Over 50 tutoring hours

Dianna K.

Philadelphia, PA


American Sign Language Tutor for most basic subjects

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 3/18/14
5.0 average from 31 ratings
Wonderful and Creative
— Bella, King Of Prussia, PA on 7/29/14

Message Dianna

Send Dianna a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Dianna or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 11 hours
Replies in 11 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Temple University, Philadelphia


Temple University, Philadelphia (BSW)

About Dianna

Hi! I am a wife and mother of 2, 40 years old, currently working Full Time in HR. I have 16 years experience in Executive Management and 3 degrees: an Associate's in Psychology and American Sign Language Interpreting, as well as a BSW from Temple University with honors.

I am looking to tutor students either in ASL, or in all basic subjects through ASL. I can work with Deaf/Blind as well through tactile sign.

Perhaps your D/deaf and or Hard of Hearing child needs a little one on one in their own language! I worked with Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, Milestones, Inc., Bethany Christian Services, and did an extensive study in Deaf Culture at Temple University and currently work for the Philadelphia Mental Health Center.

Please feel free to ask for references!! I can work with some families on discounted sessions and don't forget that WyzAnt helps too if you purchase time in blocks.
Hi! I am a wife and mother of 2, 40 years old, currently working Full Time in HR. I have 16 years experience in Executive Management and 3 degrees: an Associate's in Psychology and American Sign Read more

24 hours notice required

Please request block time rates

Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19114
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Wonderful and Creative"

- Bella, King Of Prussia, PA on 7/29/14
Dianna replied on 8/7/2014

THANK YOU BELLA! That was so kind of you! I truly loved working together!!

"Absolutely Amazing"

- Diana, Philadelphia, PA on 6/24/14

"100% awesome"

- Denise, Levittown, PA on 8/29/13

"Fantastic Tutor and Wonderful Person"

- Bill, Philadelphia, PA on 8/27/13
Dianna replied on 8/28/2013

Thank you so much Mr. C!! That really means a great deal to me. I think your daughter is a wonderful person, full of knowledge and light; she can teach all of us a thing or two. I appreciate your comments so much more than you know. I'm honored to be able to tutor her and I'm really excited for her to take this test! She can do it!

Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
Career Development
General Computer, Microsoft Access,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Windows,
Microsoft Word
Sign Language
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Career Development,
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I am a Psychology major from BCCC. I have had some teaching experience with ADD/ADHD/ODD at Pennsylvania School for the Deaf. I have also had personal experience with homeschooling my little brother with ADHD diagnosed in 1985. I'd like the opportunity to apply all of my other areas of expertise to these types of situations so that we both can improve our abilities working together.


I have been working in business for nearly 20 years, the last five of those being in Executive Management. I have trained many employees in those years, bringing several from file clerks to Regional Managers. I have three college degrees and excel at writing resumes.

Career Development

I am able to help any applicant turn their outdated resumes that are not getting any attention, into resumes that impress hiring personnel. I have been doing this kind of work freelance recently for about 20 people who have at some point thereafter been offered jobs in the careers of their choice. I was volunteering at the PA Career Link Office since most of the staff was unable to offer this kind of in depth help.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have a very broad base knowledge of the fundamentals for Elementary level subjects, including English, Reading, Writing, Basic Math,and Science. I remain fairly fresh in these topics while teaching D/deaf adults in a night class. Aside from helping my own children, neices and nephews, through K-6th, I've tutored 2 of their friends in Kindergarten.

Hard Of Hearing

I am an American Sign Language Interpreter with a vast amount of knowledge of the deaf community and deaf culture. I have a one-year-old with hearing loss bilaterally. I have been involved with ASL/D/deaf community for 12 years.

Microsoft Access

I began using MS Access in the mid-nineties. Using a relational database framework enabled myself and a team of designers to build software packages for the complex needs of the IOM industry.

Microsoft Windows

I have been MS Windows user since its very beginning through Vista XP & HP. I've used it at home and in business for over 16 years. I can help construct an entire computerized system for someone new to Windows, based on their current and future needs. Through discussion and anticipation, I can develop a Windows profile that will suit their needs to enter the digital world. Knowing directories and pathways are essential to this configuration and that often the piece most misunderstood by those learning MS Windows for the first time.

Sign Language

I graduated an Interpreter Training Program in 2003, and have been involved with the D/deaf community ever since. I have tutored adults in English as a second language, taught children many elementary subjects THROUGH American Sign Language, as well as having been a classroom Interpreter. I also have published a D/deaf culture study with Dr Colon at Temple University, have an extensive background in ASL/Deaf culture/Deaf Education, and have been recently accepted on full scholarship to a university program for a Master's Degree in Deaf Education 2016.

Special Needs

I am currently pursuing my Master's Degree (M.Ed) in Deaf Education, I have a Bachelors degree from Temple University in Social Work (BSW), and an Associates degree (AS) from Bucks County Community College in Psychology. I've worked at Pennsylvania School for the Deaf, Creative Access, Pah-tners, Milestones, Inc., (all organizations related to Deafness/Deaf Culture or behavioral health for children and adults). I have worked for Bucks County Intermediate Unit and I currently work for PMHC, the Philadelphia Mental Health Clinic. I also have worked with families in the adoption/foster care system. My baby boy also has special needs so I have serious, solid "mom/nurse/advocate/therapist" experience ;)

Study Skills

While working on my BSW, I tutored many fellow classmates. I volunteered where "available tutors" were apt to be found doing their own homework. We would write our name and specialty on a paper next to us and students would pull up a chair to get a little extra help. It was a huge burden off the teachers and the students loved it; being how difficult scheduling tutor time could be. With 3 college degrees, 3.8, 3.9, 4.0 with honors - I KNOW how to study. The trick is finding what works for each student. All of my life experience in business, psychology and working with special needs assures I'll find what works!

Temple University, Philadelphia


Temple University, Philadelphia (BSW)

Wonderful and Creative — Dianna K. is a wonderful tutor. She helped me improve so much in ASL. I have been interested in ASL for a while now and with Dianna's help, I have fallen in love with the language even more. I love the creative ways that she has taught me, such as packing for a trip to the park or making jello. I loved having her as my first ASL tutor/teacher. Thank you so much for the help and I really hope to st ...

— Bella, King Of Prussia, PA on 7/29/14

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Please request block time rates

Travel policy

Dianna will travel within 15 miles of Philadelphia, PA 19114.