Over 100 tutoring hours

D. D.

Waco, TX

$21/hr

Certified Teacher in Spanish and Mathematics-College Spanish preferred

Replies in 17 hours
Background check passed as of 5/12/13
4.4 Avg. Rating
 
 
14 Ratings
 
 
17hrs Response Time
I would highly recommend this a tutor!
— Lauren, Hewitt, TX on 8/10/15

Message D.

Send D. a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed D. or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Texas, Austin

Education

University of Texas, Austin

About D.

I am a certified teacher in Spanish and mathematics.

I wish to be your tutor and apply my knowledge, skills and expertise to help you with your learning goals, whether it be simply getting homework finished correctly, improving knowledge, grades, or confidence in a subject, studying for a test, studying college algebra or trigonometry, or studying Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, or English on your own, outside of a classroom. I prefer to tutor college level Spanish, but I can tutor first year Portuguese and Italian.

I have a Bachelor's degree in Spanish. I have two semesters worth of experience tutoring and I have a teacher's certificate for teaching Spanish grades 8 - 12. I have one year's worth of experience student teaching in a high school Spanish classroom, and I have been a paid Math tutor at a local high school.

I have one semester's experience tutoring college level Spanish online using Skype, and another semester's experience tutoring Spanish at the post-baccalaureate college level, face-to-face. I completed one year of student teaching in the subject of Spanish, in obtaining my teacher certification in Spanish, and I also have a Bachelor's in Spanish.

I majored in mathematics for a time in college, before changing my major to Spanish. I was originally going to double major in these two subjects. I recently graduated with a BA in Spanish a couple of years ago, and just now completed a Teacher Certification program having obtained a certification in Spanish, Math 4-12, and ESL, and before I start teaching next fall, I would like to practice my teaching skills by tutoring you or your student in math or Spanish.

I have a degree in Spanish, so for Spanish, I am able to tutor at all levels: kids, adults, college students or adults learning Spanish on their own. I can do high school Spanish, AP Spanish test preparation, beginner-level college freshman or sophomore Spanish courses, or 3rd or 4th year advanced Spanish grammar, phonetics or linguistics courses, etc. but all I ask is to avoid literature classes. Poetry and literature are not my favorite in any language, but I love and am capable of tutoring in everything else, including conducting my own Spanish class for adults who are not enrolled in a Spanish course who would like to use me as their own private “language school.”

In math I can tutor adult students in non-credit, developmental college math courses at the algebra 1 or algebra 2 level. Some students in these classes say they are in college algebra. College algebra is a credit class that comes after completing remedial algebra I and algebra II college classes. I will be adding availability to tutor students in college algebra and other college level math courses like Calculus, Trigonometry, and Precalculus in the future as soon as I have a chance to review some more mathematics to refresh my skills in these subjects at this level.

I am an expert tutor of algebra I and II level math, whether in grades 9 - 12 or in college developmental math classes, as well as GED math or SAT 1 and ACT test-prep mathematics, or math on the ASVAB. I will be adding statistics very soon.

When I took the SAT, I scored in the top 6% nationwide, and in the top 4% for the state. (1360 out of 1600 points).
When I took the SAT I scored 670 out of 800 on the math section, and on the ACT’s math section, I scored 28 out of 36. I also tutored in college for one semester in a math related subject, accounting. When I started college, I was eligible to start directly at the calculus level, and I chose precalculus. I skipped college algebra and trigonometry, but I would like to tutor in these subjects soon. So I was never required to take a college algebra course in college. In college, I took precalculus, statistics and I completed the entire college calculus sequence, as well as several other math courses, and I got all A’s in the math at this level, except for one B in a calculus course and a C in discrete math, the first mathematical "theory" class that is of the type that mathematicians take.

I am qualified to teach or tutor at the college freshman level of Italian and Portuguese, as I sampled a few classes in these languages in college, and I currently test at the beginning advanced level in these languages. In Spanish, in contrast, I can tutor up to the post-graduate level as I have a BA in Spanish and a teacher certification in Spanish.

In addition, I am interested in teaching English as a second language or in tutoring the above mentioned math topics in Spanish.
I am a certified teacher in Spanish and mathematics.

