.

Carina, Science Tutor

Carina, Science Tutor

$60/hour

  • 126 hours tutoring

  • Southeast Denver, CO 80220

"Great Chemistry Tutor!"

Becky, 8 lessons with Carina

See Carina T.’s schedule

About Carina


Bio

As a recent college grad, I know the pains of learning new information and I am very patient in helping students achieve their highest learning potentials.

My specialties include most science topics (biology, genetics, chemistry, biochemistry etc.) math (algebra, calculus) and English. I have worked as an academic tutor in my last semester of college by proofreading and editing the papers of my college peers. For the past three years I have worked as a 6-8th grade science tutor. I also...

As a recent college grad, I know the pains of learning new information and I am very patient in helping students achieve their highest learning potentials.

My specialties include most science topics (biology, genetics, chemistry, biochemistry etc.) math (algebra, calculus) and English. I have worked as an academic tutor in my last semester of college by proofreading and editing the papers of my college peers. For the past three years I have worked as a 6-8th grade science tutor. I also have experience with taking many standardized tests like the SAT, ACT and the MCAT so I can be a useful asset in helping students study for upcoming exams by formulating effective and efficient study techniques.

I am professional, personable and friendly so I work well with kids, peers and adults. I look forward to hearing from you!


Education

Siena College
Biochemistry

Policies

  • Hourly rate: $60
  • Tutor’s lessons: In-person
  • Travel policy: Within 25 miles of Denver, CO 80220
  • Lesson cancellation: 2 hours notice required
  • Background check passed on 12/12/2013

  • Your first lesson is backed by our Good Fit Guarantee

Schedule

Carina hasn’t set a schedule.


Subjects

Business

Business,

Business

During my four years of college I completed an honors business minor, a comprehensive curriculum which included: financial accounting, managerial accounting, finance, management, marketing, and both macro/micro economics. In my sophomore year I was initiated into Delta Sigma Pi, a professional business fraternity where I was taught business etiquette and held a position as VP of professional events.
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Computer

Microsoft Project,

Microsoft Project

I use Microsoft Project at work and find it to be an incredibly useful resource for project management. The essentials of MS Project are to schedule tasks and manage resources. I enjoy tutoring the basics of this program because it really helps individuals advance in their career.
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Corporate Training

Business,

Business

During my four years of college I completed an honors business minor, a comprehensive curriculum which included: financial accounting, managerial accounting, finance, management, marketing, and both macro/micro economics. In my sophomore year I was initiated into Delta Sigma Pi, a professional business fraternity where I was taught business etiquette and held a position as VP of professional events.
Microsoft Project,

Microsoft Project

I use Microsoft Project at work and find it to be an incredibly useful resource for project management. The essentials of MS Project are to schedule tasks and manage resources. I enjoy tutoring the basics of this program because it really helps individuals advance in their career.
Russian,

Russian

I was born in Russia and I lived there for five years. I speak Russian fluently in my home and I have taken a Russian course in college. From this class, I have accumulated textbooks that would aid in mastering Russian grammar.
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Elementary Education

Elementary Math,

Elementary Math

In college, I tutored a group of elementary students twice a week in science and math. The commitment was difficult but it was worth seeing the improvement of my students' grades.
Study Skills,

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

English

Writing,

Writing

I have Writing qualifications obtained by WyzAnt.
ACT Reading, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary

Homeschool

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have previous and current experience tutoring algebra 1 to oncoming high school students. This is one of my favorite subjects to teach because there are many approaches to algebra along with a very fast learning rate.
Algebra 2,

Algebra 2

Understanding Algebra II is essential for standardized testing. I work with several students to prepare them for the ACT and often I am reteaching algebra topics. With practice, algebra is very easily mastered.
Study Skills,

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.
Writing,

Writing

I have Writing qualifications obtained by WyzAnt.
Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Prealgebra, Reading

Language

Russian

Russian

I was born in Russia and I lived there for five years. I speak Russian fluently in my home and I have taken a Russian course in college. From this class, I have accumulated textbooks that would aid in mastering Russian grammar.

