Over 5 tutoring hours

Renee M.

Arlington, TX


Experienced ESL Tutor and Writing Coach

In-person lessons
4.0 average from 2 ratings

Message Renee

Send Renee a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Renee or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

UT at Arlington
Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary


UT at Arlington

Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary (Master's)

About Renee

I have a B.A. in Russian Studies/German with a M.A. in Religion. Because of my work experience I have taught many ESL classes to people from all over the world. I have helped students from 6-60 grow in their language abilities and studies. I also have worked in public school and been a Director and hands on tutor in afterschool programs for a decade.

I like to tailor lessons to the specific needs of each student. I also have a broad experience of many cultures if you are in need of a Geography or Social Studies tutor. I draw, paint and write if the creative arts are something you look to succeed in. I have worked with many students with special educational needs and I am very positive and encouraging.
I have a B.A. in Russian Studies/German with a M.A. in Religion. Because of my work experience I have taught many ESL classes Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Arlington, TX 76015
In-person lessons
Bible Studies,
Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
SAT Reading,
SAT Writing,
Vocabulary, Writing
Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
American History, Anthropology,
European History, Geography, Religion
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Phonics, Reading,
Study Skills,
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Hard Of Hearing,
Phonics, Special Needs
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Test Preparation:
SAT Reading,
SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I took college coursework in Anthropology as well as graduate class in anthropological methods and case studies. I have worked with various cultures of people and been taught from the people groups regarding their mores and modes of worship, tradition and culture. I also have a Master's in Religion focusing on various sects of Islam.

Bible Studies

I graduated last year from Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary. As a part of my training I took a course in the Old Testament as well as the New Testament. I also took a course called Christ in the Old Testament as well as Theology Classes. I have been reading/studying the Bible for the past 10 years and have had many other classes/courses on Bible Studies.


I have been an artist since high school. I have illustrated a book for McMillan press based on ESL curriculum. I have taught drawing to college students and adults as well as K-12. I have formal training in painting as well as basic drawing. I like students to find their own style, and give them the tools and techniques to get there.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been an after school director and also a tutor in an after school program learning center for 10 years. I also was an aide in a k-8 Special Education program. I have primarily tutored K-6th graders for those 10 years. I have had many different abilities in these centers and worked with children from various backgrounds, language abilities and learning styles. I am very familiar with the homework from the public school system for these age groups.


I've tutored ESL to a private couple 1999. I was an ESL instructor/coordinator Catholic Charities from 1993 to 1999. I taught ESL to a private student in 2002 and was a tutor at a Japanese college from 2001 to 2004. I was also a teacher at a high school's international summer school 2011.


ESL teacher/coordinator 1993/1999
private ESL tutoring 1999
tutor at a Japanese college 2001/2004
private ESL tutoring 2002
Merrimack College HS ESL Summer program 2011
Language Study Skills Boston Substitute 2013

Hard Of Hearing

I have worked with children and adults with hearing aids, and most recently with seniors who were all hard of hearing. This experience taught me to be patient, speak slowly and clearly. Also having a background in ESL helps with those who are hard of hearing because you have to speak slowly and clearly for them to decipher words.

Microsoft Windows

I was a Computer Learning Center Instructor for 4 years in 2 separate labs. We only had Microsoft Windows. I had to instruct students and adult learners how to use this program. I've also tested for this software before for other jobs and usually score a 98%.


I am a painter and have been painting since college. I took a course in painting in college from a former advertising Art Director. I love color and medium. I like acrylic, am less experienced with oil, but enjoy water color. I also like to mix mediums such as acrylic with chalk pastels. I enjoy helping students get excited about what they might be capable of and helping them to overcome their phobias about art, if this is an area of study they are unfamiliar with.

Public Speaking

I was in a national oratory contest for 3 years in school. I also was a Master Speaker in Debate and Dramatic Interpretation and Speech. I've been a teach in various subjects and settings for over 7 years having to give public speeches at meetings and events as well as classrooms and training.
I feel very comfortable speaking in front of others and coaching.


I have scored very high in reading and writing both on my SATs and WyzAnt's certification test. I am a poet as well.


I have a Master's in Religion from an accredited Seminary. My Master's mostly focuses on Islam, but I also took courses studying Hinduism and Buddhism. I also took a course in my undergraduate in Oriental Religions. I also have taken courses in Church History as well as St. Augustine which delves into other areas of Religion not often practiced such as Gnosticism.

SAT Reading

I took my SAT last year and scored a 720 on the reading portion. I have a Masters in Religion 2011 and have done a lot of reading and writing in the past 4 years on the graduate level.

SAT Writing

I recently took the SAT myself and scored a 720 on the verbal portion and I am a good writer. I graduated from my Masters in 2011 and had to write many 15-20 page papers.

Special Needs

I have been a Special Education Aide in a K-8 school in Boston. I worked specifically with cognitively and behaviorally impaired 6th-8th graders.

Study Skills

Having just recently graduate from my Master's program, as well as being an after school director, I feel I can teach students good study habits and skills for being prepared.

UT at Arlington
Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary


UT at Arlington

Gordon Conwell Theological Seminary (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $32.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Renee will travel within 15 miles of Arlington, TX 76015.

Background Check Status for Renee M.

Renee M. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Renee, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.