Over 300 tutoring hours

Marta M.

Irving, TX


Elementary Montessori Teacher

In-person lessons
Replies in 10 hours
Background check passed as of 12/15/13
4.7 Avg. Rating
29 Ratings
10hrs Response Time
Very patient and approachable
— Cederia, Irving, TX on 6/13/11

Message Marta

Send Marta a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Marta or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Spring Hill College


Spring Hill College (Biology)

About Marta

I have over 25 years of classroom experience, being the lead teacher in Montessori classes of 15-27 multilevel elementary students. I have also tutored many children and several adults, from special needs to TAG, preK through 12th grade, mostly in math. I can help children overcome difficulties or maintain their edge in reading and math understanding as well as help them handle various science courses. I am willing to travel nearby, and meet in your home or at a public library.

For younger students, I have some basic Montessori teaching material, and I am certified by the American Montessori Society for teaching ages 3-12. I am available on Saturdays and most Sunday afternoons. I have been tutoring through WyzAnt for over 3 years, with students ranging from 5 to 18 years of age.
I have over 25 years of classroom experience, being the lead teacher in Montessori classes of 15-27 multilevel elementary students. I have also tutored many children and several adults, from special needs to TAG, preK through 12th grade, mostly in Read more

Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Irving, TX 75060
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Very patient and approachable"

- Cederia, Irving, TX on 6/13/11
Algebra 1,
Geometry, Prealgebra
Reading, Vocabulary
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Phonics,
Reading, Vocabulary
Special Needs:
Algebra 1,
Elementary (K-6th),
Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

I happen to love math and teaching it to others. I have taught Algebra to students ranging in age from 12 to adults, having experience with students with learning differences, adults preparing for various exams, and students who just want to keep their edge in the area.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taught in a Montessori Class for over 20 years. The classes consisted of at least 3 grades, and I taught most subjects in the curriculum, except for PE, Spanish, and art. I had to manage the classroom, teach some group and mostly individual lessons, correct student work, motivate students to complete their assignments, and keep track of at least 3 different grades' progress simultaneously. Report cards and parent conferences were 2 or 3 times per year, but extra conferences were welcome at any time. I tutored children after school in math, reading, phonics, science, and English.


I am certified by The American Montessori Society to teach children ages 3-12, in the basic curriculum. This includes teaching phonics and reading to all children in this age group. About 90% of children in my class were reading in kindergarten, and 100% by first grade. As well, I have experience tutoring children with learning differences, and have succeeded in helping them manage learning to read. The basic rules of phonics would apply to anyone needing help, not just small children.

Spring Hill College


Spring Hill College (Biology)

Very patient and approachable — My meeting with Marta was very comfortable. I feel that my daughters' lessons with Marta will be very fruitful to her learning. After one lesson, my daughters' reply was that she learned some techniques that she didn't know before. We are looking forward to our next meeting !! GREAT JOB MARTA !!! ...

— Cederia, Irving, TX on 6/13/11

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $40.00

Travel policy

Marta will travel within 10 miles of Irving, TX 75060.

Background Check Status for Marta M.

Marta M. passed a background check on 12/15/13. The check was ordered by Marta through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Marta, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.