Math

ACT Math,

ACT Math

I have ACT Math, Reading, and Science qualifications from WyzAnt.
Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have previous and current experience tutoring algebra 1 to oncoming high school students. This is one of my favorite subjects to teach because there are many approaches to algebra along with a very fast learning rate.
Algebra 2,

Algebra 2

Understanding Algebra II is essential for standardized testing. I work with several students to prepare them for the ACT and often I am reteaching algebra topics. With practice, algebra is very easily mastered.
Calculus, Prealgebra

Most Popular

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have previous and current experience tutoring algebra 1 to oncoming high school students. This is one of my favorite subjects to teach because there are many approaches to algebra along with a very fast learning rate.
Algebra 2,

Algebra 2

Understanding Algebra II is essential for standardized testing. I work with several students to prepare them for the ACT and often I am reteaching algebra topics. With practice, algebra is very easily mastered.
Study Skills,

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.
Writing,

Writing

I have Writing qualifications obtained by WyzAnt.
Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Prealgebra, Reading

Other

Study Skills

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.

Science

Nutrition,

Nutrition

I am qualified to tutor nutrition because in the last two years of college I wrote a thesis on the repercussions of dieting. This thesis required a lot of nutritional research. I graduated with a biochemistry degree which exposed me to many topics of nutrition and I currently work as a food scientist.
ACT Science, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry

Special Needs

Study Skills

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.

Sports/Recreation

Nutrition

Nutrition

I am qualified to tutor nutrition because in the last two years of college I wrote a thesis on the repercussions of dieting. This thesis required a lot of nutritional research. I graduated with a biochemistry degree which exposed me to many topics of nutrition and I currently work as a food scientist.

Summer

Algebra 1,

Algebra 1

I have previous and current experience tutoring algebra 1 to oncoming high school students. This is one of my favorite subjects to teach because there are many approaches to algebra along with a very fast learning rate.
Algebra 2,

Algebra 2

Understanding Algebra II is essential for standardized testing. I work with several students to prepare them for the ACT and often I am reteaching algebra topics. With practice, algebra is very easily mastered.
Russian,

Russian

I was born in Russia and I lived there for five years. I speak Russian fluently in my home and I have taken a Russian course in college. From this class, I have accumulated textbooks that would aid in mastering Russian grammar.
Study Skills,

Study Skills

I have more than 8 years of study skills due to my involvement in the IB (International Baccalaureate) program in high school as well as obtaining a biochemistry/business degree in college. As an avid student, I have many tips on how to study best. For instance: always study in a public place, change up the location where you study so that your brain is more versatile and always bring snacks.
Writing,

Writing

I have Writing qualifications obtained by WyzAnt.
Biology, Calculus, Chemistry, Reading

Test Preparation

ACT Math,

ACT Math

I have ACT Math, Reading, and Science qualifications from WyzAnt.
ACT Reading, ACT Science

Ratings and Reviews


Rating

5.0 (23 ratings)
5 star
(23)
4 star
(0)
3 star
(0)
2 star
(0)
1 star
(0)

Reviews


Strong Tutor

I hired Carina to help my daughter, a junior in high school, in Algebra 2. She came ready to work. Her style was very gentle and validating, but she really pushed my daughter to show her understanding. This was a wonderful change from past tutors who relied solely on the question, "do you understand?" I feel confident that, with Carina's help, math will become clearer and easier to manage.

Gail, 17 lessons with Carina

Great Tutor!

Carina helped my son immensely with his Honors Biology studies. Also, she was flexible and worked around our schedule, moving times to work with us. It was last minute and Carina came over to explain and cover the material so my son understood and was more confident. Finally, she stayed past the planned time assuring his understanding of the material. All in all, her explaining the material and flexibility, we highly recommend her!

Shawna, 2 lessons with Carina

Excellent tutor

Carina is an excellent tutor, she is perfect for Sam and we are consistently seeing higher scores and he enjoys the lessons. Carina really connects with her students. Always prompt and very nice.

Liz, 14 lessons with Carina

$60/hour

Carina T.

$60/hour

  • No subscriptions or upfront payments

  • Only pay for the time you need

  • Find the right fit, or your first hour is free

Contact Carina