Over 100 tutoring hours

Kaleolani B.

Selah, WA


Tutor, Teacher, Role model, Friend

In-person lessons
Replies in 11 hours
Background check passed as of 3/24/12
4.9 Avg. Rating
47 Ratings
11hrs Response Time
Awesome Tutor!
— Claudia, Yakima, WA on 4/25/14

Message Kaleolani

Send Kaleolani a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Kaleolani or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Central Michigan University
Math Education


Central Michigan University (Math Education)

About Kaleolani

I'm a graduate of Central Michigan University and a native of Hawaii. My degree is in Secondary Education with a Major in Math and a minor in ESL and Communication Disorders. I always enjoyed school and I believe I can help students in most subject areas. I enjoy tutoring because it gives me a chance to bond with my students and see them as the individuals they are, with unique and diverse teaching needs.

I'm a new resident of Washington and a new mom! It's possible I would need to bring my son to a session but he's a quiet, patient infant. I typically meet students at the public library or local coffee shop but I have space in my selah home to hold tutoring sessions.

I'm flexible, understanding and cater to your educational needs.

Thank you and Aloha!
I'm a graduate of Central Michigan University and a native of Hawaii. My degree is in Secondary Education with a Major in Math and a minor in ESL and Communication Disorders. I always enjoyed school and I believe I can help students in most Read more

1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Selah, WA 98942
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Awesome Tutor!"

- Claudia, Yakima, WA on 4/25/14
ACT Math, Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Linear Algebra, Prealgebra,
Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
ACT Reading, Bible Studies,
Grammar, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL,
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary (K-6th), English,
Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, ACT Reading, ASVAB, GED, Praxis, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Japanese,
Microsoft Word,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Math Major with a BS in Secondary Education.
Student teaching and extensive tutoring experience in all math subjects.

Algebra 2

I taught two classes of Algebra 2 for a semester of student teaching.

Bible Studies

I was raised Catholic but became a Christian in 2009 when I realized the difference between religion and relationship with Christ. I was a member of Greek Intervarsity Christian Fellowship on Central Michigan University's campus. Greek IV provided support for sorority women and fraternity men to live out their Christianity while in the Greek Life System. I lead my sorority Bible Study for 3 years, seeing several sisters renew their faith or come to know Jesus for the first time. I have attended Christian conferences in both Indianapolis and Northern Michigan. I have a Christian mentor and continue grow in my faith and relationship with the Lord, no matter where I am living.

Elementary Math

Although I am secondary certified, I have experience homeschooling students at the 4th and 5th grade level.


In high school I took AP English literature and received a score of 3 on the AP Test. I also have a TESOL Certificate and have experience teaching the English Language to non-native speakers.


In the fall of 2011, I traveled to Thailand for six months where I taught English Conversation: Speaking and Listening. I had thirteen classes of 6th grade students and twelve classes of 12th grade students, with about forty students per class. I also have experience teaching and tutoring elementary Korean students in English. Foreign language experiences include Japanese, German, Thai, Spanish and ASL!


In the spring of 2011 I taught two classes of Advanced Geometry.


I have twelve years of Japanese language experience having learned it from 1st grade through 12th grade! In 2004 I traveled to Kyoto and Osaka Japan for a Spring Break trip with my high schools ukulele choir. In college, I tested into the highest level of Japanese and received "retro" credits for all of the proceeding Japanese classes. Although I have been out of formal practice for some time, I believe I will be able to pick it back up quickly!

Microsoft PowerPoint

In high school, we were expected to use Powerpoint frequently and so I become efficient in using the software. I continued my use and exposure to Powerpoint through college and I frequently use Powerpoint in teaching classes, giving presentations and studying for tests.

Microsoft Word

In high school, all students were issued laptop computers and all assignments were completed in Word documents. Through out college papers were assigned frequently that also required the use of Word. I use word daily to prepare for lessons, write lesson plans, create tests, worksheets, and lesson materials, journal, write notes, letters, and lists, and create poster and flyers for upcoming events.


Math major with a bachelor of science in secondary education.

Many years of tutoring experience, mostly in math.

Study Skills

As a tutor, I've deviated from the direct topic (usually math) when my students have a chapter test or exam approaching. We use flashcards to record formulas and key points of each chapter and sometimes I have my students create their own charts and "chapter reviews". I encourage them to identify the most important elements of the chapter and fit them on one index card, then half, then less.
I have used similar exercises with my ESL students and I make sure they take full advantage of the charts and tables included in the text. Sometimes, students don't even realize they have the information right in their own textbooks, particularly in the appendix. I encourage highlighters, bullet pointed lists, and reiterating topics in one's own words. I've also prepped students for the ACT and Praxis using these study skills.


I have been swimming my entire life and because I grew up with a pool in my backyard, my parents made sure I was a strong swimmer from a young age. I took classes at the YMCA and swam for my high school my junior year. I also participated in a week-long course that ended with my certification as a Junior Life Guard.


I received a TESOL certificate from the American TESOL Institute after completing three weeks of training in Phuket, Thailand and four months of teaching in PakChong, Thailand. I was placed and worked through the teaching agency MediaKids.


In spring of 2011, I taught two classes of Functions, Stats, Trig.


I played volleyball for my high school from my sophomore - senior year. I tried out and was accepted onto two different club volleyball teams, with whom I traveled to Hawaiian Islands, Vegas and Reno for competitions. I was offered a spot on the Randolph-Macon College team. I played middle blocker. In college I played for my sorority's inter-mural team.

Central Michigan University
Math Education


Central Michigan University (Math Education)

Awesome Tutor! — Kaleolani is so patient and extremely helpful! She breaks everything down until I understand it. I feel very confident that I will pass my upcoming test. Thank you Kaleolani. ...

— Claudia, Yakima, WA on 4/25/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $36.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Kaleolani will travel within 20 miles of Selah, WA 98942.

Background Check Status for Kaleolani B.

Kaleolani B. passed a background check on 3/24/12. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Kaleolani, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.