NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Elke E.

Costa Mesa, CA

$45/hour

English/ESL Grammar, Writing and Proofreading

In-person lessons
200+ Hours
Background check passed as of 10/23/14
4.9 average from 109 ratings
Supportive
— Jere, Long Beach, CA on 3/20/17

$45/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Elke will reply soon.

Response time: 7 hours

Contact Elke

San Diego State University
German
San Diego State University
Master's

Education

San Diego State University (German)

San Diego State University (Master's)

About Elke

My academic degrees are in English (Master's) and German (Bachelor's). Teaching English composition and English as a Second Language are things I enjoy. I've taught at language schools, companies and at the community college level. I'm relate well to elementary school students and teenagers to assist with writing papers, expanding vocabulary and strengthening reading skills.

Because I've studied German and Spanish, I'm a compassionate ESL teacher. I understand the struggles with acquiring fluency. I'm very open to working with students from all countries and backgrounds. Offering practical strategies is my specialty.

If you need proofreading, I have plenty of experience reviewing both academic and business (website, proposals, letters, etc.) documents. I am willing to work with you via email/phone when there are time constraints.

Although I'm not a native German speaker, I have lived, worked and studied in Germany and acquired fluency through the experience. Because I began learning German through classes here in California, I can better relate to what students struggle with in terms of grammar and vocabulary.

My availability: Fridays after 1pm and weekends.

Due to long commute times, I have to stay within Costa Mesa, Huntington Beach, Newport Beach and NW Irvine.
My academic degrees are in English (Master's) and German (Bachelor's). Teaching English composition and English as a Second Language are things I enjoy. I've taught at language schools, companies and at the community college level. I'm relate well to elementary school students and teenagers to assist with writing papers, expanding vocabulary and Read more

Policies
Cancellation
4 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Costa Mesa, CA 92626
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Supportive"

- Jere, Long Beach, CA on 3/20/17

"Excellent"

- Becky, Irvine, CA on 9/8/13
English:
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading,
Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Outlook,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
German
History:
Geography, Religion
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been tutoring a 10 year old for the past few weeks. We work on vocabulary building, reading comprehension, use of past versus present tenses (one of her difficulties) and pronunciation. I have found a lot of strategies to get her to write and participate as much as possible in the lesson, so I feel I'm qualified to tutor elementary school kids now.

English

I taught and tutored English at a community college and a private high school (San Diego area).

ESL/ESOL

I've taught ESL at companies while living in Europe, and I've taught ESL for teens and adults in California. I'm currently tutoring in ESL on a biweekly basis.

German

Besides earning a Bachelor's in German Language and Literature Studies, I lived in Germany for over three years to attain fluency.

Grammar

As an instructor of English Composition, I've taught grammar to teens and adults. As an ESL instructor, I have experience with students from diverse cultures learning the mechanics of English.

Microsoft Outlook

I have used MS Outlook for many years in a business capacity, which includes scheduling meetings and appointments, sending and receiving email and task management.

Proofreading

In a business context, I have proofread everything from lengthy proposals to brief emails. I have been in charge of editing website content for a company as well. In an educational context, I have proofread research papers and submissions to a journal.

Public Speaking

As part of my job in the business world, I've had to address large groups of people. I've also taken speech courses and taught classes with up to 35 students.

Writing

I have not only written my own research papers, but assisted others with writing theirs. In a business context, I have created numerous proposals, reports, and other documents on a regular basis for several years.

San Diego State University
German
San Diego State University
Master's

Education

San Diego State University (German)

San Diego State University (Master's)

Supportive

Elke has been the best English tutor I've ever had! I've been working with Elke for over two years now and she has given me support and feedback regarding my academic papers. When I couldn't find a friend with sound writing skills, Elke was there to give advice when addressing essay topic's along with feedback regarding grammar issues.

— Jere, Long Beach, CA on 3/20/17

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

Travel policy

Elke will travel within 5 miles of Costa Mesa, CA 92626.