Over 20 tutoring hours

Claire H.

Hatboro, PA


Effective Tutor with Master's in Linguistics

Replies in 15 hours
Background check passed as of 4/11/13
4.5 Avg. Rating
2 Ratings
15hrs Response Time

Message Claire

Send Claire a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Claire or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Hillsdale College
French and Sociology
University of Florida
Graduate Coursework


Hillsdale College (French and Sociology)

University of Florida (Graduate Coursework)

About Claire

I have been tutoring students of various ages since I was 15, when I started my own language tutoring business. Since then, I have helped my peers as well as younger students improve their grades and their understanding of English, psychology and foreign languages including French, German, and Spanish.

I have a passion for linguistics, which I discovered my senior year of college. I went to French-speaking Africa in college to pursue my interests in culture and language and completed my senior thesis with honors. I graduated from the Linguistics MA program at University of Florida in May.

I believe that having an excellent command of language is important to a fulfilling life. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to show my students how language can be both fun and relevant to everyday life, and learn how to improve their skills in these areas.

In my free time, I love to read good books, play volleyball, travel the world, and eat delicious food!
I have been tutoring students of various ages since I was 15, when I started my own language tutoring business. Since then, I have helped my peers as well as younger students improve their grades and their understanding of Read more

24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 15 miles of Hatboro, PA 19040
Background Check: Passed
Grammar, Literature,
Public Speaking,
Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Psychology, Sociology
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Reading, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Proofreading,
Public Speaking

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I majored in sociology in college. I took cultural anthropology my sophomore year, and multiple other sociological courses in my major. My senior thesis (for which I received top honors) was on a topic in linguistic anthropology.


When I was in 3rd grade, I participated in an intensive English writing course from CTY; since then I've participated in various courses including literature, creative writing, essay writing, and other facets of English. I also took the English SAT II receiving a 740, and both English AP tests, getting a 4 on both. I have taught students of various ages, from junior high through freshman year of college, how to improve their syntactic, grammatical, and structural English skills.


I have studied French since I was 6 years old; I majored in French at Hillsdale College, and studied in French-speaking West Africa during my undergraduate studies. I worked for two years a French interpreter with an international translation company. I received my MA in Linguistics in May.


I took the new GRE in late 2011, receiving a score of 170 in English, 159 in math, and 5 in writing. I have various books that help with techniques for the GRE. I have learned how to tutor various students in these techniques depending on what you want to learn and what you want to improve on your GRE skills.


I've been an avid reader since a young age (my first book at age 4 was Goodnight Moon, but I've advanced since then). I took the English Literature SAT II and scored 740, as well as the English Literature AP test with a 4. I took two dense courses in literature in college, and feel confident in my ability to help others with literature.

Microsoft PowerPoint

I have made multiple PowerPoint presentations over the years, starting in early high school, that have received accolades from various teachers in various subjects. I've used animations, transitions, music, Internet links, and other resources offered by Microsoft PowerPoint to enhance and enrich my presentations. I can help you navigate PP and I am happy to share my skills and knowledge.


I have a strong eye for correct spelling, punctuation, and other things that make an essay (or other piece of writing) shine. If you need help with proofreading, I'm a reliable tutor. I can help you proofread as well as learn how to proofread yourself.

Public Speaking

During my time in college, I competed on the individual speech team. In Michigan, the forensics circuit is very competitive. I succeeded in receiving high scores for impromptu and platform speeches. I have helped my teammates improve their skills to make their performances more competitive. I have also spoken publicly in front of hundreds of people.

Social Studies

When I was in elementary and middle school, participating in homeschool classes with my father, I loved studying the historical and cultural nature of the world. When I arrived at college, I discovered that my love of cultural discovery continued. I received my BA in sociology (with top honors) and continue to take an interest in social sciences after graduating.


I majored in sociology at Hillsdale College and graduated with honors in the major. I took various sociology courses during my undergraduate career including criminology, pop culture, anthropology, and history of social theory, and have a passion for the field. I studied in French-speaking West Africa for a semester for the purpose of learning about another culture.


I started playing softball when I was 11, and continued to play competitive girl's softball throughout my junior high and high school career, advancing to fast-pitch softball in high school. I played on the varsity team at my school junior and senior years, primarily at third base and shortstop.

Study Skills

When I was in high school, I had to teach myself how to balance life, school, work and extracurricular activities. It can be a challenge, but I have honed the skill and taught multiple students how to perform this same balance. I teach "tricks of the trade" and common-sense study skills while tutoring in specific subjects.


I started writing at a young age. I attended a creative writing workshop with Johns Hopkins CTY when I was 8, and continued with writing from that point forward. It's so important to be able to express yourself coherently. I have extensive experience using words intentionally and clearly and would be happy to help you do the same.

Hillsdale College
French and Sociology
University of Florida
Graduate Coursework


Hillsdale College (French and Sociology)

University of Florida (Graduate Coursework)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $45.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Claire will travel within 15 miles of Hatboro, PA 19040.

Background Check Status for Claire H.

Claire H. passed a background check on 4/11/13. The check was ordered by Claire through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Claire, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.