Over 800 tutoring hours

James M.

Winooski, VT


The anagrammatical trout.

Replies in 3 hours
Background check passed as of 3/27/12
5.0 Avg. Rating
229 Ratings
3hrs Response Time
The best!
— Julia, Pembroke, MA on 3/27/14

Message James

Send James a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed James or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Arizona & University of South Carolina
Environ. Economics
Graduate Coursework
Graduate Coursework


University of Arizona & University of South Carolina (Environ. Economics)

N/A (Graduate Coursework)

N/A (Graduate Coursework)

About James

Dear Parents & Students,

I was born in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and lived there through my teens. In addition to schoolwork I played basketball, baseball and went snowboarding on the weekends. After graduating from high school I attended the University of Arizona in Tucson where I majored in Environmental & Water Resource Economics. During this time I became interested in traveling. As a result, I enrolled in school programs that took me to the University of South Carolina and to South Africa. In May 2010 I graduated with a Bachelor of Science and moved briefly to California, then to the Big Island of Hawaii. From there I moved to Massachusetts for a period of three years. In August 2015 I will happily land in Burlington, Vermont.

My experience with tutoring began in college where I took a student position at the University's Learning Center. I worked with college level students, some with minor learning disabilities, on a one-to-one basis throughout the week. Some students came in only as needed while others had recurring appointments to meet with me. Subjects ranged from general studies to advanced undergraduate economic courses to basic study skills. My approach was to allow students to attempt a problem on their own while observing their progression. If the student became confused I would assist by helping them find the resources needed to solve the problem. I try desperately to interfere as little as possible and refuse to do course work for the student. Completing their work would be a waste of time for myself as well as the student, who would come away without understanding the process and lack the ability to solve similar problems. This approach also enabled me to witness the entire thought process. Even if the answer arrived at was correct, we could then discuss different ways of approaching the problem using our combined perspectives.

After college I worked as a tutor in the California Public School System. I met with six students over the course of a school year on a fixed, weekly schedule. These students were male and female, ranging in age from elementary to middle school. My sessions ran parallel with the school teacher's instruction, meaning the material I used was predicated on the school day's lesson plan. We would practice the same concepts and principles but with different questions, figures, and activities. This insured that the student completed homework without my influence, while simultaneously providing practice and feedback on the very skills and strategies needed to complete course work.

Over the last three years I have worked for a private education company based in Massachusetts. This position has afforded me consistent experience working with students of all ages in a variety of subjects and circumstances. These prior tutoring experiences, coupled with my own travels through the education system, put me in a unique position to assist current students. Moreover my long-term careers goals lie in the educational field. As a result I value highly each tutoring opportunity for the valuable insight and experience it affords both the student and myself.
Dear Parents & Students,

I was born in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, and lived there through my teens. In addition to schoolwork I played basketball, baseball and went snowboarding on the weekends. After graduating…
Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Winooski, VT 05404
Background Check: Passed

"The best!"

- Julia, Pembroke, MA on 3/27/14

"Great Tutor"

- Shamus, Marshfield, MA on 8/26/14

"Great Tutor"

- Sarah, Duxbury, MA on 6/16/14

"Highly recommend"

- John, Norwell, MA on 6/15/14

"Great Tutor! Very Organized And Thorough!"

- Chris, Duxbury, MA on 5/26/14

"Best Tutor out There!"

- Evan, Duxbury, MA on 4/29/14

"Great Tutor!"

- Stephanie, Hanover, MA on 2/12/14

"Relates very well to kids and makes learning fun"

- Annemarie, Norwell, MA on 2/12/14

"Very Good Tutor!"

- Dave, Kingston, MA on 9/15/13

"Excellent Tutor"

- Coleen, Scituate, MA on 8/17/13

"Very Helpful!"

- Katie, Hull, MA on 8/15/13

"Awesome tutor!"

- Caralie, Duxbury, MA on 7/29/13

"All-Star Tutor"

- Julie, Hanson, MA on 7/24/13

"Thorough and effective tutor."

- Barbara, Plymouth, MA on 6/26/13

"Better than I could've hoped for!"

- Melanie, Carver, MA on 6/12/13

"Great tutor!"

- Jeanne, Marshfield, MA on 2/26/13

"Amazing tutor"

- Molly, Marshfield, MA on 2/18/13
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
ACT Science, Ecology, Psychology
General Computer, Macintosh, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
American History, Criminal Justice, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Social Studies, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills, Vocabulary
Economics, GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Economics, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, GRE, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Baseball, Basketball
Corporate Training:
Criminal Justice, Economics, General Computer, Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I participated in HS varsity basketball for three years and was a co-captain for two. During that time I received the following recognitions:

2A 1st Team Wyoming All-State
3A 1st Team Wyoming All-Conference
2A 1st Team Wyoming All-Conference
Academic Athlete of the Month

University of Arizona & University of South Carolina
Environ. Economics
Graduate Coursework
Graduate Coursework


University of Arizona & University of South Carolina (Environ. Economics)

N/A (Graduate Coursework)

N/A (Graduate Coursework)

The best! — I started working with James in February to prepare for the March SAT, and right from the beginning he was nothing but helpful. James was easy to get in contact with and always got back to me right away. He was able to meet my tight schedule just weeks before the exam! I only had four sessions with him before I took the SAT, and he worked with me through each of the three sections several times, p ...

— Julia, Pembroke, MA on 3/27/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

James will travel within 25 miles of Winooski, VT 05404.

Background Check Status for James M.

James M. passed a background check on 3/27/12. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to James, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.