Over 100 tutoring hours

Sharon V.

College Station, TX


Experienced Math and Science Tutor / Veterinary Student

Replies in 2 hours
4.9 Avg. Rating
30 Ratings
2hrs Response Time
Helpful Biology Lab Tutor
— Jennifer, College Station, TX on 9/25/15

Message Sharon

Send Sharon a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Sharon or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Houston, Victoria
Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine


University of Houston, Victoria (Biology)

Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine (Other)

About Sharon

I have been tutoring since I was in fifth grade. I also have extensive tutoring experience at The Victoria College and the University of Houston-Victoria where I earned my level 3 College Reading & Learning Association (CRLA) Certification. I've worked as a tutor with groups and individuals as well as prepared and presented supplemental instruction for select classes. I am confident with math courses up to precalculus (and some trigonometry and probability/statistics) and science courses including biology (including anatomy and physiology), chemistry and physics.

I am patient and understanding with any skill level and age and even tutored my own mom when she entered college after I graduated High School - she is now a teacher herself. I consider myself a bit of a nerd because I love learning and helping others learn. Once I get to know a student, I can also customize my tutoring style on an individual basis - I can help you truly understand and remember for a test based on your learning style and what works for you. I have a collection of resources to pull from including worksheets, notes and handouts and can also create customized resources if needed. I graduated with my Bachelor's degree in Biology from the University of Houston - Victoria and I'm currently in my second year at Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine.

For the Fall 2015 semester, I am mostly available on Friday afternoons and on weekends. My times have been filling up fast since I have started working with several students on a weekly basis but I do my best to accommodate. I sometimes have weekday evenings available but those are rare and I don't usually know until that week or sometimes that day. I will have more availability on Tuesday afternoons starting November 3rd and I meet with students at the Medical Sciences Library at A&M. Information about directions and parking can be found here: http://msl.library.tamu.edu/about/directions.html
I have been tutoring since I was in fifth grade. I also have extensive tutoring experience at The Victoria College and the University of Houston-Victoria where I earned my level 3 College Reading & Learning Association (CRLA) Read more

24 hours notice required

Available for group sessions at additional $4/hr per each additional student.

Travel Radius
Travels within 1 miles of College Station, TX 77840

"Helpful Biology Lab Tutor"

- Jennifer, College Station, TX on 9/25/15
Sharon replied on 9/26/2015

It was my pleasure to work with your daughter. She genuinely wants to learn and understand and I'm glad I could help.

"Great tutor!"

- Christine, Victoria, TX on 3/28/14

"1st session- Professional"

- Beverly, Victoria, TX on 1/21/14

"Very Resourceful"

- Varshini, Victoria, TX on 8/9/12

"Punctual annd AWESOME"

- Juanita, Victoria, TX on 8/8/12
ACT Math, Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Geometry, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra,
Probability, SAT Math,
Statistics, Trigonometry
English, Reading,
ACT Science, Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics,
Nutrition, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics,
Physiology, Psychology
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Biology, Chemistry, English, Geometry, Physics,
SAT Math,
Spanish, Statistics, Study Skills, Writing
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Spanish, Statistics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Algebra 1

A's in all algebra classes taken
Extensive experience tutoring all levels of algebra.

Algebra 2

I have tutored many, many students in algebra.


I am familiar with basic Mendelian Genetics - punnett squares, dominant versus recessive genes, polygenetic, pleiotropic, incomplete dominance, co-dominance, etc. as well as transcription, translation, and mutations of DNA; how DNA codes to mRNA then tRNA and ribosomes code to proteins. I am also familiar with lab practices such as DNA gel electrophoresis, chemical structure of DNA and complementary bases, 5' and 3' ends and enzymes involved in translation, transcription, and replication of DNA for cell processes including proteins and mitosis and meiosis and polymerase chain reaction (PCR) of DNA samples. I am comfortable starting at a beginner level in genetics or at a higher biochemical level.


I have passed with A's the classes required for an application for a medical program that also requires MCAT test scores. I also have experience tutoring many of the subjects seen on the MCAT including Inorganic and Organic Chemistry, physics and math, biology, Microbiology and Anatomy and Physiology. Only the GRE was required for my application to veterinary school, but I was recently accepted to the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine program at Texas A&M University and can help you understand the subject material seen on the MCAT. I can also help you plan test taking strategies based on the guidelines for the format of the test. I have not yet helped anyone study for the MCAT but I have familiarized myself with different standardized test formats to help others study before. I recently tutored a classmate friend studying for the DAT, which is like the MCAT but for dental school. She made the DAT score she needed and was accepted to one school she applied to but is still waiting to hear from another. I can also help with the general application process as I've been through mine for veterinary school and my friend's for dental school.


I made A's in two different Microbiology classes - one a sophomore level lecture and lab at a junior college and the other a junior level lecture and lab at a 4 year university. I have also tutored a few students in Microbiology and several in basic Biology. I have my own microscope as well as several prepared slides that can be incorporated into a tutoring session as well.

Organic Chemistry

I have taken and tutored both semesters of college sophomore level Organic Chemistry. I have reference materials from my classes including books, notes, a 3D molecule set and a marker board for practice drawing structures. I also made A's in both college junior level semesters of Biochemistry, which covers a lot of Organic Chemistry.


I have tutored physics before. However, calculus-based physics is sometimes beyond my expertise as I haven't really had to take calculus. I used to make 100's on my physics exams.


I have a lot of experience tutoring students in algebra and pre algebra is pretty similar.


I have tutored all levels of algebra including pre-calculus.


I have tutored students for reading portions of standardized testing.

SAT Math

I did well on SAT math when I took the test, granted that was several years ago. I have also tutored students for the SAT.


I took three years of theatre class in high school where I also participated in UIL One-Act Play. Between school projects, I also worked part time at a local community theatre that our director owned and ran. I made an A in my college theatre class and have helped in a few other small community productions as time allowed through my college career. I have studied the basics of theatre and been involved in not only acting, but many of the behind the scenes roles as well.

University of Houston, Victoria
Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine


University of Houston, Victoria (Biology)

Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine (Other)

Helpful Biology Lab Tutor — Sharon helped my daughter to understand the biology labs. She helped her grasp the purpose and outcome of biology labs. My daughter walked away with more confidence from her first session! ...

— Jennifer, College Station, TX on 9/25/15

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $46.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Available for group sessions at additional $4/hr per each additional student.

Travel policy

Sharon will travel within 1 miles of College Station, TX 77840.

Background Check Status for Sharon V.

Sharon V. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Sharon, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.