Over 50 tutoring hours

Luis C.

Centreville, VA

$32/hr

Tutor for High School Math, and various computer subjects.

In-person lessons
Replies in 8 hours
4.8 Avg. Rating
 
 
20 Ratings
 
 
8hrs Response Time
Very accommodating with scheduling sessions.
— Liz, Fairfax, VA on 5/27/13

Message Luis

Send Luis a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Luis or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

George Mason University
Computer Engineering

Education

George Mason University (Computer Engineering)

About Luis

Hello,

I am a third year student at GMU and a Computer Engineering Major. I have taken several Math classes and I enjoy them very much. I would like to tutor High School level students in Algebra, Precalculus, Prealgebra and any other math subjects. I want to tutor because I enjoy teaching Math. I feel that I have a very good idea as to why students struggle with this subject and I can adapt to the needs of the student. It is very important for me to communicate with the student and find out what he/she is struggling to understand.

I have taken very advanced Maths at this point in my college career, which is where my experience in Math stems from. I also have experience tutoring since I used to tutor kids through my High School. Whenever a parent asked the school for a tutor they would forward them to me. I was able to tutor a wide range of ages (8-16 years old) and subjects at that time. Now that I'm a few years into my college education, I have an even better understanding of more subjects. I would say my strongest subject is Algebra 1 and 2. I find these to be very important Maths, because they will be expanded on in future Math classes. Having a good understanding of Algebra means having an easier time with Pre-Calculus, Calculus, and Linear Algebra throughout college.

I would preferably like to focus on High School Math because I believe that grasping mathematical concepts early in life is the key to understanding much more complicated Maths later on. Also because I have a very firm understanding of these Maths by now, and can teach them in many different ways. I can show the student many different ways to understand the material, so that if they find a certain method confusing, I can explain it to them in a different way. I can also relate certain Math topics to other Math topics. If a student understands a certain topic very well, I will return to that topic when teaching other topics to show the similarity between them and so they feel comfortable with the new material. Similarly I can give them a glimpse of what future Math classes will involve, so that they can be prepared when that time arrives.

I feel most comfortable working with High School students, but I could do some college courses, just ask. I can definitely help prepare for college placement exams. So contact me if you or your child are looking to boost your grade or just get a better understanding of Math.
Hello,

I am a third year student at GMU and a Computer Engineering Major. I have taken several Math classes and I enjoy them very much. I would like to tutor High School level students in
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Centreville, VA 20121
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Very accommodating with scheduling sessions."

- Liz, Fairfax, VA on 5/27/13
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English:
ESL/ESOL, SAT Writing
Computer:
Computer Programming,
Computer Science,
General Computer, Java, JavaScript,
Linux,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math
Business:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, ESL/ESOL, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, GED, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Chess
Corporate Training:
ESL/ESOL, General Computer, Java, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Chess

I have been playing Chess for years. I learned how to play about 10 years ago, but I started playing it seriously about four years ago. I used the Chessmaster Grandmaster edition computer software to learn how to play which was taught by Grandmaster Josh Waitzkin. Since then I've read books, online forums, and articles on how to play the game.

Computer Programming

I graduated from George Mason University with a B.S. in Computer Engineering. My forte is in computer programming, but I'm also well versed in electronics.

Computer Science

I have a B.S. in Computer Engineering. I've always understood fundamental topics of computer science very well.

JavaScript

I have a firm understanding of both Object-Oriented Programming and scripting. JavaScript is a language I picked up myself, and have easily grasped the fundamental concepts of the language. Knowing Python and Java has made it very simple to understand this language.

Linux

I've used a Linux bash terminal extensively and know all of the common commands. I've done some bash scripting for automating sequences of commands. I feel very comfortable on a Linux terminal.

Microsoft Windows

I've used Windows all my life and have a Computer Engineering degree from George Mason University. I've worked for five years at a help desk supporting Windows computers. I have always been able to figure out how to do pretty much anything on a Windows computer.

George Mason University
Computer Engineering

Education

George Mason University (Computer Engineering)

Very accommodating with scheduling sessions. — Luis was able to stay 30 minutes longer, and add an extra day to help in preparation for a big test. ...

— Liz, Fairfax, VA on 5/27/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $32.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Luis will travel within 10 miles of Centreville, VA 20121.

Background Check Status for Luis C.

Luis C. passed a background check on 2/8/13. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Luis, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.