Over 50 tutoring hours

Anastasia M.

Pittsburgh, PA


Test Prep, Math, and Science Tutor from Caltech

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 10/29/14
4.9 average from 32 ratings
Great tutor!
— Donna, Sunnyvale, CA on 11/7/14

Message Anastasia

Send Anastasia a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Anastasia or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

California Institute of Technology


California Institute of Technology (Bioengineering)

About Anastasia

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Bioengineering from Caltech (California Institute of Technology) and have a strong background in math, physics, and biology. I have extensive experience with the SAT exam, and received 800/800 on the SAT II Math Level II portion and 2250/2400 on the overall SAT exam. I understand how the exam works in terms of the types questions that are most commonly asked, and I bring numerous texts that I have personally used to increase my own score with me to my sessions.

I have taken 9 high school AP exams, including AP US History, AP Calculus BC, AP Physics, AP Biology, and others, so I can offer a lot of experience in a wide breadth of high school courses as well.

I have previously tutored children in reading at the Foster City Library, so I am very comfortable working with younger age groups as well. I personally provide flashcards and adjust my lesson plans to fit each student well. I have learned that inspiring younger students involves creativity as well as discipline.

The biggest advantage that I offer as a tutor is the fact that my age makes me more familiar with the textbooks that are currently being used in classrooms. I have used many of these books myself over the last few years, so I know firsthand what is expected at each level, and I have a practical approach to my tutoring.

On a personal note, I have previously worked in the Munirka slums in New Delhi, India teaching children math and English. I have also worked in Nairobi, Kenya, so I am comfortable working with different individuals and different skill sets.

I graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Bioengineering from Caltech (California Institute of Technology) and have a strong background in math, physics, and Read more

3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Great tutor!"

- Donna, Sunnyvale, CA on 11/7/14

"Great tutor!"

- JIEHUI, Moraga, CA on 10/11/14

"Very organized"

- Sandra, Long Beach, CA on 9/6/13
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Differential Equations, Elementary Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, Probability, SAT Math, Statistics, Trigonometry
ACT Science, Biology, Chemistry, Organic Chemistry,
Physical Science, Physics
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GED, GRE, SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
General Computer, Microsoft Word, Python
Special Needs:
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics,
Reading, Vocabulary
GRE, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have previously tutored children ages 4 through 12 in reading at a public library. I understand that children in this age group need to be taught in a creative, yet structured manner, because they lose focus quickly when tasks become difficult. I have also worked with this age group as a swim instructor.

Organic Chemistry

I have taken Organic Chemistry for one year at The California Institute of Technology, and I am proficient with reactions that involve alcohols, alkanes, aromatics, esters, and ethers. I have also worked in laboratories that use organic chemistry to conduct their research, so I have hands-on experience with this subject. I have also studied texts that help with the Organic Chemistry section of the MCAT exam.


When I taught children ages 4 through 12 how to read at a local public ibrary, I made phonics flashcards that enabled them to hear the connection between letters and sounds. Phonics flashcards are one of the best ways to help a child build up confidence in reading individual words, and eventually, sentences and paragraphs.


I have taken a Python class at Caltech (California Institute of Technology). Our assignments, for example, involved us programming a Connect-Four game and also an interactive Sudoku game. The class focused on applying built-in functions to carry out certain tasks, which gave me a more practical knowledge of Python.


I was born in Moscow, Russia and Russian is my first language. I have been involved in a Russian choir group in order to keep up my language skills while living in America. I have gone to school in Russia, so I know how to read, write, and speak the language fluently. I have taught individuals basic Russian in the past, and I have access to many textbooks and worksheets for students to use as well.

California Institute of Technology


California Institute of Technology (Bioengineering)

Great tutor! — Anastasia is very smart, organized, prepared, and personable. She is positive with her feedback and explains the material clearly. For the first session, she had prepared worksheets on the current topics of the subjects in which she was to tutor our son. She came expecting to work on math or chemistry, but my son decided he needed more help writing an English paper. She jumped right in, transi ...

— Donna, Sunnyvale, CA on 11/7/14

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Anastasia will travel within 5 miles of Pittsburgh, PA 15219.