NEW FEATURES MORE

Jamie M.

Hampton, VA

$25/hour

Effective and Knowledgeable Diverse Subject Tutor

5.0 average from 1 ratings

Message Jamie

Send Jamie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Jamie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 4 hours
Replies in 4 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hampton University
Business Admin.

Education

Hampton University (Business Admin.)

About Jamie

I am an honor student with a 3.9 GPA. I love math including algebra, calculus, statistics, economics, etc. Teaching and helping others is my passion. Having knowledge is one thing but to me it is more important to share the knowledge I have with others. I am a strong minded driven individual who will stop at nothing once I have a task at hand. I will support and push my tutees to improve their grades and master the subject manner.

I have several years experience tutoring and I have tutored many individuals aged 5 to 40. I am a mentor/tutor with Sister to Sister, Inc where I tutor children ages 5-18 in math, reading, social studies, etc. I recently worked with my friend's mom who went back to college to help her obtain her Bachelor's degree in Business. I have a wide range of experience in subject matter and ages of people i have tutored.

I have earned all A's in math in high school, AP classes, and college classes.

Please don't hesitate to contact me!
I am an honor student with a 3.9 GPA. I love math including algebra, calculus, statistics, Read more

Policies

I am very flexible in pricing!

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Hampton, VA 23669
Math:
ACT Math,
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Discrete Math, Econometrics, Elementary Math,
Linear Algebra, Prealgebra,
Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math,
Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math,
ACT Reading, PSAT, SAT Math,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word,
Networking (Computer), QuickBooks
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math,
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Business:
Accounting,
Business,
Economics,
Finance, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint,
Microsoft Word,
QuickBooks
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking, Needlework

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Accounting

I have had many hands on experiences in accounting as well as classroom instruction. On a collegiate level I took Financial Accounting and received an A, the highest grade in the class. I am minoring in Accounting I learn new concepts and solutions to accounting every day!

ACT Math

Although I did not take the ACT myself, I prepared for it and I helped my peers prepare for it. I received a high score on all practice tests and I did very well on other standardized tests such as the SAT. I understand the importance of the ACT and am willing to help anyone get a high score for college.

Algebra 1

I took this subject several years ago and I passed with an A. I have tutored my peers and younger in this subject. I continuously brush up on my Algebra skills whenever I can.

Algebra 2

I took algebra 2 a few years ago and received an A in the subject. Although time has passed, I continuously stay up to date on my algebra skills and I have tutored in Algebra 2 several times including to my peers, children aged 5-18, and adults.

Business

Currently, I am a Business Administration major with a 4.03 Major GPA. I have been in the program for over a year bad a half. I am excelling in all business classes that I have taken. I tutor my peers in Businesses classes including Financial Accounting, Business Statistics, Business Administration 101, etc. on a daily basis and I could use this experience to tutor anyone else in need.

Economics

I took Macro and Microeconomics in High School. During this time I held a daily tutoring session for my peers who were lagging beyond. I received a 5 on both exams (the highest grade possible) and I was #2 in both Economics classes.

Elementary Math

I love math! My love for math stemmed from the basic, elementary math I learned in grade school. I use this type of math everyday, I help people with this type of math very often, and I keep up to date with my elementary math skills.

Microsoft PowerPoint

I have used Microsoft PowerPoint for years, I have always been the "go to" person when making PowerPoint. My skill in PowerPoint has led me to be certified in PowerPoint.

Microsoft Word

My Microsoft Word experience started at a young age. I have always used and excelled at my Word skills. Recently I became Certified in Microsoft Word.

Needlework

I have been crocheting since my young days as a Girl Scout. I can make a wide range of items. currently I serve on my school's community service board where I have implemented a program to teach my peers how to crochet in order to make items for the homeless during the winter months.

Prealgebra

Throughout my schooling I have taken algebra classes including prealgebra. I love math and I love teaching/tutoring in math even more My strong algebra skills are what has allowed me to further my mathematics career and take classes like statistics and calculus. I have tutored in prealgebra and similar subjects for over 5 years.

SAT Math

I passed the SAT mathematics portion with a 640. Although I know I could have done better because math has always been my strong suit. From simple math to differential equations math is my love and I love to help people in this subject. I am not only good at math I am good at teaching/tutoring in it.

Trigonometry

I learned trigonometry (trig) early in high school. Since then, I have used the skill in advanced math classes such as calculus and I have helped out students who are struggling in Trig. I stay up to date on my Trig skills using a reference sheet that has all functions and identities which I would be glad to share with those who need it.

Hampton University
Business Admin.

Education

Hampton University (Business Admin.)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $25.00

I am very flexible in pricing!

Travel policy

Jamie will travel within 40 miles of Hampton, VA 23669.