Search

Jake B.

Sandy, UT

$35/hour

Experienced, Math, Spec. Needs, Test Prep, Tutor

20+ Hours
5.0 average from 15 ratings
Knowledgeable and strategic tutor
— Jason, Draper, UT on 2/26/17

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Jake will reply soon.

Response time: 8 hours

Contact Jake

University of Utah
B.S. Economics
Florida Insitute of Technology Applied Behavioral Analysis
Master's

Education

University of Utah (B.S. Economics)

Florida Insitute of Technology Applied Behavioral Analysis (Master's)

About Jake

I have been tutoring for just over 9 years. My tutoring style is tailored to fit each of my client's individual learning styles. My ability to quickly assess how best to teach each client based on how they best learn is what I would consider to be my greatest strength.
I approach each new client with the initial goal of increasing their overall confidence. I do this mainly by incorporating into their tutoring as many incremental successes as possible. I feel the importance of doing this cannot be overstated. Through my experience, I have come to realize the enormous role confidence plays in both learning, as well as then applying what one has learned on tests, assignments, etc. Additionally, as each clients confidence increases the overall effectiveness and efficiency of each tutoring session greatly increases. Finally, I feel this helps to ensure lasting results that also carry over into all areas of their schooling.

Prior to the 9 years I have tutored, I received my Bachelor's degree in Economics, and had a career in
Finance. I have a very broad knowledge base in Finance and related fields. Due to a serious injury I was forced to take a year off of work and ended up going back to school where I earned my Master's Degree in Applied Behavioral Analysis. I had previous experience working for many years with children and adults with special needs, and I went back to work as a Behavioral Specialist. I had the privilege of, along with the Director of the program, setting up the first After School Autism Program (ASAP). I have also worked with parents in their homes, setting up programs and Behavior Plans for their children with special needs.

For the past 9+ years I have worked with clients of all ages, however the majority have been college students or students who are seniors in high school transitioning to college. I have my own private tutoring company separate from this website where I work primarily with recovering addicts, individuals with various mental health disorders, and learning disorders. I tutor all subjects except art and foreign languages. I have tutored around 200 different college courses, along with working with clients on executive functioning skils, organizational skills, etc. By far I tutor math courses the most. After math I tutor 4 areas more than all the others. These would, be Finance and Economics, Test preparation, such as th ACT, SAT, GRE, ASVAB, and the Series 7, along with many others. The other two would be the Sciences and Writing. There are many other subjects I tutor as well.
Finally, I would just like to say that my passion, and commitment to each of my client's success is unmatched.
I have been tutoring for just over 9 years. My tutoring style is tailored to fit each of my client's individual learning styles. My ability to quickly assess how best to teach each client based on how they best learn is what I would consider to be my greatest strength.
I approach each new client with the initial goal of increasing their
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Sandy, UT 84093

"Knowledgeable and strategic tutor"

- Jason, Draper, UT on 2/26/17

"Very Knowledgeable and Flexible"

- Mike, Salt Lake City, UT on 11/23/16
Jake replied on 11/25/2016

Thanks, I appreciate the positive feedback. It is great working with you.

Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, GED, Geometry, GRE, Prealgebra, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Astronomy, Biology, Elementary Science, Microbiology, Philosophy, Physical Science, Physiology, Psychology
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Series 7
Language:
Reading, Writing
History:
American History, Government & Politics, Writing
Special Needs:
ADHD,
Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD),
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading, Study Skills
Elementary Education:
ADHD,
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary, Writing
Business:
Economics, Finance, GRE, Law, Series 7,
Writing
Sports/Recreation:
Basketball,
Martial Arts

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ADHD

More than half of the students I have tutored over the past 8 years have been diagnosed with ADD/ADHD. I have extensive experience working with clients on executive function and organizational skills as it pertains to their schooling and to other life skills. I also have a considerable amount of knowledge and experience working with getting students the neccessary disability resource accomadations they may need such as extra time taking tests with minimal distractions. My graduate degree is also in applied behavioral analysis,and I worked as a behavioral specialist with many clients who has been diagnosed with ADD/ADHD. Currently, I am working with 6 different individuals that have been diagnosed with ADD/ADHD.

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

I worked with individuals with Autism for over 13 years. I was a behavioral specialist for most of this time. I have my graduate degree on applied behavioral analysis. I was responsible along with the director for setting up an after school program for individuals with Autism. I worked there for several years and it is still in existence today. I also worked with individuals with Autism and the professional parents whom they lived with. I set up behavior plans for them that often included plans involving their schooling and homework and would help implement these plans. Finally, about 20% of the individuals I currently tutor fall somewhere on the Autism spectrum.