I wish to be your tutor and apply my knowledge, skills and expertise to help you with your learning goals, whether it be simply getting homework finished
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
16 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Waco, TX 76706
Background Check: Passed

"I would highly recommend this a tutor!"

- Lauren, Hewitt, TX on 8/10/15
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math, Finite Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus,
Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, IELTS, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary
Science:
ACT Science, Anthropology, Biology, Physical Science, Physics
Computer:
Computer Science, General Computer, HTML, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Language:
ESL/ESOL, French, German, IELTS, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish,
TOEFL
History:
American History, Anthropology, Classics, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Music History, Political Science, Social Studies, World History
Music:
Music History
Elementary Education:
Common Core, Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Dyslexia
Business:
Career Development, GMAT, GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Tax Preparation
Homeschool:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Biology, Calculus, Elementary (K-6th), English, ESL/ESOL, French, Geometry, Physics, Prealgebra, Precalculus,
Reading, SAT Math, SAT Reading, Spanish,
Statistics
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, ASVAB, Career Development, Common Core, GED, GMAT, GRE, IELTS, ISEE, LSAT, Praxis,
PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, SSAT, STAAR,
TAKS, TOEFL
Corporate Training:
Career Development, ESL/ESOL, French, General Computer, German, GMAT, Grammar, HTML, Italian, Latin, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Portuguese, Spanish,
Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Praxis

I am already a certified teacher, having taken and passed many `Praxis` or teacher certification exams, such as the TExES series. I have already tutored a student in a `Praxis` test, under the category of Spanish, for the TExES Spanish teacher certification exams for the LOTE (Languages Other Than English) exam and the BTLP exam (Bilingual Target Language Proficiency exam), which is the Spanish exam for Bilingual certification. Also, I myself have already taken and passed such `Praxis` tests as the TExES PPR EC-12, which is for general education practices and instructional methods, knowledge and skills for grades EC and K-12, the TExES LOTE Spanish test, grades EC-12, the ESL exam for grades EC-12 ESL certification, and the two Math `Praxis` Exams for TX math certification, the TExES Math grades 4-8 and Math for grades 8-12. I have taken and passed these tests and then added their respective certification categories to my current, valid Texas teaching certificate/license.

Precalculus

In college, I got a grade of 'A' in Precalculus, as well as all 'A's except one 'B' in all the Calculus courses in the full college Calculus sequence before the level requiring proofs.

Spanish

Bachelor's in Spanish, Language Teaching Option from University of TX, Austin.
27 credit hours in Spanish from UT at the Junior and Senior levels.
Current valid Teaching Certificate for high school Spanish.
1 year student teaching in high school Spanish classrooms.
Have already helped a Spanish student pass in an online college Spanish class by tutoring the student online over Skype for the entire semester.

STAAR

I have a BA degree and a Valid Teacher's Certificate in my state, TX. I am already qualified on this website to tutor in ACT English. Although the STAAR English and ACT English tests are different, both are for high school level English. The ACT English may be at a higher level than the STAAR test, as the STAAR is for various levels and the ACT English is an exit level English test. By virtue of my possessing a BA degree, I have already passed college level classes in English and composition/rhetoric. As a currently certified teacher, I know where to find standards for teaching English on the state websites and even where to obtain free STAAR practice tests for English at various grade levels in my state. I have been a high school tutor before, paid by a school district (although it was not for English).

University of Texas, Austin

Education

University of Texas, Austin

I would highly recommend this a tutor! — I never used Wyzant or any tutoring website, but was out of good options and struggling to pass my LOTE and Bilingual certification exams. I tried other options including TExES resources, Regional Service Center resources, web searched everywhere I could for suggestions, took practice tests and in the end none were really helpful. I made As in college and my teacher training, but still struggle ...

— Lauren, Hewitt, TX on 8/10/15

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $21.00

Cancellation: 16 hours notice required

Travel policy

D. will travel within 40 miles of Waco, TX 76706.

Background Check Status for D. D.

D. D. passed a background check on 5/12/13. The check was ordered by D. through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to D., you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.