NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 50 tutoring hours

Shannon S.

Seattle, WA

$50/hour

Recent graduate with a passion for solving problems

4.9 average from 44 ratings
Impressed!
— Jennifer, Marysville, WA on 10/27/16

$50/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Shannon will reply soon.

Response time: 2 hours

Contact Shannon

University of Houston
Biology, Chemistry

Education

University of Houston (Biology, Chemistry)

About Shannon

I recently graduated from the University of Houston with my Bachelor's of Science degree in May 2016. I have a strong passion for math and science and I feel I would be able to pass on valuable study skills to students. I know that math is a difficult subject for many students, but I find it an enjoyable one. I would like to help students feel the same by increasing enthusiasm in problem solving, offering alternate routes to the same conclusions.

To tell you a bit more about me: I excelled in middle and high school, graduating ranked in the top 10 students at a prestigious private high school. In college, I received several academic scholarships and awards, earning myself a membership in the Golden Key International Honor Society. I am a well-rounded individual who enjoys world travel and seeking adventure in everyday experiences, living life to the fullest. I bring this energy to my tutoring.

My extensive studies have provided me with a diverse background in multiple mathematical disciplines. Some of my math accolades include a 650 on my SAT, an A+ in AP Calculus, and was awarded in a regional math competition. I have successfully tutored students in Prealgebra, Algebra 1, and Algebra 2. "Add up" these achievements with my enthusiastic personality for a great tutoring experience and you will not be disappointed.

As a science major in college, I have taken 62 credit hours in the natural sciences. I received all A's in my anatomy coursework, which aided in my Emergency Medical Technician training and certification. In addition to my Biological and Physical Sciences major, I have a minor in Chemistry.

Please contact me for more information and to schedule your next lesson!
I recently graduated from the University of Houston with my Bachelor's of Science degree in May 2016. I have a strong passion for math and science and I feel I would be able to pass on valuable Read more

Policies
Cancellation
2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Seattle, WA 98125

"Impressed!"

- Jennifer, Marysville, WA on 10/27/16

"Very helpful"

- Christina, Seattle, WA on 11/22/16

"Big Help!"

- Lauren, Issaquah, WA on 11/12/16

"Great tutor!!!"

- LE, Bothell, WA on 11/5/16

"Patient"

- Elona, Marysville, WA on 10/31/16

"Patient and friendly tutor"

- Charles, Marysville, WA on 10/1/16
Math:
ACT Math,
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Elementary Math,
Prealgebra,
Precalculus, SAT Math
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy,
Biology, Chemistry,
Ecology, Geology, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science,
Physics, Physiology, Psychology
English:
ACT English, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math,
ACT Science, College Counseling,
GED, SAT Math, SSAT
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading,
Spelling,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT Math

I have experience in tutoring students for the ACT Math exam. The ACT tests a variety of mathematical concepts and I provide extensive practice as a way to conquer a variety of question types.

Algebra 1

I aced college algebra and have experience tutoring students in algebra 1. I understand that algebra is a difficult subject for many students, but it doesn't have to be! With an analytical approach, I can help your student to feel more confident in his or her algebraic skills.

Algebra 2

I excelled in honors Algebra 2 and received an A in college level algebra. I have experience in tutoring math with the use of graphing calculators. I find it is useful to draw graphs and write down every step of a problem in order for students to reach an understanding of the answer.

Anatomy

As a certified Emergency Medical Technician, I have a vast understanding of human anatomy and physiology. In my biological and physical sciences major, I received all A's in my anatomy coursework. In my tutoring experience for anatomy, I find it beneficial to use a variety of study methods, including flash cards, Latin root word study, and labeling blank diagrams.

Chemistry

I received a minor in chemistry, taking advanced courses like organic chemistry I and II, quantitative analysis, and biochemistry. All of these courses are reinforced by an understanding of basic chemistry. I have a strong mathematical background as well as a Bachelors of Science degree in Biological and Physical Sciences.

College Counseling

I am a recent college graduate. I transferred a couple times between universities until I found the right fit. I have become familiar with the college admission procedure. Also, I can relate to high school students in their uncertainty for the future and can offer evidence-supported guidance for the best possible decision.

Cooking

I have a passion for cooking, making gourmet meals regularly. I have mastered dishes such as Oscar style filet mignon, herbal-roasted salmon, and stuffed portobello mushrooms. I also make a variety of muffins, biscuits, and desserts. In my free time, I study new cooking techniques and tips to improve meal quality.

Elementary Math

I have experience tutoring elementary students in math and possess a strong academic background. My interest for mathematics and patience with students creates the perfect combination for tutoring young pupils struggling with the subject. Elementary math creates a foundation for math needed for more difficult scientific and mathematics subjects.

Organic Chemistry

I majored in Biological and Physical Sciences, allowing me to also receive a minor in Chemistry. Therefore, I took 10 credit hours in organic chemistry with labs. Understanding organic chemistry at a collegiate level will help me to tutor students who are new to the subject. I have a set of bonding atomic models to show students the structure of molecules and their stereochemistry. I have participated in several collegiate level study sessions.

Physical Science

I majored in biological and physical sciences in college at the University of Houston. This allowed me to study biology, chemistry, physics, and geology.

Prealgebra

In tutoring pre-algebra, I strive to help students create a solid foundation for future math subjects. I teach students to work problems out completely on paper in order to understand the answers. I have succeeded in algebra at the college level and wish to help others excel too.

Reading

I am a recent college graduate with advanced literature credits. From me, a successful reading and comprehension tutoring session will require my careful guidance in order to decrease frustration with the subject.

Spelling

I was a regional spelling bee contestant at my school for five years, collecting several 1st place and other awards. I am skilled in writing and proofreading, which allows me to have a keen eye for spelling errors.

Study Skills

As a college student taking 27 credits in my final semester, I developed a system of organization to take command of all my classes. I believe in a system of writing down goals in order to stay on track. It is important to break large assignments down into several smaller goals. I can help other students to improve their study skills by helping them get organized and understand what requirements should be completed each day.

University of Houston
Biology, Chemistry

Education

University of Houston (Biology, Chemistry)

Impressed! — Shannon has a very calm demeanor and is excellent at explaining how to solve problems, offering and alternate method when needed. My son had his first lesson last week. The next day, he aced his math test. He also aced the next assignment. Improvement was almost instantaneous. My son - who was not looking forward to a tutor in the least even cracked a smile at today's lesson when I told her the go ...

— Jennifer, Marysville, WA on 10/27/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Shannon will travel within 30 miles of Seattle, WA 98125.