Over 100 tutoring hours

Julia M.

Burke, VA


Patient, Willing Tutor for Lower Level Education

Replies in 16 hours
4.9 Avg. Rating
19 Ratings
16hrs Response Time
Excellent Tutor!
— Harun, Mc Lean, VA on 6/3/14

Message Julia

Send Julia a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Julia or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

George Mason University
Biomed Engineering


George Mason University (Biomed Engineering)

About Julia


My name is Julia. I graduated from Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria 2012 with a 3.6 GPA and received a merit scholarship for the four years I attended. I am currently enrolled in George Mason University and majoring in Biomedical Engineering with a minor in English. I currently have a 2.85 GPA within the Engineering school and have held a leadership position within my sorority for the past two years and am involved in an on-campus women's engineering society. I have been tutoring elementary and middle school aged children from my local area for 4+ years in subjects including math, English, and science. So far, I have been successful with all who have come for help. I have tutored children of all learning levels, including those with ADD. Aside from tutoring, I have been babysitting for over five years, and have worked with developmentally and mentally disabled children. I am willing to take on any challenge presented and am confident that I will be able to help.

I look forward to meeting you and hope I can be of help!

My name is Julia. I graduated from Bishop Ireton High School in Alexandria 2012 with a 3.6 GPA and received a merit scholarship for the four years I attended. I am currently enrolled in George Mason University and majoring in Biomedical Engineering with a minor in
Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Burke, VA 22015

"Excellent Tutor!"

- Harun, Mc Lean, VA on 6/3/14

"A Great Tutor with People Skills Too!"

- Tammie, Fairfax, VA on 1/16/13
Algebra 1,
Differential Equations,
Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing,
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math,
Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Algebra 1,
Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

Since middle school, I have taken a great interest in math and have always taken the accelerated classes. I am currently taking calculus 1 and have a good foundation in the basic algebras. It is one of my favorite subjects, and I have so far been successful in helping younger students to understand the concepts associated with this level of math.


I have played basketball for eight years. I played on my elementary school's CYO girls basketball team from 5th to 8th grade, played AAU travel basketball from 7th to 9th grade, and played on my high school's girls basketball team from 9th grade to 11th grade. I played point guard on first the freshman team, then the JV team. I also participated in spring and summer seasons associated with my high school. I am very familiar with the strategies and rules associated with the game.

Differential Equations

This past semester I completed Math 214 at George Mason University which was Differential Equations. From two midterms and a final examination I achieved an overall grade of a B. I believe I have a strong core understanding of the concepts and have scored well on my exams to prove this. I have also acted as a tutor this past semester for others in my class to help them better understand concepts and scored well above the average grade mentioned by my professor.

Elementary Math

I have a good foundation in the basics of math and have always taken accelerated mathematics. Because the elementary level includes the basics that you must always use for higher levels, I have become especially familiar with it.


I have always been a strong English student, and have always taken Honors or AP classes in it. I scored a 4 on my AP English exam in my senior year of high school, and have read many of the classics and novels that are usually required for any English class. I did well on the reading/writing portion of my SAT, and believe that I will be able to effectively help anyone who is in need of English tutoring.


Being home schooled for a few years during elementary school, there was a big focus on grammar. I have learned the proper ways to diagram sentences, identify different types of words, and when/why to use certain forms of different words.


Through taking AP English in high school, I have read and analyzed many books and have a new understanding for the elements of a novel. I do read in my spare time and apply what I have learned to gain a greater understanding of whatever I am reading.


Throughout high school and my first semester of college, I have proofread and corrected many of my peers' essays and papers. In my AP senior English class, which was mostly focused on writing, I achieved a grade of an A. Many people have come to me for proofreading and correction, and I have always been able to be of assistance.


I have taken 3 semesters worth of Python programming during my undergrad schooling. I have completed many projects and have fine tuned my schools for this program, and have continued to use the coding skills in my other classes.

SAT Writing

From an SAT prep class I took, I learned some very helpful key points that enable anyone to write a great essay on this section. I scored very well on the writing portion, and know how to help another based on my class.


I believe the main way to become proficient with vocabulary is through proper study skills. I have learned tricks and skills that will be of help in order to help learn and teach this.

George Mason University
Biomed Engineering


George Mason University (Biomed Engineering)

Excellent Tutor! — Julia is an excellent tutor. Julia has done an excellent job working with our son and daughter to prepare for their SAT test (Math and English). My daughter and son enjoy her sessions and have gained confidence/skills and improved SAT scores. I would recommend her to parents who want to see their children excel in their study. ...

— Harun, Mc Lean, VA on 6/3/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Julia will travel within 10 miles of Burke, VA 22015.

Background Check Status for Julia M.

Julia M. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Julia, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.