Search 72,249 tutors
FIND TUTORS
Over 10 tutoring hours

Rafique S.

A friendly tutor who will help you understand difficult concepts

Orange, CA (92865)

Travel radius
20 miles
Hourly fee
$25.00
Email Rafique S.

You don't pay for tutoring
unless you find a good fit!

Background Check Status for Rafique S.

Rafique S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Rafique, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.

I love math and love showing others how it works. I tutored students of all ages, elementary, middle and high school while I was in college in subjects as diverse as math, calculus and physics. I taught computer programming at a technical college for two years and now work full-time as a software programmer. I have a undergraduate degree in Mathematics and Electrical Engineering.

Most of the students who came to me for help with Math and other subjects were struggling with the subjects in their classes. The common complaint was that the teacher did not talk to them at "their level" or explained the concepts well enough for them to understand. I helped them with their homework and broke down tough ideas from their classes into simple concepts that they could understand. All of them showed a marked improvement in their subjects and were able to better their grades significantly, in some cases to an A.

My students' parents were very pleased with the progress their children made and some of them expected me to not only be a tutor but also be a mentor or a support person as some were going through rough times because of domestic issues in their parents' lives. I tried my best to talk to the students and provide counsel wherever possible.

Email Rafique

Rafique’s subjects

Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
Grammar, Reading
Science:
Electrical Engineering, Physics
Computer:
C#, C++, Computer Science, General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Pascal, Visual Basic
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills
Business:
GMAT, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Elementary (K-6th), Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
GMAT, SAT Math
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball, Softball, Tennis
Corporate Training:
C++, General Computer, GMAT, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word

Algebra 1

I majored in Mathematics and Electrical Engineering for my undergrdauate degrees. I find Algebra, and Math in general, to be fun. I helped many students with Math (Algebra, Geometry, Calculus) while I was in college. It was heartening to see students who were struggling with the subjects become confident and get good grades in the end.

Algebra 2

I majored in mathematics and electrical engineering for my undergraduate degrees. I find algebra, and math in general, to be fun. I helped many students with math (algebra, geometry, calculus) while I was in college. It was heartening to see students who were struggling with the subjects become confident and get good grades in the end.

C#

I currently work as a design engineer writing and debugging software applications using C# .Net as the primary language. I have worked on several projects using C# .Net over the last few years.

C++

I taught C++ at ITT Technical Institute's BAS program as my 1st job after college. I have been working as a full-time software developer for the last 7 years. My first few projects involved C++, Viusuall C++ and Microsoft Foundation Classes (Windows programming). I currently work C# .Net and WPF projects.

Elementary Math

I have a degree in Mathematics and I work as a software engineering. I love showing other students how to do Math right. I used to tutor students at all levels while I was going to college.

Tennis

I played tennis at Capital University as an undergraduate at NCAA Div III level. I played #6 singles and represented Capital in the Doubles Team 2 in the Ohio Athletic Conference. I was awarded the First Team OAC award for achievements in tennis and school. I continued playing tennis after college as a recreational sport and am currently a member and webmaster of the Cypress Tennis Club.

Read all subject qualifications »

Email Rafique

back to top

Education

Washington University in St. Louis

Cal State University, Fullerton( CSUF) (Enrolled)

Flexible, helpful, patient tutor. — Rafique guides my son with high school pre-calculus and answers his questions. Rafique works with our schedule, providing instruction and guidance when my son is unable to find this support in school due to the time it takes to understand the difficult subject matter. He is of great help to us, especially when my son's math grades are essential in college admissions. ...

— Ken from Orange, CA on 3/28/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $25.00

Cancellation: 4 hours notice required

First lesson free.

Travel policy

Rafique will travel within 20 miles of Orange, CA 92865.

Email Rafique

Usually responds in about 10 hours

Send Rafique a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rafique or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

(ex: algebra, chemistry)
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive Responses From Additional Tutors

If selected, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.