NEW FEATURES MORE

Paula S.

Knoxville, TN

$27/hour

Patient /Master's level Tutor, homeschool parent, all grades

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 1 ratings

Message Paula

Send Paula a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Paula or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 9 hours
Replies in 9 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Anna Maria College, Paxton, MA
Education
Rhode Island College
Master's

Education

Anna Maria College, Paxton, MA (Education)

Rhode Island College (Master's)

About Paula

I love helping others, as I have a Master's Degree in Counseling. Undergrad in Edication ( specialize in Art).
Special needs students are some of my favorites!

I love teaching, reading and creative writing; my mother inspired me with her nightly stories and taking me to the library regularly.

I have been a home-school mom of 3 children, and had fun watching them grow to love learning. I have tutored kindergarten - college students.

I also have a knack with science fair projects; love the competitive nature and creativity

Study skills are something that I can help with too!! I was a college student for 7 years myself.
I love helping others, as I have a Master's Degree in Counseling. Undergrad in Edication ( specialize in Art).
Special needs students are some of my favorites!

I love teaching,
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Knoxville, TN 37922
In-person lessons
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1
Science:
Biology, Nutrition, Psychology, Sociology
Art:
Art History, Art Theory, Drawing,
Graphic Design, Painting,
Theatre
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading,
English, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading,
Career Development, College Counseling, GED, GRE,
Praxis,
PSAT
Computer:
Graphic Design, Microsoft Word
Language:
Arabic, Speech
History:
American History, Classics, Geography, Social Studies, World History
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD,
Aspergers, Autism, Dyslexia, Hard Of Hearing, Phonics, Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Handwriting,
Homeschool,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Business:
Career Development, GRE,
Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Cooking, Fitness,
Swimming, Table Tennis, Tennis, Yoga

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT Reading

I have tutored other students, young and old alike, in Knoxville for the ACT Reading. I have a Master's Degree from Rhode Island College and studied Education as an undergrad.

ADD/ADHD

I have a Master's degree in Agency Counseling.

I have worked several times with "at-risk" youth.

My first job was as a Vocational Counselor with ADD/ADHD students in Rhode Island schools.

Another job was as a teacher at an "alternative" school for elementary and high school students with add/adhd, autism, emotional/behavioral problems, etc.

Drawing

I studied art education/art therapy as an undergraduate at Anna Maria College and USF in Tampa, Fl. I especially enjoy pencil and charcoal drawings. I love to draw landscapes and architecture.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been a substitute teacher many times over the past years in Knoxville, TN. I have tutored home-schooled students, and also I home-schooled my own 3 children in elementary subject matters of all kinds. I have a master's degree, and I studied education as an undergrad.

Fitness

I am certified in Yoga Teaching and Theory.

I have practiced yoga for over 18 years.

I love to help those in pain; achieve a more satisfying, pain-free life, as I have through yoga.

I am active and fit, and live a totally healthy lifestyle.

GRE

I have taken and passed the GRE with flying colors. I find the process exciting and love helping others achieve their goal of getting into a good school.

Handwriting

I taught my own 3 children how to write while homeschooling them.

My first born (boy) had a VERY difficult time with this, so I learned many methods on how to conquer this problem.

I am also a private art teacher/therapist and have skills /experience in calligraphy and intricate / ornate writing.

Homeschool

I have a BS in Education and Art Therapy/Ed.

I have a Masters in Counseling, Mental Health.

I have 6 years experience tutoring /homeschooling other families' children.

I have 4 years experience homeschooling my own 3 children; one of whom is now at UT majoring in Neuroscience.

I am very creative, imaginative, good at making things (crafts) and painting/drawing (which comes in VERY handy with kids liking me immediately!!)

Painting

I studied art extensively in college. I majored in art education/art therapy at Anna Maria College in Paxton, Ma. I have taught art at two schools, one an alternative school in Newark, NJ, and the other at Annoor Academy in Knoxville, TN. I am very good in acrylic painting especially. I also enjoy sumi-e japanese ink painting.

Praxis

I have taken the Praxis test and passed it to become a teacher k-12 in my area.

I have been teaching others how to study for it. I am proficient in all areas of the test.

I think I will make a good tutor as I have tutored many homeschool students how to take and pass the test for their careers.

Special Needs

I have worked with many different types of special needs students.

I have worked in an "Alternative School", which was comprised of behaviorally challenged, mentally and emotionally challenged, and autistic children.I taught art to these children, and often served as a "mentor" .

I have worked with ADHD , ADD, and anxious test takers while I was a Vocational Evaluator in the public schools.I helped these children realize their potential and their skills that could be used in the workforce someday.We utilized other methods that weren't traditional pen and paper tests. They actually worked on machinery, tried their hand at "cutting hair" on models, and cut wood by hand. It was very rewarding.

Study Skills

I have a Master's Degree. I have counseled high school students in my job as Vocational Evaluator, and aided with their studies. I have 3 children, the oldest in high school, and have homeschooled them for several years. My undergraduate degree was in Education.

Anna Maria College, Paxton, MA
Education
Rhode Island College
Master's

Education

Anna Maria College, Paxton, MA (Education)

Rhode Island College (Master's)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $27.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Paula will travel within 30 miles of Knoxville, TN 37922.