Over 50 tutoring hours

Geoffrey H.

Wisconsin Rapids, WI


Geoffrey in Sacramento

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 2/16/12
4.3 average from 15 ratings
Great Tutor
— Cher, Sacramento, CA on 4/2/14

Message Geoffrey

Send Geoffrey a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Geoffrey or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

UC Santa Cruz
UC Davis, CA
UC Davis, CA


UC Santa Cruz (Physics)

UC Davis, CA (Master's)

UC Davis, CA (Master's)

About Geoffrey


I have studied a variety of subjects from the secondary to the graduate level. Though my degrees were in physics and electrical engineering (from UC Santa Cruz and UC Davis), I have also covered math, chemistry, and some software. In addition, I have a breadth of knowledge in history, literature, government, and music. I have taken 5 years of Latin and have some experience with German as well. I am quite flexible in terms of scheduling and pacing working with the material. I am from Sacramento, California and have worked for 4 years as an electrical engineer, 3 for the navy, and 1 for Intel. Also, I have had a number of short-term assignments, largely in teaching.



I have studied a variety of subjects from the secondary to the graduate level. Though my degrees were in physics and electrical engineering (from UC Santa Cruz and UC Davis), I have
Read more

24 hours notice required

My rates are somewhat lower than what is typically charged, particularly for someone teaching advanced material. Am planning on raising them to a base of $35/hour after the first of the year.

Travel Radius
Travels within 35 miles of Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great Tutor"

- Cher, Sacramento, CA on 4/2/14

"Very patient and knowledgeable"

- Susan, El Dorado Hills, CA on 4/3/12
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Elementary Math, Geometry, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Trigonometry
Anatomy, Anthropology, Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry, Ecology, Electrical Engineering,
Geology, Nutrition,
Organic Chemistry,
Philosophy, Physical Science, Physics,
General Music,
Music History, Music Theory, Piano
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, Common Core, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
American History, Anthropology, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Music History, Religion, Social Studies, World History
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Homeschool, Phonics, Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Economics, GRE

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Electrical Engineering

I earned a BA in physics from UCSC in 1994, a Masters in physics from UC Davis in 1997, and a Masters in Electrical Engineering from UC Davis in 2001 with a focus in device physics. Coursework in electrical engineering primarily stressed solid state and device physics and microfabrication, analog and digital circuits and electromagnetism. I have worked 3 years from April 2002 - April 2005 for the Naval Air Warfare Weapons Division in China Lake as an electronics engineer. I had two tours in radar branches, two in warheads involving high powered microwaves, and 2 years in the fuze development branch developing arming timing circuitry for detonators. Then I worked 13 months from October 2005 - November 2006 as a product development engineer for Intel in Folsom testing new phase change memory chips for quality and reliability. This involved repeatedly programming and reading the chips and subjecting them to reduced and elevated temperatures and then measuring and plotting via cumulative distribution functions how well they maintained their set and reset states as indicated by how many bits remained within the allowed current ranges for set and reset states. I also briefly worked for volt technical providing customer support for Apple iPhones in the fall of 2007.

General Music

I have played piano since I was 6-years-old, progressing to the level of playing such pieces as Clare De Lune by Debussy and the Nocturne in E-Flat major by Chopin from memory. I sight read music, play by ear, improvise, and know the circle of fifths, a variety of scales, and the relations among pitches. I have also played guitar since I was 16 learning the positions of chords in a variety of positions. Also I have played the harmonica and drums, learning a number of rudiments as well as some standard rhythmic patterns. Furthermore I was in chorus in 8th grade and again while a graduate student at UC Davis, where I also took and did well in a course in music theory. For example, I have used both authentic and plagal cadences in learned compositions as well as spontaneously.


I have had 5 years of Latin, including Caesar's Gallic Wars, Cicero's orations, and Virgil's Aeneid. I am currently tutoring a first year Latin student now as well. I did well in the third and fourth years of Latin earning A's then. I am familiar with the declensions of nouns and adjectives, the case uses, the conjugations of verbs in the four moods, many uses of the subjunctive, and special constructions particularly the ablative of absolute and the use of the future passive participle to expressed obligation or necessity.


