Over 100 tutoring hours

Rachel B.

Montgomery, TX


Algebra and other various subjects in problem solving & testing

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 12/7/11
5.0 average from 72 ratings
Great work!
— Phillip, Montgomery, TX on 2/14/13

Message Rachel

Send Rachel a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Rachel or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 16 hours
Replies in 16 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Houston
Sam Houston State University
Houston University of Phoenix


University of Houston

Sam Houston State University (Master's)

Houston University of Phoenix (Master's)

About Rachel

I am a highly qualified teacher in area of Math, English Language Arts, and Science. I am a certified teacher in History and Special Education. I have recently made a decision to be a stay home Mom and work part-time. I have extensive experience in assisting students problem solve, increase reading and math skills, as well as test taking strategies.

I wrote the the curriculum in math for students in Special Education for a local large District. As well as developed the TAKS Intervention program that was created for at-risk population.

I am also a certified Principal in the State of Texas and has worked as a Case Manager, Dept Chair as well as Team Leader.
I am a highly qualified teacher in area of Math, English Language Arts, and Science. I am a certified teacher in Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Montgomery, TX 77356
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great work!"

- Phillip, Montgomery, TX on 2/14/13

"Fantastic and very patient tutor!"

- Brenda, Spring, TX on 9/14/11
ACT Math, Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Trigonometry
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Reading, Vocabulary
Philosophy, Psychology
American History, European History, Social Studies,
World History
Art History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Study Skills,
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Dyslexia, Phonics,
Special Needs
Career Development, GRE
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2, Calculus, Elementary (K-6th),
English, ESL/ESOL,
Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading, SAT Math, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
ACT Math, Career Development, GRE, SAT Math, TAKS
Corporate Training:
Career Development, ESL/ESOL,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I specialize in increasing skill sets with students who struggle with abstract and algebraic concepts.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am Certified EC-12 & Principal Certified in all grade levels. I wrote the Math Curriculum for self contained classes for HS students who were working 3 years and more below academic standards. I utilized my knowledge of all Math TEKS (grade level) applied them with various applicable concepts.

I have taught children of all ages.


I have experience teaching student English as a Second Language. I recently worked for Compass USA and taught English on various levels to Foreign Chinese Exchange Students for a face paced 2 week program.

I have also taken numerous classes/training as a teacher in Cy-Fair to be prepared for all students in my classroom.

In my last graduate program, part of my specialization was working with ELLs and adapting curriculum to meet their needs.


I taught high school reading for students in Special Education for two years with variety of skill levels (preK-8th). I utilized games, as well as reviewed the rules of phonics to help high school students improve reading skills on grade level.

The best approach was to use grade level material and assist students by using the rules to read/comprehend multi-syllabic words.

Social Studies

I taught World History for 5 years and am a Certified History Teacher in the State of Texas.

Special Needs

I am a Certified Teacher in Special Education for the State of Texas. I have a Masters Degree, with a Specialization in Special Populations (ESL, At-Risk, Poverty, and Special Ed).

I was a Case Manager for 3 years and a Behavior Specialist for one year. I have worked as a Department Chair as well as a Team Leader over the Special Education Department.

I wrote the Resource Math Curriculum for a large district in Houston area.

Study Skills

During the time I was working on my first Master's in Education, I developed an Intervention program for at-risk students focused on Learning Styles & Study Skills. The program was a success and became the model for the school district.

Since than, I have continued to work with students by creating individual study-skill plans. I focus on students' strengths, organization, and the ability to generalize the learned skills.

University of Houston
Sam Houston State University
Houston University of Phoenix


University of Houston

Sam Houston State University (Master's)

Houston University of Phoenix (Master's)

Great work! — My son is very comfortable with Rachel. She is patient with him. It's important to me that he is comfortable with his tutor and that he can ask any questions. It helps that she can explain the importance of school and it's good that he hears this from a person other than his dad. Great work! ...

— Phillip, Montgomery, TX on 2/14/13

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $50.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Rachel will travel within 5 miles of Montgomery, TX 77356.

Background Check Status for Rachel B.

Rachel B. passed a background check on 12/7/11. The check was ordered by another user through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Rachel, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.