Over 5 tutoring hours

Sandie D.

York, PA


Customized lessons based on learning style

In-person lessons
4.0 average from 2 ratings

Message Sandie

Send Sandie a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Sandie or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 7 hours
Replies in 7 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

University of Phoenix


University of Phoenix (English)

About Sandie

I have been training adults for over 15 years. I've also been a cub/boy scout leader for 10 years when my son was of age. I have a Bachelor's Degree in English with a minor in Elementary Education which I accomplished while working full time. I prefer one-on-one tutoring so I can customize lessons based on the student's learning style. If your child is being treated for or recovering from an illness or injury, I am willing to travel to the hospital/rehab facility for lessons, once physician approved and schedule lessons around your child's medical treatment plan. I have been training adults for over 15 years. I've also been a cub/boy scout leader for 10 years when my son was of age. I have a Bachelor's Degree in English with a minor in Elementary Education which I Read more

1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of York, PA 17404
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Elementary Math
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Public Speaking,
Reading, SAT Reading, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ASVAB, SAT Reading, TOEFL
American History, Social Studies,
World History
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills,
Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have a Bachelor's Degree in English with a minor in Elementary Education. I have assisted several ADD/ADHD children gain confidence in completing their classwork when my son was of age. Several of my son's friends were diagnosed with ADD and/or ADHD. Many gained confidence in reading, public speaking, English, spelling, science, history, and creative writing in elementary school as a result of my guidance. These students also gained confidence in developing solid study habits which enhanced their learning experiences. As subjects became more detailed, I assisted them in revising their studying skills to assist in both time management and deeper subject comprehension.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have taken 15 college credits in education which included theory and application as part of my BA in English. Examples include Math for the Elementary Educator I and II which provided opportunities to integrate real life examples to explore math and learning concepts. Models & Theories of Instruction provided the means of applying the 5 different learning styles into any curriculum, including blended styles or multiple styles of learning.
I have also been a Cub Scout and Boy Scout leader for ten years, providing direction to many boys (ages 8-17)as they earned rank advancements and merit badges.
As a private tutor outside of WyzAnt, I have provided personalized lessons for elementary aged students in reading, vocabulary, earth science, U.S. history, social studies/world cultures, music appreciation, arts appreciation, literature/poetry, health/nutrition,as well as pre-K preparation for children aged 4-5.

Public Speaking

I have completed 15 college credits in communications as well as work-related courses in effective communications, including public speaking. I have successfully trained over 40 adults as a part of my job.

I have trained adults in a variety of subjects, including effective communications for over 20 years, providing multiple examples in a variety of learning styles and business settings.

I have written and presented speeches in a variety of settings from local boy scouting ceremonies (including 7 Eagle Scout ceremonies) to award presentation ceremonies.

Social Studies

I am a paralegal as well as have a degree in English with a minor in Elementary Education. As a paralegal, I am involved in all aspects of law and the legal system which assist in discussing governmental system and issues in great detail.
During my ten years as a Cub Scout and Boy Scout leader, I promoted civic responsibilities to the scouts at many levels, including being the sole troop merit badge councilor for all of the Citizenship merit badges (Local, Country, and World) as well as the Law merit badge at the Boy Scout level.
An integral part of my ESL/ESOL tutoring includes discussing the American Culture as compared to the student's original or native culture to allow the student to find common cultural ground with his/her own culture in American social customs and traditions.
Finally, I am an active member of several international forums, thus I am able to gain additional firsthand insight into other cultures from Europe, Asia, South America, and Central America through discussions on various topics ranging from culture to the arts.
Each of these elements provides a broad background in many different aspects of the field of Social Studies for grades K-8 based on Educational standards for US students.

Study Skills

Study skills are an important tool in learning. For myself, it was the difference in attaining high grades versus mediocre grades while working toward my Bachelor's Degree while working full time. I have shared many of my study skills with fellow students who are in the same position as I was a few years ago. Additionally, I have assisted elementary and high school students with determining their study/learning style. Using this element, we worked toward developing study skills to assist them in gaining a higher level of learning and studying.

University of Phoenix


University of Phoenix (English)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Sandie will travel within 10 miles of York, PA 17404.