NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Mark F.

Cookeville, TN

$50/hour

Mark the accounting wizard

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 1/28/15
5.0 average from 1 ratings
A+ Tutor
— Mary, Cookeville, TN on 10/19/12

$50/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Mark will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Mark

Tennessee Technologialc University

Education

Tennessee Technologialc University

About Mark

Hi

I am a CPA with two business degrees from Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville, Tennessee. I am well-studied and knowledgeable in math, business and science. I have a great deal of life experience and feel I am able to bring the tutoring to a level anyone can understand. I have been involved in young peoples' lives, including coaching them in sports and being part of many youth's lives as they grow up.

I have played sports all of my life, including pitching for Tennessee Tech while I attended school there from 1979 to 1983. Any sport with a ball I can play and enjoy watching them all.

I have a teenage son whom I have helped through his high school and college careers and think I possess the skills and ability to help students learn, if they are truly motivated.

I have been able to succeed in life through hard work during grade school, high school, and college and realize how important mastering the basic concepts can be at any age. Some things don't come easy to everybody and I can help a student learn, if they try.

Thank you and I look forward to meeting you.

Mark
Hi

I am a CPA with two business degrees from Tennessee Tech University in Cookeville, Tennessee. I am well-studied and knowledgeable in math, business and
Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required

WILLING AND ABLE TO WORK WITH STUDENTS FOR PRICING.

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Cookeville, TN 38506
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"A+ Tutor"

- Mary, Cookeville, TN on 10/19/12
Math:
Geometry, Prealgebra
Science:
Anatomy, Geology
English:
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ASVAB,
GED,
GRE
Computer:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, QuickBooks
Language:
ESL/ESOL
History:
American History, Geography, Government & Politics, World History
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Grammar,
Reading, Vocabulary
Business:
Accounting,
GRE, Law, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, QuickBooks, Tax Preparation
Sports/Recreation:
Baseball,
Golf,
Lacrosse

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Accounting

I have been a CPA for 20 years In public practice. I worked for a CPA for 8 years before that. I have performed a wide variety of services for a multitude of industries and businesses.

ASVAB

I have a wide body of knowledge in a wide variety of subjects, including those that make up the ASVAB exam. I would be honored to help those in the military in any way that I can.

Baseball

I played youth baseball all of my life. I played in state youth tournaments. I played high school and collegiate baseball. I coached youth baseball for many, many years.

I set pitching records in high school and college. I can play (still) any infield position and know what it takes to perform.

I understand the game and what it takes to compete. Baseball has always been a part of my life. My favorite sport which just comes easy.

Elementary (K-6th)

Although I have no certification in education or any specific training in teaching methods, I do possess certain skills and abilities that I feel would be beneficial.

I have achieved two undergraduate degrees from Tennessee Tech, business management and accounting. I possess a minor in English, the requirements of which you automatically fulfill when you graduate from TTU. I have always been strong in math, science, and English.

I scored in the high percentile in all areas of math, science, and English on the ACT have developed and possess selected specific skills and abilities, as follows:

Math: I come from a strong Math background. My father was an engineer and taught algebra at a local junior technical school. Although I know this does not translate automatically into a knowledge of math, I was brought up and raised in a math-oriented household. I am a CPA and have extensive computer skills. I use math on a daily basis and feel this would enable me to help a young person learn.

English: I made A's throughout high school and college, possess excellent grammar and prose skills, am familiar with all structural parts of the English language, and use writing and communication skills on a daily basis as an accountant in the business world writing letters, corresponding with clients and individuals, and documenting files. I am an excellent speller (not spelling bee quality, but there are not many words used in everyday life I can not spell).

Science: Another area that I believe I have an above average level of knowledge. My elementary school science teacher selected me to be in charge of her science lab, inventorying and maintaining preserved animals, equipment, literature, and supplies. I was one of four students chosen to be a "labbie." I was asked, as a freshman in high school, to prepare and give a presentation of the Stonehenge formation, complete with an oral explanation and transparencies that I designed myself. The presentation took almost an entire class period and its completeness took my teacher totally by surprise. My science fair projects in elementary school consisted of (1) a working home-made electrical circuit powered by lead plates and sulfuric acid (my electrical engineer father helped me with this one) and (2) a visual presentation of the properties of light and how light is affected by prisms and filters. Both of them won prizes in a school with a large population of students.

I have been able to help my son understand all of these subjects as he has grown up and continue to be of assistance as he pursues his college undergraduate degree. Again, I have no formal training or certification in any of these subjects. But, I believe my knowledge and lifetime experience in each of these areas can be of benefit.

Please consider me as a possible tutor for your child or grandchild.

English

I have always done well in English. Elementary school, high school and college English always came easy to me. My grammar is excellent. My writing and prose skills are superb. I can help anyone having trouble or whom would just like to improve.

ESL/ESOL

I have an excellent grasp of the English language. Attending Tennessee Tech in the early 1980s, I was associated with many, many international students. Plus, my accounting and business background would be an asset. I was friends with and associated with individuals from all background and would like to help anyone.

GED

I am a mature, successful individual who possesses a wide body of knowledge in a wide variety of subjects. High school came easy to me and I graduated from college on time while participating in college athletics. I am comfortable with all subjects and enjoy teaching.

Golf

My grandfather introduced me to the sport when I was 12 years old. I have played continuously since then I learned the etiquette and rules of the game from him, teaching me how to respect and appreciate the game. Although I don't play as much as I used to and would like to, it is a great sport that teaches honesty, sportsmanship, and patience.

I have taken and given lessons and can help your child decide. It is a truly great sport.

Grammar

I am fluent in English. I have always made good grades and excelled in school. I know what proper grammar and prose is and can help. I speak well and it hurts when I hear people misuse the English language.

I am an excellent speller, understand and can teach punctuation, and make it a point to always use proper speech.

I used to grade spelling tests, have studied Latin. Father speaks French, have had some exposure to Spanish.

Lacrosse

I have been involved with the sport of lacrosse ever since my son took interest when he was five (5) years old. I have served in the capacity as administrator, coach, treasurer, equipment manager, time keeper, press, statistician, and whatever else that had to be done.

My son runs the boys and girls teams at a high school in Tennessee. I feel I have a definite feel for and knowledge of the game and can help anybody interested in the sport.

It is the oldest sport played in North America and provides huge benefits and opportunities for our youth. It keeps them in shape for the other sports. Any positive outlet for our children is priceless.

Tax Preparation

I have been a CPA since 1994. I have prepared tax returns for all types of entities, including individuals, partnerships, corporations, fiduciaries, non-profits. I have a thorough understanding of payroll, payroll tax preparation, reporting, and all labor and tax regulations.

I can research specific questions and offer opinions and solutions to all payroll issues, including domestic, foreign, and estate issues.

My career has been spent representing taxpayers ranging from simple filers to sophisticated taxpayers. I have worked as an Intuit Tax Advisor.

I believe my experience would allow me to help anyone in full-compliance of the tax regulations and proper tax filing requirements.

Writing

Writing has always came naturally to me. My grammar and prose are excellent. I have written many, many research papers and actually consider them fun.

Tennessee Technologialc University

Education

Tennessee Technologialc University

A+ Tutor

Mark is professional, patient, and knowledgeable. He taught me in a way I could comprehend. A 5 star tutor!!

— Mary, Cookeville, TN on 10/19/12

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

WILLING AND ABLE TO WORK WITH STUDENTS FOR PRICING.

Travel policy

Mark will travel within 40 miles of Cookeville, TN 38506.