NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Angel M.

Hardeeville, SC

$45/hour

Bilingual certified teacher with 15 yrs. exp. w/ kids & adults

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 3/21/16

$45/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Angel will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Angel

University of South Carolina
elementary education

Education

University of South Carolina (elementary education)

About Angel

I am a bilingual (Spanish/English) teacher with 15 yrs. experience teaching and privately tutoring students in grades K-8, as well as adults. I specialize in reading comprehension, writing, math and ESOL. For several years I orchestrated and taught Spanish to adults through the University of South Carolina at Beaufort's Osher Lifelong Learning Program, teaching classes at the Beaufort campus itself and on Callawassie Island. During the past six years, I have taught several Spanish/English classes to employees of HHI area hotels. I also have privately tutored K-8 students for the past six years.

K-8 students are tutored once a week (or more if needed) for one hour. Goals are to improve grades, to help with techniques for test preparation and to assist with projects. We meet at the public library, parents' places of business or in students' homes. References are available upon request.

I have always loved language, especially grammar, vocabulary and writing. English class was always a breeze so tutoring in this subject is enjoyable. The majority of students I have privately tutored are ESOL students.

I began learning Spanish at 19 and have been speaking it fluently since the year 2000. My husband and I only speak Spanish at home, so that is our daughter's first language even though she was born and raised in SC. Most of our friends are Hispanic. Every week I also participate in conducting home Bible studies in the language, where I sometimes even help Hispanics learn to read and write in their native tongue (if they sadly had few educational opportunities in their home countries).

For almost 3 years, I taught Spanish at an elementary school full time. I speak, read and write Spanish like a native, but think like an English-speaker, which gives me an edge when it comes to tutoring.

Games, rhymes, songs, acting and drawing are part of the curriculum I use to help people learn Spanish. The Hispanic cultures are vibrant and fun, so the process of learning the language should be, too!

Since 1999, I have been teaching elementary school and tutoring elementary age students. I first taught 3rd and 4th grades full time, then worked as a part-time substitute in grades K-5 for several years after getting married. Later I was hired as the Spanish teacher for an elementary school of almost 900 (!) students, floating from classroom to classroom for almost 3 years. Talk about having to be flexible!
After having our first child, I decided to quit teaching full time to stay home. That's when private tutoring began.

My schedule is currently open for new students, so don't hesitate to email me! I only work weekday afternoons from 4:00-8:30 pm. (Weekends are for family time!) :-)
Thank you for your interest!
I am a bilingual (Spanish/English) teacher with 15 yrs. experience teaching and privately tutoring students in grades K-8, as well as adults. I specialize in reading Read more

Policies
Cancellation
5 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Hardeeville, SC 29927
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
English:
English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
ESL/ESOL, Spanish
History:
Social Studies
Special Needs:
Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have been actively certified in elementary education in SC since the year 1999. I taught full and part time in elementary school since that year, off and on, for approximately 9 years. Since the year 2012, I have been privately tutoring elementary age students in the afternoons, year-round. I create all lessons according to students' needs and interests. Happy parents are willing to provide references.

Elementary Math

Reading comprehension, elementary math, years of teaching 3rd and 4th grade (all subjects)

Phonics

For several years I have been tutoring K-8 grade students with poor phonics skills. I have taken several graduate courses dealing with phonics and decoding issues; these courses were simply to keep my certification current. Also, I have taught my own daughter how to read in both English and Spanish by using phonics knowledge in both languages. Research-based activities and games are used in my instruction.

Social Studies

I have several years experience tutoring elementary and middle school students in their social studies curriculum. Therefore, I am familiar with K-8th grade social studies themes. I have access on my tablet to children's Discovery Education and BrainPop! videos, which enhance understanding of areas such as social studies. These videos are often viewed together with my students and have helped students raise their test scores.

University of South Carolina
elementary education

Education

University of South Carolina (elementary education)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $45.00

Cancellation: 5 hours notice required

Travel policy

Angel will travel within 20 miles of Hardeeville, SC 29927.