Search

Angela W.

Beaufort, SC

$40/hour

Counseling Professional with Significant Tutoring Experience

5+ Hours
5.0 average from 2 ratings

$40/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Angela will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Angela

Missouri State University
Psychology

Education

Missouri State University (Psychology)

About Angela

I received my undergraduate degree from Missouri State University. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology and my minor was in English. I also have a Masters degree in School Counseling from Capella University. I am a licensed school counselor, a National Certified CounseIor and am pursuing my license as a Licensed Professional Counselor. I have ample tutoring experience as I worked for a tutoring company in Atlanta for 3 years as a Homework Coach and tutor. During that time I worked with ADHD/ADD and other learning disorders to help them become academically successful through tutoring as well as teaching organizational and time management skills. My counseling education also helped me to become a great advocate for my students in terms of helping them and their families obtain necessary accommodations. In addition, I have volunteer experience in a learning disordered classroom and with at-risk elementary students. I tutored primarily middle school students in all subjects, though I have experience tutoring elementary through high school students. I also did SAT and ACT prep as well as helping adult students with essay and college level writing. I continued to work for the tutoring company as a blogger for 2 more years and wrote an e-book about ADHD/ADD student issues for the company. I am very open and patient and enjoy seeing students become academically successful and gain self-confidence. I received my undergraduate degree from Missouri State University. I have a Bachelor of Science degree in psychology and my minor was in English. I also have a Masters degree in School Counseling from Capella University. I am a licensed school counselor, a National Certified CounseIor and am pursuing my license as a Licensed Professional Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Beaufort, SC 29906
Background Check: Passed
Math:
Algebra 1, Elementary Math, Prealgebra, SAT Math
Science:
Biology, Psychology
Special Needs:
ADHD,
Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Common Core,
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar,
Reading, Spelling,
Study Skills,
Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

As a tutor in GA I helped high schoolers study for the ACT English. I was an English minor as an undergraduate, and I am particularly skilled in this area. Additionally, as someone trained as a school counselor, I am well aware of ACT requirements and how the test as structured.

ACT Reading

As a tutor with a company in Atlanta, I often assisted students with ACT preparation. My experience as an English minor and at times a free-lance writer makes me particularly skilled in reading comprehension. My primary tutoring method for ACT reading prep was to have students complete practice exams and work on reading comprehension as a whole.

ADHD

I worked for as a Homework Coach for 3 years with an organization in Atlanta. That job entailed working with ADHD and learning disabled students to teach time management and organizational skills as well as advocating for students by helping parents navigate resources within their school. I also continued to work for the company for two more years writing a blog dedicated to ADHD/ADD issues and wrote an e-book for the company that helps parents with some of the more common issues ADHD/ADD students may face.

Common Core

In both GA and SC curricula integrated common core, I am familiar with these curricula as both a tutor and counselor. At the elementary level particularly, I assisted students in common core subjects such as "new math", reading, and English. I also helped with common core testing at the elementary level to determine students were meeting curricula goals. As a tutor in GA, I tutored middle schoolers in common core math, English, and reading as well.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have some experience working as a volunteer in both an elementary school Learning Disabled classroom, as well as working as a mentor with elementary school students. I am quite confident that I could assist your child in any subject where he or she may need some improvement.

English

I was an English minor in college with a 4.0 in my minor. I have previously tutored English for elementary, middle, and high school students during my three years as a tutor in Georgia. I also have vast experience with English composition, helping students with writing skills and grammar, and proofreading.

Grammar

I was an English minor in college with a 4.0 in my minor. I have worked with elementary, middle, and high school students on correcting grammar in writing and (with younger students) in teaching and learning grammar. I have also been a blogger and free-lance writer, both of which require excellent grammatical skill. I have helped proofread essays for students of all ages for grammatical errors and have helped students to learn grammatical rules.

Literature

I was an English minor in college and had a 4.0 in my minor. I am knowledgeable (through taking courses) in the following literary areas: contemporary poetry, women's literature, children's literature, British literature, contemporary American literature, the plays and sonnets of Shakespeare, and early American literature. I also am an avid reader and am familiar with literature beyond these areas. I have tutored college students in literary courses as well as helping middle and high school students with literary portions of English homework.

