Over 50 tutoring hours

Sherri S.

Burke, VA


Speech/Language Specialist; English as a Second Langauage

In-person lessons
Replies in 5 hours
4.7 Avg. Rating
19 Ratings
5hrs Response Time

Message Sherri

Send Sherri a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sherri or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Pennsylvania State University
Indiania University of Pennsylvania



Pennsylvania State University (Master's)

Indiania University of Pennsylvania (Master's)

About Sherri

I have taught English as a Second Language to all ages and have taught at Northern Virginia Community College. I have a background in Speech/Language Therapy and have worked with a variety of learning disabilities, reading difficulties, and head trauma. I love working with children of all ages. My strength is finding creative ways to engage students.

My Master's Degree is in Speech Pathology. I am looking to work in the Burke, Springfield, Woodbridge area. I work with adults as well as children. I also teach poetry workshops locally and have published towo books of poetry.
I have taught English as a Second Language to all ages and have taught at Northern Virginia Community College. I have a background in Speech/Language Therapy and have worked Read more

8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Burke, VA 22015
In-person lessons
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking, Reading, SAT Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
ESL/ESOL, Sign Language,
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Dyslexia, Hard Of Hearing,
Special Needs
Career Development, Public Speaking
Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL, Reading, SAT Reading, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Career Development, SAT Reading, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Career Development, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Public Speaking, Sign Language

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


As a speech language therapist I have worked in private practices with students who have ADD/ADHD. I have worked with children as well as adults. I always also work on organizational skills when I have a student with ADD/ADHD.


I am an experienced Speech Pathologist who has worked with children and adults with Aspergers. My focus has been on organization skills, reading, writing and improving overall communication skills. I have a very positive reinforcement approach that approaches tasks in small increments with repetition to aid the student and retain the information.


As a speech pathologist I have worked in many settings with autistic children and young adults over the last twenty years. I worked with autistic children at Eastern State School and Hospital in Langhorne, Pa and we innovated new programming that included psychologists, movement and music therapists and speech pathologists.

I have also worked with autistic children when I did therapy for a private practice and in school settings.

I believe in a multi-modality approach with autistic children and involving family members as much as possible.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have my Master's Degree in Speech Pathology ad have worked with children with learning disabilities(autism, ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, reading disabilities, articulation and ESL). I have taught reading to elementary school kids when I worked for Educational Connections and NOVA Star Prep as a tutor. I have also taught ESL reading to children. I have done poetry workshops with children and adults through Fairfax County. I have tutored kids with reading, writing and speaking difficulties. I have also helped elementary students with homework in all subjects including history, as well. I have tutored students this age for roughly 4 years.

Hard Of Hearing

My Bachelor's degree is in Deaf Education which includes working with hearing impaired students. I have worked at the House Ear Institute with the clinical trials of the Cochlear Implant. I have worked with hearing impaired students inside the classroom and in home tutoring. I have taught reading, writing, articulation and organizational skills to my hearing impaired students. I have a positive approach working in small increments that helps my students retain information and feel positive about what we skills we are working on. I also know some basic sign language skills.

Sign Language

My Bachelor's degree in Deaf Education. I studied sign language in college and took a course as well at Gallaudet University.

Last year I took a refresher course at NVCC- Annandale. I still consider myself an intermediate signer but have taught sign language lessons locally and can certainly teach a beginner.


My Masters Degree is in Speech Pathology. I have worked at Northern Virginia Community College teaching Speaking and Listening including Pronunciation. I have also worked with visiting Korean students on reading, writing and speaking skills.

Study Skills

I have tutored students with ADD/ADHD on organizational and study skills. My background is in Speech Pathology and organizational skills are always part of my tutoring sessions.

Pennsylvania State University
Indiania University of Pennsylvania



Pennsylvania State University (Master's)

Indiania University of Pennsylvania (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Sherri will travel within 5 miles of Burke, VA 22015.

Background Check Status for Sherri S.

Sherri S. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sherri, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.