Over 100 tutoring hours

Alex P.

Carlisle, PA


CRLA Certified Tutor

In-person lessons
4.6 average from 38 ratings
Very positive and patient!!!
— TRINA, Waco, TX on 9/6/12

Message Alex

Send Alex a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response shortly. Have you already emailed Alex or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 1 day
Replies in 1 day

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, Wyzant will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

Axia College of University of Phoenix Online


Axia College of University of Phoenix Online

About Alex

I have tutored college ESL students in English comprehension and literature classes. I am familiar with both APA and MBA formats for reports and papers. I am knowledgeable in general history, government and political science, and I use Word and Exel on a regular basis. I also recently earned my Bachelor's of Science with an emphasis in Human Resources.

I let my students find the information that they need for themselves. I believe that if a student isn't pushed to find the answers for themselves, they will not improve or learn crucial study and research skills. I proofread and then discuss with students how they think they can improve what they are writing. I will NEVER do a student's work for them.

In addition to academics, I do "crafty" tutoring, too. I know cross stitch and satin stitch, and I have been using a sewing machine and serger for over 20 years.
I have tutored college ESL students in English comprehension and literature classes. I am familiar with both APA and MBA formats for reports and papers. I am knowledgeable in Read more

2 hours notice required

Please contact me for a multiple student rate

Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Carlisle, PA 17013
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons

"Very positive and patient!!!"

- TRINA, Waco, TX on 9/6/12

"Very professional!"

- Charnell, Las Vegas, NV on 12/11/11
ACT English, ACT Reading, English, ESL/ESOL,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Adobe Photoshop,
General Computer, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Sign Language
American History, Anthropology,
European History, Government & Politics, Social Studies
Special Needs:
Special Needs
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Spelling, Vocabulary
Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word
Martial Arts,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Adobe Photoshop

I've taken 2 sections of Adobe Photoshop classes and passed with a 90% or better. I am very confident in my use of the program and the likelihood of training another person to use it with competence if not outright success.


Attended Physical Anthropology and received a B, attended Cultural Anthropology and received an A. I still have both texts and all my notes.

Art History

I passed 2 sections of Art History at the college level with an 85% or better. I can identify some artists by style, particularly Impressionist painters.


Although Aspergers is similar to autism, there are facets of an individual's personality that are distinctively different. This can cause difficulties during the school day or during tutoring appointments.

I have the knowledge to cope with these differences and to help students with Aspergers syndrome succeed, regardless of age. Keeping these individuals to a routine that they are comfortable with is key, as is complete knowledge of subject matter.


I have two children with Autism and have either done my own research or taken classes to interact with and address the behavior of children considered to be on the Autistic spectrum.

Both of my children are high functioning; however, I have the knowledge of education and the autistic spectrum that is necessary to help children succeed regarding their educational needs.


I have been cooking for myself and family for over 20 years. Most of what I cook is healthy. During tutoring, "clean as you go" will be stressed, as will keeping to a budget.

Elementary (K-6th)

I have experience with assisting children with basic math, spelling, and reading for these grade levels, as well as experience with remedial classes for ESL students.


During college, I tutored many English as a Second Language students in English, Composition, and Literature, in addition to Math and some basic remedial courses.

Martial Arts

I studied Judo as a child and eventually earned the right to teach the children's classes at our dojo. I am able to coach children and adults in Judo ONLY. I am not familiar with teaching other varieties of martial arts at this time.


I have been completing needlework for over 20 years, with an emphasis in counted cross stitch.


I have been sewing with a regular machine for nearly 30 years and using a serger for 15. I have taught serger and basic machine classes at the Viking sewing gallery. I run a wardrobe department for a not-for-profit play, designing and constructing multiple pieces every season.

Sign Language

I took two sections of ASL during college, I feel confident that I can help ASL students with the basics.

Social Studies

Social Studies are similar to parts of anthropology, in that the two study cultures. Despite being out of my anthropology classes, I still find the study of man and culture fascinating; I received an A in my cultural anthropology course, and still have the text and my notes.

Special Needs

I have over 10 years of experience in interacting with individuals that have been diagnosed with autistic spectrum disorders such as PDD, autism, or Aspergers syndrome. I have two children with autism, and my husband has Aspergers syndrome.

I've found different methods to assist students in coping with stimming and their educational tasks.

Axia College of University of Phoenix Online


Axia College of University of Phoenix Online

Very positive and patient!!! — I was looking for a tutor for my little girl and I found Ms.Alex all of her education and experience really stuck out to me. After seeing her work with my daughter I knew I made the right choice. she is very patient and teaches in a very positive attitude which makes my child feel positive to learn. She cares about your child learning as much as you do. So there for I'm very happy with my choice o ...

— TRINA, Waco, TX on 9/6/12

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $25.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Please contact me for a multiple student rate

Travel policy

Alex will travel within 40 miles of Carlisle, PA 17013.