Search

Kelsie C.

San Marcos, TX

$35/hour

Graduate English Tutor

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Kelsie will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Kelsie

Texas State University
English

Education

Texas State University (English)

About Kelsie

Hello! I am a recent graduate from Texas State University; I received my BA in English with a minor in women's studies. I enjoy reading, writing, proofreading, editing, etc. They are my passions, which is why I have decided to try out formal tutoring. I plan to get my teaching certification in the future, I am passionate about helping younger students reach their academic goals in the English language. I have tutored my nieces and nephews as well as a few of my peers but this is the first attempt to tutor formally and with pay. I'm willing to tutor all age groups, from elementary to high school seniors. I received the highest level mark on my Written section of the SAT and passed the other English portion with flying colors - so I'm willing to help with SAT preparation as well.

I excel in grammar, proofreading, writing, reading, and anything else revolving around English courses you take from first grade until the end of college. As I am a graduate, I have experience with every level.

I am passionate about this opportunity to help young minds be successful in their English academics. Please contact me with any questions or concerns, I will reply usually within the hour - no longer than 24 on busy days.
Hello! I am a recent graduate from Texas State University; I received my BA in English with a minor in women's studies. I enjoy reading, writing, proofreading, editing, etc. They are my passions, which is why I have decided to try out formal tutoring. I plan to get my teaching certification in the future, I am passionate about helping younger Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of San Marcos, TX 78666
Language:
Reading,
Writing
History:
Writing
Special Needs:
Reading
Elementary Education:
Grammar,
Reading,
Spelling,
Vocabulary,
Writing
Business:
Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

English

I am a graduate from Texas State University and my major was in English. I also have experience in tutoring. Lastly, I am able to explain the reasons behind why you would choose one word over another word, the differences in spelling of words that are pronounced the same, etc.

Grammar

I have tutored my own peers in Grammar regularly. I like to explain to those I am advising the difference in words, why one fits better than the other. I like to explain the meaning of like words so that it is easier for a student to distinguish the right answer on their own.

Proofreading

I proofread regularly in HS and my college career.

Reading

I have received my BA in English; I have not only personal experience with reading but higher education and professional. Reading is also a hobby as well as a passion.

Spelling

Spelling is one of the keys to succeeding in the English language. No one is perfect, we make our mistakes here and there as that is natural. As someone who dedicated my higher education career to receiving my BA in English, I have mastered spelling to a great ability.

Vocabulary

Vocabulary is essential to success in the field of English. A well rounded vocabulary also sets you apart in career fields. I practice expanding my vocabulary daily, and have a broader vocabulary after attending college as well.

Writing

While receiving my BA in English I received extensive training and experience in writing. Writing is also a passion and hobby of mine, I have been writing since middle school. I passed every writing portion of TAKS, Benchmark, and SAT tests with the highest score possible. I also have never received lower than a B(+) on any papers in my higher level courses as an undergraduate majoring in English.

Texas State University
English

Education

Texas State University (English)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kelsie will travel within 30 miles of San Marcos, TX 78666.