Basketball

I have been playing basketball my whole life. (Other than my sophomore-senior years in high school due to a serious back injury.) I began with Jr. Jazz in 2nd grade and then in the 3rd grade I began playing super league and then AAU as well. In 7th and 8th grade I played for the middle school teams for Brighton's A & if time allowed B team. I also played for the 7th and 8th grade teams for the middle school teams for Skyline, Cottonwood, Granite, and Churchill. In addition, when my schedule allowed I played for a regular Jr. Jazz team and A church ball team when I was allowed to. Then in 9th grade, freshman year, I played for Butler Middle School's team.(which along with Albion's team was essentially the freshman team for Brighton. Most every other team we played just had one team for their high school.) We went undefeated and won the State championship. I started for that team, and everyone of the starts along with the person who was my back up started at Brighton and won the State Championship. I also played Roundball Ruckus 2 years and Hoop it up 2 years and my team won our bracket all 4 times. Additionally, before my back injury I refereed basketball, and before and after I coached several teams. I have a very thorough understanding of the game, and was fortunate enough to have excellent coaches starting at a young age. I have helped players work on every aspect of their game from shooting to dribbling to defense to strength training and more.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been tutoring elementary students for over 8 years. I have tutored many clients in elementary math from the 1st grade through the 6th. I have tutored clients in the 2nd though 6th grade in elementary sciences. Additionally, I have tutored clients in grades 1st through 6th in either one or more of the following subjects at the same time: reading, grammar, spelling, and vocabulary. I am certified to tutor elementary math, elementary science, grammar, reading, spelling, and vocabulary. Additionally, I have volunteered at my children's elementary school on numerous occasions where I assisted both kindergarten and 1st grade students in both math and reading. I have also tutored many elementary students to help improve their study skills, organizational skills, and executive function skills. I feel I am able to build an extremely great rapport with students of all ages, and pride myself in being an extremely patient tutor, who enjoys helping students improve their academic performance in any and all of the above mentioned subjects. Finally, my goal is to do so in a manner that will benefit them both now, as well as throughout the rest of their schooling, while at the same time improving their confidence in their own academic abilities.

Martial Arts

I have an extensive background in Martial Arts. I have spent more than one year training in the following: Karate, Kickboxing, Muay Thai, Jiu-jitsu, Boxing, Wrestling, Greco-Roman Wrestling, Judo, Traing with special forces and several years experience training with the top Mixed Martial Artists in the country including being sparing partners Matt Hughes and Jeremy Horn.
I have also taken Hapkido, Aikdo, Tae-kwon-do, Tai Chi, Krav Magra and several others.

Series 7

I am qualified to tutor for this exam because I have taken and passed it with a 97% which is extremely high considering one must get a 70% to pass and the average passing score is only 72%. (This % only includes those who scored above a 70%.) I also worked as a financial adviser for several years. Finally, I have tutored numerous people preparing for this exam.

Study Skills

During my 8+ years as a full-time tutor, about 3/4 of my clients have met with me either exclusively for working on study skills, or for help in a specific subject along with working on their study skills. I have found that for many of the clients I have met with, study skills, organizational skills, help with executive functioning skills, etc. are the most important areas I am able to help them with. I realize that I can always help someone learn enough to pass their class or courses during a given semester. However, I feel it is much more important that I give them the tools they need to help them stay organized and on top of their school work, as well as how to navigate through the remainder of their schooling.

Writing

I have tutored many clients in several different college Writing/English courses. Additionally, I have helped tutor clients at the high school level. I actually first tutored students in English back when I was in college. My professor from my previous English course offered to give me an A if instead of doing the writing assignments I just helped other students improve their writing skills.

University of Utah
B.S. Economics
Florida Insitute of Technology Applied Behavioral Analysis
Master's

Education

University of Utah (B.S. Economics)

Florida Insitute of Technology Applied Behavioral Analysis (Master's)

Knowledgeable and strategic tutor

Jake reviewed the math section of the ACT and helped my daughter with strategy of how to better prepare for the test. To help her review and master certain types of questions, they went over math questions that she will encounter during the test. He also gave her practice tests that she could study on her own. Jake is very helpful, productive and knowledgeable in helping prepare for the math s

— Jason, Draper, UT on 2/26/17

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jake will travel within 10 miles of Sandy, UT 84093.