author profile
Wyzant

Are you saving your work?

One of the advantages of the Wyzant online tool is the ability to save your whiteboards. All users can save their progress to easily keep snapshots of their lessons to use as notes or references for future lessons.

We want to be sure you know all the ways to save your work, and give you some tips to make sure you’re getting the most out of your unique lesson material.

The Whiteboard

First thing’s first! You can save any whiteboard you’re currently viewing by clicking the “File” option then selecting “Download whiteboard as .jpg”. This converts the whiteboard you are viewing into an image and saves it to your computer. If you have difficulty locating your saved images, try looking in your computer or device’s Downloads folder, or create a specific place to save all your whiteboard images.

saving1.PNG

Keep in mind that this will save only the current whiteboard! Don’t worry - you can quickly switch to others by clicking the tabs below your board, then save them those using the same instructions.

saving2.PNG

Show your steps

Since there’s no limit to the number of times you can save a whiteboard, you can also save as you complete each step of a problem. By saving each sequential step as its own .jpg using the instructions detailed above, you can provide a powerful tool for your students: step-by-step instructions they can reference when studying later. Here’s an example:

Step 1:

saving3.jpg

Step 2:

saving4.jpg

Step 3:

saving5.jpg

Create resources for future lessons

When you set up a whiteboard during a session with an excellent example problem or diagram, consider saving it! You can upload .jpg files from your computer or tablet to a whiteboard at any time. Particularly effective whiteboards may come in handy later when working with other students.

Pick up where you left off

If you save a whiteboard at the end of a lesson, you can also upload it at the start of your next lesson, allowing you to continue exploring concepts or problems without the extra work of re-creating the last session.

Just upload the saved .jpg to your new whiteboard. Since it will be displayed as an image, you can’t manipulate the parts of it separately as you can when writing on a new board. You can use the same tools to simply continue with the material by drawing or writing over the image.

The Text Editor

You can save your work in the text editor by clicking the “File” option while viewing the text editor, then selecting the “Download as .pdf” option.

saving6.PNG

If you see a message indicating that, “The exporter does not currently support fonts,” just click the blue “OK, Download PDF” button.

saving7.PNG

This will generate a PDF that will be automatically downloaded. If you used fonts when typing in the editor, you’ll find that they have been changed in your PDF. For example:

saving8.PNG

Becomes…

saving9.PNG

Finished product or in-progress?

It’s important to note that once your work is saved as a PDF, students will be unable to edit it (without the help of a PDF editing tool). This means you may want to export your text to PDF only when the material is complete, or if it’s intended to just be used a reference.

If your student wants to edit or change the material later, copy/pasting it into a word processing app or other software is an easy way to make sure the student gets what they need.

The Code Editor

Save your work in the code editor by clicking “File” while viewing the code editor, then selecting the “Download as text” option.

saving10.PNG

This will save your code as the file type associated with the language you selected.

Additionally, if your browser identifies the file type as “dangerous” you may see an error message similar to the one below. Selecting “Keep” will save your code; “Discard” will prevent the code from being saved. Most browsers display a routine security message when attempting to download a code or .exe file, and it does not indicate that your code editor file is corrupted or otherwise harmful.

saving11.PNG

Save Before The End

While students can exit an online lesson at any time, only tutors have the capability of ending a lesson within the tool. This will cause the material in your whiteboard, text editor, and code editor to be deleted. Don’t forget to save!

If you accidentally end the lesson, however, the tool will provide you with one last chance to save your lesson material.

A box will appear offering you the opportunity to save your whiteboards. Click the “Save Whiteboards” button to save all of your currently opened whiteboards at once as a .zip file. If your computer does not have a program to unzip files of this type, you may need to download one.

But wait! The final “Save Whiteboards” button will NOT save anything in your Text Editor, or Code Editor!

If you need to save material in those tools before you wrap up, click the “X” icon in the box below so you can go back and make sure you’ve got what you need before exiting.

saving12.PNG

saving13.PNG