Birte W.

Newberry, SC


Highly educated tutor with patience and creativity

In-person lessons
Replies in 9 hours

Message Birte

Send Birte a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Birte or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

About Birte

I am a German native and lived in England for almost five years where I was a teacher at different Secondary Schools before moving to the US in 2011.

I have a wide range of experience teaching languages, including German, French and English as well as IT. I have taught classes of 30 students as well as individuals. My experience extends to ESOL classes for adults and children from 2-12 years. I am currently teaching college students taking German classes online as well as a local middle school student.

My first Master of Arts is in history from the Helmut Schmidt Universit├Ąt in Hamburg, Germany and my second Master of Arts is in Advanced Educational Practice from the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK.

My aim is to make all my students independent learner and promote lifelong learning while having fun. Who says that learning has to take place while sitting still at a desk?
I am a German native and lived in England for almost five years where I was a teacher at different Secondary Schools before moving to the US in 2011.

I have a wide range of experience teaching languages, including German,
Read more

24 hours notice required

Multiple lessons discount negotiable.

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Newberry, SC 29108
In-person lessons

"Knows what she's doing"

- Nicole, West Palm Beach, FL on 1/4/12
Geometry, Prealgebra
English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, TOEFL, Writing
Adobe Photoshop, General Computer,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Outlook,
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Web Design
European History, World History
Adobe Photoshop
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Phonics,
Special Needs:
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
English, ESL/ESOL,
Geometry, Prealgebra, Reading, Writing
Test Preparation:
Track & Field
Corporate Training:
General Computer,
Grammar, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Proofreading, Web Design

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


Having been an ESOL student myself at the age of 16 has been quite an experience.
I was thrown into a biology classroom while I was still struggling with basic sentences.
However, I made it through but I have a lot of empathy for someone in a similar position.
It is great being able to communicate and I am very happy and prepared to help anyone achieve that!

General Computer

I have taught ICT (Information and Communications Technology)at the high school level, which incorporated teaching about the general functions and components of computers.


I was born and raised in Germany and earned my first degree from the Helmut Schmidt University in Hamburg, Germany.

Microsoft Outlook

I have been using Outlook for my work appointments for years. I am also assisting coworkers troubleshooting their accounts since we are a small agency without an IT department.
I am familiar with the latest version of Outlook, but can work with other versions as well.


I have taught 1:1 reading and to students who needed to understand basic phonetic rules hence I have some experience.

I have experience teaching 3-18 year olds at a variety of ability levels.

I have worked especially close with groups of 9-12 year olds in after school session where I have practiced reading and writing skills.

I have worked with children in ESOL classes mainly, helping them learn how to read and also reading comprehension.


I have been playing soccer all my life since I was able to walk. I did a coaching course and have coached High School teams in the UK as well as adult classes in Germany.

World History

My first degree was in World History. I have always been fascinated with the past and think that it is important to understand it to move into the future. There are so many things you can learn from the past.

Knows what she's doing — Birte was very helpful to my son who is struggling with AP world history. I will be contacting her again to set up more sessions. ...

— Nicole, West Palm Beach, FL on 1/4/12

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $65.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Multiple lessons discount negotiable.

Travel policy

Birte will travel within 15 miles of Newberry, SC 29108.

Background Check Status for Birte W.

Birte W. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Birte, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.