Search

Emily H.

Mifflinburg, PA

$25/hour

English/ESL Tutor

In-person lessons
10+ Hours
4.9 average from 11 ratings

$25/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Emily will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Emily

Grove City College (Grove City, PA)
English Education
M.A. Penn State University
Enrolled

Education

Grove City College (Grove City, PA) (English Education)

M.A. Penn State University (Enrolled)

About Emily

My name is Emily and I'm a current Master's student in Penn State's Teaching English as a Second Language Program. Every experience I've ever had has proved to me that teaching is my calling in life. I already have a lot of experience teaching literature, grammar, writing, and pronunciation. For student teaching, I taught novels, Shakespeare, and a course on writing a research paper. I also have experience tutoring. I've tutored students one-on-one in a variety of subjects, from chemistry to mathematics to languages. I also spent the summer teaching ESL classes in Mongolia, an experience which made me love teaching ESL. I have also learned how to speak and write Spanish, which has given me an appreciation for the language learning process.

I am gifted in using creative methodology to teach concepts. My goal in tutoring will be to expose student to concepts in a variety of ways, give them meaningful, real-world practice on the concepts, and allow students to deeply understand every concept we discuss in class. I will challenge students, but won't challenge anyone further than they can go. I am a very hard-working, motivated individual, and will do everything in my power to determine the best way to teach your student. If you are not satisfied with a lesson, I will not bill you for the lesson, and will welcome any feedback you have.

I have excellent knowledge of literature, vocabulary, writing methods, and grammar. I have experience teaching a variety of grade levels in middle school and high school, and have individualized tutoring experience. My ESL experience provided excellent training in 2nd language acquisition, and my own experience learning a 2nd language (Spanish) has provided me with many insights into the 2nd language process. I understand that learning a new language is difficult, and I promise to work hard to make sure my students get there.

Please contact me to learn more! I am very flexible, and can't wait to get to know you through this process!
My name is Emily and I'm a current Master's student in Penn State's Teaching English as a Second Language Program. Every experience I've ever had has proved to me that teaching is my calling in life. I already have a lot of experience teaching literature, grammar, writing, and pronunciation. For student teaching, I taught novels, Shakespeare, and Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 25 miles of Mifflinburg, PA 17844
In-person lessons
Math:
Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Elementary Math, Geometry, GRE, Microsoft Excel,
Prealgebra
Science:
ACT Science, Elementary Science, Physical Science, PSAT, Psychology
Music:
Music Theory, Piano
English:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Bible Studies,
English,
ESL/ESOL,
Grammar,
Literature,
Proofreading,
Public Speaking,
Reading,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary,
Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, ACT Science, GRE, PSAT, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, TOEFL
Language:
ESL/ESOL,
Reading,
Spanish,
TOEFL, Writing
History:
American History,
European History, Geography, Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar,
Reading,
Vocabulary,
Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

American History

I have taken two courses in early and modern American history, and have received American history instruction that was integrated into my American literature course. I am comfortable with primary sources and American history textbooks.

Bible Studies

Though I am not a religion major, I have taken college level religion courses. I took an Old and a New Testament course, and have taken a course in Christian thought. I have also led Bible studies many times in the past for a drama ministry organization I was apart of at Grove City College. Additionally, I was a member of Intervarsity Christian Fellowship, where I received Bible and leadership training.

English

I have an excellent content background of the English language. Through my university training, I took courses in Grammar, Writing, Literature, and how to teach each of those areas. I also received training in teaching English as a Second Language. I have a wide variety of English teaching experiences in a variety of grade levels. Because there is so much included in the English discipline, I would focus on whatever area each student needs to grow in the most.

ESL/ESOL

I have received training in teaching English to Speakers of other Languages through my education background at Grove City College and through ELIC, an international English teaching organization. I spent the summer teaching ESL to Mongolian students in 2014, and learned much about the language learning process through that experience.

Grammar

I have received instruction in grammar through my education at Grove City. I have knowledge of the diagramming sentences method of grammar instruction, and of traditional grammar instruction. I would choose my methodology based on my students' needs and interests. I have taught grammar to 8th and 10th grade students, and to ESL 7-12th grade students.

Literature

My education at Grove City College provided me with an extensive literary background. While at Grove City, I took courses in British Literature, American Literature, 20th century Literature, Asian Literature, Fantasy Literature, Shakespeare, and a general survey of Western literature. All of these courses incorporated short stories, novels, and poetry. Additionally, I have specific experience with different forms of poetry through a Creative Writing course. In my teaching experiences I have taught young adult literature, African-American literature, Greek drama, and Shakespeare.

Microsoft Excel

Through a technology of instruction course, I received direct instruction in using Microsoft Excel. I have created tables and spreadsheets in a variety of formats. I have experience using Excel for grading, tracking data, and budgeting.

Microsoft PowerPoint

Through a technology in instruction course I took as a part of my education background, I was taught how to properly use all of the features of PowerPoint. During student teaching, I used PowerPoint daily for a variety of purposes. I have created many successful presentations that incorporated animations, video, audio, and graphics.

Microsoft Word

I have received training on the usage of Microsoft Word in a Technologies of Instruction Course I took as a part of my college education and have experience using Word for a multitude of tasks. I have used Word for everything from simple Word Processing to creating business cards to creating posters. I have also had experience teaching certain functions of Word to students as a part of my student teaching experience.

Piano

I took formal piano lessons for 10 years and have been playing the piano for almost 15 years. Through my lessons and college instruction, I received a background in reading music, music theory, and sight reading. Currently, I am the primary pianist for my church.

Proofreading

I have had a great deal of experience and background necessary for proofreading. Through my college education, I have taken courses in writing and grammar. I have also taught writing to middle and high school students. Additionally, I have proofread many students' papers at the college level.

Public Speaking

As an English Education major, in addition to my English training, I received specific training in Public Speaking. I learned how to properly write and outline a Ceremonial Speech, Persuasive Speech, and Informational Speech. I also learned about ethos, pathos, and logos, and the importance of including those in speeches. During my student teaching experience, my senior research students did formal presentations, and I learned a lot about how to teach presentation skills.

Reading

Through my education training at Grove City College, I have had specific training in strategies for improving reading comprehension. I have worked on reading comprehension with middle and high school students through field experiences and student teaching. With my students, I will work on skills such as vocabulary development, using textual features, using context clues, tracking character development, summarizing, making connections, and any other specific skills the individual student needs to develop.

Spanish

I took 4 years of Spanish in high school, and took 2 Spanish courses at the college level. I took an overall course that included grammar, reading, writing, speaking and vocabulary, and I took a Spanish Conversation course. Additionally, I took a service trip to Guatemala, where I was able to use Spanish with native speakers, which greatly improved my speaking and comprehension.

Vocabulary

I have had a great deal of instruction and experience in teaching vocabulary. Through my education background, I have learned many methods for teaching vocabulary, and have experience teaching vocabulary to middle and high school students. I have taught vocabulary in units surrounding literature, in thematic units, and in a unit on Greek and Latin roots. I believe in a variety of methods of exposing students to vocabulary so that the new words will be truly understood and remembered.

Writing

Through my undergraduate education, I have received instruction in Creative and in research writing. I have also had experience teaching writing to 5th, 8th, 10th, and 12th grade students. During these experiences, I helped students write memoir, creative pieces, literary analysis essays, and research papers.

Grove City College (Grove City, PA)
English Education
M.A. Penn State University
Enrolled

Education

Grove City College (Grove City, PA) (English Education)

M.A. Penn State University (Enrolled)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $25.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Emily will travel within 25 miles of Mifflinburg, PA 17844.