Proofreading

As a tutor, I often proofread and edited items for students including college essays, middle and high school papers, and academic papers. I worked as a blogger for a tutoring company and was responsible for both writing blogs and proofreading blogs by myself and others. I also co-wrote, proofread, and edited an e-book for that company. I frequently proofread my supervisor's materials for the company as well.

Psychology

I was a psychology major as an undergraduate, I have a master's degree in school counseling and am currently pursuing an LPC, all of which mean I have extensive knowledge within the field of psychology. Specific topics I have studied include: counseling psychology, childhood development and disorders, the DSM-5, experimental psychology, history of psychology, behavioral modification, learning and behavior, adolescent psychology, abnormal psychology, and many other areas. I previously tutored a psychology undergraduate student and successfully helped her to learn APA writing style as well as to help her improve her grades within her course.

SAT Math

As a tutor in Georgia, I helped students with SAT preparation including SAT math. I also have post-high school experience with algebra and data analysis/statistics (two of the four types of math on the SAT exam). I have tutored students in all four types of math on the exam and my preferred method for SAT preparation is continued practice of weak skills. I also find it important to ensure students have a firm understanding of why problems are solved the way that they are so that they have a good foundation for college math.

SAT Reading

As a tutor in Georgia, I helped students with SAT preparation often. This SAT preparation included SAT reading. As an English minor and someone who has been both a writer and is an avid reader, I feel well qualified to help students in this area. My preferred method is to use examples of the SAT reading section and first work on reading comprehension and analytical skills before having students practice with the timer. I also have students work on using existing information to determine the definition of words.

SAT Writing

I previously tutored students in SAT preparation during my time as a tutor in Georgia, which included SAT writing preparation. My personal writing experience includes blogging, co-writing an e-book, my minor in English, and academic writing during my time as a graduate student. My preferred method for helping students with the writing section is to first do a practice test to determine the student's weak skills and then to tailor the preparation to address those skills (writing, timing, sentence structure knowledge, analytical skills, etc.).

Special Needs

As a college student studying psychology, I spent many hours volunteering in a learning disabled classroom. As part of my volunteer work, I worked with students on reading, math skills, spelling, writing, and other elementary level skills. Two of the students I worked with were fully mainstreamed into regular classrooms by the end of the year. I feel quite confident that I can assist your child with any special learning needs.

Spelling

Previously during my time as a tutor in GA, I tutored two middle school students in spelling. Spelling is especially important to me as an English minor, avid reader, and free-lance writer. My preferred method for teaching spelling is to help students to understand the reason words are spelled the way they are (understanding root words, suffixes, prefixes, etc.). I also think that repetition is important in learning to spell, so I often have students write the words and spell them out loud.

Study Skills

I worked as a mentor working with elementary school students for two years. A lot of our focus was on study and social skills. I feel quite comfortable with teaching students to find the best possible way to study for tests and to keep up with assignments. I feel that it's vitally important to find study skills that work best for each particular student, as each individual may retain information differently.

Vocabulary

During my time as a tutor in GA, I often worked with students on vocabulary homework and learning new vocabulary. I have found that the best method for vocabulary learning is to learn definitions, spelling, and proper contexts. I also think that learning root words, suffixes, and prefixes can be useful in expanding student vocabulary. Additionally, my experience as a writer, avid reader, and English minor means my own vocabulary is quite expansive and I enjoy helping students to learn new words and ways in which to use them.

Writing

During my time as tutor in Georgia, I often reviewed the writing of students of all ages and assisted them in writing skills improvement. As an English minor and a masters learner, I also have had experience with academic writing and have worked as a free-lance writer and blogger. I believe that important aspects of becoming a better writer include: learning new vocabulary, improving grammatical skills and learning proper sentence structure, learning how to properly cite resources (if the student is writing academically), discussions of plagiarism (including self plagiarism), and learning about basic paper writing structures. I am confident in my ability to teach these and other writing skills to students as well as helping them improve skills which may be weak.

Missouri State University
Psychology

Education

Missouri State University (Psychology)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Angela will travel within 30 miles of Beaufort, SC 29906.