Jennifer D.

Italy, TX


International Expert with Fun and Engaging Personality

In-person lessons
Replies in 18 hours

Message Jennifer

Send Jennifer a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Jennifer or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of North Texas


University of North Texas

About Jennifer

I am so excited! If you are a student, I want you to know that I understand what it is like to misunderstand a topic, feel like you're the only one and have parents who may not be able to help. Personally, I had my brother sometimes when growing up but when I lost him I realized how important it was to have someone to talk to about things like this.

If you're a parent, know that I understand how different each child is and your child is no different. I look forward to getting to know the things that make them special and how to apply this to their learning, whether it's academia or athletics and whether it pertains to simply a difficulty or improvements to their education!

I am so excited! If you are a student, I want you to know that I understand what it is like to misunderstand a topic, feel like you're the only one and have parents who may not be able to help. Personally, I had my brother sometimes when growing up but when I lost him I realized how important it was to have someone to talk to about things like Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Italy, TX 76651
In-person lessons
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Geometry, Linear Algebra, Logic, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics
Bible Studies,
English, Grammar,
Literature, Proofreading, Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Anthropology, Physiology, Sociology
General Computer, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Photography
Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Government & Politics, Political Science, Religion,
World History
Music Theory, Salsa Dancing
Ballroom Dancing, Cosmetology, Drawing, Photography, Salsa Dancing
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th), Elementary Math, Grammar,
Phonics, Reading,
Study Skills, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Phonics
Accounting, Business, Career Development, Marketing, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Accounting, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary (K-6th), English, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Reading,
SAT Math, SAT Reading, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Ballroom Dancing, Cooking,
Salsa Dancing,
Tango, Track & Field, Volleyball,
Corporate Training:
Accounting, Business, Career Development, Cosmetology, Criminal Justice, General Computer, Grammar,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Networking (Computer), Proofreading, Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Bible Studies

It is difficult to claim an expertise on such a dense piece of literature. The help I can confidently offer is on study skills that help for the 4 languages, ancient culture, and various structures in context. My experience extends beyond what may be a common claim of belief or disbelief from childhood. I am an academic, and frankly, very good and working with others through this body of work--word by word. We will work when we work together.


With more than 13 years in all aspects of the wellness industry I have used my expertise with international cultures, nutrition counseling, personal training, group fitness, and creative food engineering to do many things Of all my services, food preparation is one of my favorite focuses. Below are my specialties. I can proudly say that I have facilitated, taught, led support groups and individually coached in all of the topics below: Bachelors, Single-women, Working Couples, Busy Families

Some of my specialties are: Raw, Vegan, Gluten-free, Minimal soy, Heirloom local produce, High quality meat, Extracted smoothies, And more.


I have been a group fitness instructor for nearly a decade. What I like about this form is that I can give individual attention to an entire group as they progress together. Yet as a personal trainer, the relationship becomes even more intimate. To date, my favorite exercise program of all that I offer is the "at home" exercise program. It's exciting to think of all that you can do with a cup, ball, chair, or couch!


For years, I have been an undercover grammar and syntax tutor as a book editor. Novels, like the two I edited, are filled with colloquium and narrative which challenge grammar to its core. The authors of these books continue to enjoy playful language lessons, which means that their writing and speech have improved (How is that for teaching 'an old dog new tricks'?).

Finally, my greatest pride is within the perpetually new insights I have gained as a linguist. Because English is such a collection of other languages, being multilingual has made sense of it all. For more than eight years, I have amazed myself with the things I can teach through language. I can't wait to learn show much more as a WyzAnt tutor!


As a student, there was so much to learn and my mom encouraged it. We visited bookstores weekly and read as much as we found. The issue, which lead me to you, is that I have always been a very slow reader. School systems don't work like this. Now they are increasingly impatient with learning since, the work load encourages something much more different than my family cultivated. I want to introduce you and your family to the environment that my mother gave me. Hopefully, this loving and creative method, along with extensive knowledge of the school districts will be of use to you in your future.


As an international studies professional, I have studied religions from around the world. Personally, I have been a member of eastern and western religions. My favorite theology is sociology of religion. As a linguist and tutor, I most often teach religious languages. It seems that the easiest way for a person to understand a religion is to view it through their own experiences, which is why I love using ancient religious stories.

Salsa Dancing

Having worked in the Latin community for more than 7 years, I stumbled upon an expertise in salsa and Latin dancing. Yes, I have a background in dance generally, but my intensive time in these communities and personal Latin heritage have created an especially unique talent for teaching techniques. I've taught from emotional commands, technical demands and much more! Let's dance!


While I have played volleyball for approximately 9 years, I have individually coached numerous adults and children. My training and experience with sports medicine has really helped safe guard participants from injury. Currently, I like teaching young teenagers as they have a patience that aids in leadership development, believe it or not!

University of North Texas


University of North Texas

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Jennifer will travel within 40 miles of Italy, TX 76651.

Background Check Status for Jennifer D.

Jennifer D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Jennifer, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.