In addition to having studied chemistry, taking 10 chemistry classes at UC Davis, and doing particularly well for organic chemistry, for chemistry majors, earnings 2 A's and an A, I live a very healthy life. My mom and I are well-versed in nutrition. I am also a distributor for the Wellness Center of Herbal Life and am learning more that way. Am aware of what is needed in terms of having required protein, vitamins, minerals, particularly iron and calcium, carbohydrates and vegetable fats, such as from bananas, and avocados. Also know what to avoid, especially corn syrup and partially hydrogenated oils.

Organic Chemistry

In addition to the BA in physics from UC Santa Cruz, and the Masters in physics and electrical engineering from UC Davis, I took 10 chemistry classes as a graduate student there. I did particularly well in upper division organic chemistry for chemistry majors, earnings 2 A-'s and an A in the lecture classes. It helped significantly having some background in atomic and quantum physics, and knowing some thermodynamics, and kinetics. Am familiar with hydrocarbon nomenclature and the structure and reactions of a variety of functional groups including aldehydes, ketones, alcohols including phenols, aromatic rings, carboxylic acids, and some biochemical structures, particularly amino acids and sugars. The experience in the clean room for the microfabrication classes and research also involved some chemical knowledge, particularly that associated with developing photoresists, and performing both wet and dry etching. The 3 years experience working for the navy as an electronics engineer and the year at Intel as a product development engineer in the flash products group, also involved some additional exposure to chemical principles.


First, I received a bachelor of art's in physics at UC Santa Cruz in June of 1994. Then I received a master's of science in physics from UC Davis in 1996-1997. I also received a master's in science in electrical engineering from UC Davis in September of 2001 in which my focus was in device physics and I also took a number of classes in circuits and electro-magnetism. Further, I worked three years for Navair as an electronics engineer and at least a year at Intel as a product development engineer.


I have played the piano since I was 6 years old and have had extensive lessons for several years then up to the time I was 17 or so. I am advanced up through level 5 or so. I read music well including sight reading, improvise, play by ear, and know some music theory.



I learned to read from the McGuffie's reader when 4 and have read a number of works of classic literature as well as a variety of non-fiction both in and out of school. Also have some experience with a variety of languages including Spanish, French, German, and Latin. Have consistently scored well on vocabulary, comprehension, sentence completion and analogy tests, particularly on the SAT and GRE. In Latin I better learned the relation between the forms of words and their meanings as well as the relationship between their grammatical syntax and the semantics of the sentence as a whole.

In physical and biological science and in engineering I learned a variety of specialized and technical terms. Also can pick up well on context clues. I am willing to work with folks who are just starting to read or who want to improve their vocabulary and comprehension as well as those who are studying more specialized and hitherto unfamiliar material. Ideally one should learn to read fluently by the age of 9 or one will always be behind.


Hello. Vocabulary is one of my greatest strengths. As an inveterate reader I have generally scored very well on vocabulary tests since grade school, testing in the 9th grade when in 5th grade. Also scored 730 of 800 on the SAT verbal test and 730 and then 800 on the verbal reasoning portion of the graduate record exam. Note scoring 800 on the GRE in June of 1997 while a graduate student at UC Davis, placed me at the 99% level.

Having studied Latin for 5 years, I know the etymology of words and can construct their meaning through the synthesis of their roots, prefixes and suffixes. I also know some Greek, German, and other forms as well. I also learn by context. Can definitely help teach people fairly quickly on the meaning and use of a variety of general and specialized terms as requested.

UC Santa Cruz
UC Davis, CA
UC Davis, CA


UC Santa Cruz (Physics)

UC Davis, CA (Master's)

UC Davis, CA (Master's)

Great Tutor — Geoffrey 'nailed' it. My text did not provide a lot of great examples by which to understand the material. Geoff, however, was able to clarify concepts. He's one bright gentleman and a very good communicator of these concepts. ...

— Cher, Sacramento, CA on 4/2/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $30.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

My rates are somewhat lower than what is typically charged, particularly for someone teaching advanced material. Am planning on raising them to a base of $35/hour after the first of the year.

Travel policy

Geoffrey will travel within 35 miles of Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494.