Over 20 tutoring hours

Elise D.

Claremore, OK


Personable, Well-versed Mathematics and English Tutor

In-person lessons
4.8 average from 8 ratings

Message Elise

Send Elise a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Elise or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 Checking availability…
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
Replies in 13 hours
Replies in 13 hours

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

American InterContinental University


American InterContinental University

About Elise

I work with each individual student to tutor them in the learning style best fit for them. I use a variety of resources, and I follow the student's syllabus to ensure the best chance for a good grade. I will tutor more in-depth material if the student wants to explore it. I am flexible in my time and in location. I only require 2 hours advance notice of a cancellation. Furthermore, I am willing to work with you on cost, if that is an issue. If you need to change your schedule for a week or so to accommodate outside activities, my schedule is somewhat flexible. I am also available for tutoring on an as-needed basis.

We will meet at an agreed-upon place for tutoring. This can be anywhere from a Wendy's to your home to a library or other public place.

The first meeting starts with a short discussion of where you want the tutoring to go and how in-depth you want the tutoring to be. Some students just want to pass the class, and some students want to learn as much about the subject as possible. Scheduling, cost, and alternate plans in case of inclement weather or personal business will also be discussed. After this short discussion, tutoring commences. Tutoring is broken up into three main branches: homework help, teaching of material, and test preparation. The balance of these three things will be unique to each tutee.

I have tutored freelance as well as for Metropolitan Community College-Penn Valley. At MCC-Penn Valley, I worked with disabled and low-income students. I tutor a wide range of math subjects as well as some English subjects.

I took the ACT back in 2003, and received a composite score of 28, an English score of 27, and a math score of 30.

The math courses I have taken and passed are: Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II, Pre-calculus/Trigonometry, Calculus I, Calculus II, Calculus III, Linear Algebra, Ordinary Differential Equations, Proofs, Probability and Statistics, Industrial Engineering Probability, Complex Variables, Operations Research I, Discrete Mathematics, Partial Differential Equations, Simulation of Random Processes, and Abstract Algebra I.
I work with each individual student to tutor them in the learning style best fit for them. I use a variety of resources, and I follow the student's syllabus to ensure the best chance for a good grade. I will tutor more in-depth material if the student wants to explore it. I am flexible in my time and in location. I only require 2 hours advance Read more

2 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Claremore, OK 74019
In-person lessons
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Calculus, Geometry,
Linear Algebra,
SAT Math, Trigonometry
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary,
American History, Geography, Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Study Skills,
Special Needs:
Algebra 1,
Algebra 2,
Calculus, English,
Physics, Prealgebra,
SAT Math, SAT Reading, Study Skills,
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, GED,
SAT Math, SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Corporate Training:
General Computer,

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I have experience working with students with ADD/ADHD, and I am willing to provide a reference for this. Furthermore, I myself have ADD. I have learned study skills and ways of motivating myself that have helped me succeed academically.

Algebra 1

Algebra provides the basics that all the higher maths use. It covers the real numbers, algebraic expressions and equations, graphing, and learning how functions work. I have tutored this before on a college level.

Algebra 2

Algebra II builds on Algebra I and also includes more in-depth material such as complex numbers, conic sections, and various function families such as exponentials, logarithms, and polynomials. While I have not formally tutored this particular subject, I did take the class, pass with good grades, and helped others with it on a peer-to-peer level.


English is my native tongue, and I take pride in being able to use and manipulate it for beauty, interest, clarity and conciseness. This includes the study of literature, the writing of essays, grammar, punctuation, and all the little things that make something proper.


Studying for the GED takes patience and diligence. While I did not take the GED myself--I graduated high school--I know the material of the GED from my experiences in high school and college.

General Computer

I have been using a computer since I can remember. My family had one of those old Commodore 64's when I was very little. Since I was 10 or 12, I have had and maintained my own computer, not shared with anyone. I have been using the internet since before 1995. I have used both the MS and Mac versions of Office.


Geometry is the study of space, be it two or three dimensional. I have a lot of experience in this, from basic problems of area to degrees of angles to more irregular shapes.


Grammar is "the study of the way the sentences of a language are constructed; morphology and syntax." As a native English speaker, I have a good feel for grammar, as well as knowing the rules of grammar.

Linear Algebra

I have taken a linear algebra course before and received a high grade and I have studied it on my own. I have gone through one of my Linear Algebra books and made notes intended to become study guides. It is one of my favorite math subjects.


I have been using a Mac with OS X 10.x on it since 2007. I have learned how to use many of the programs that are shared with Windows OS, such as Google Earth, Adobe Acrobat, Word, and Excel, as well as the Mac specific programs like iCal, iPhoto, and system preferences.


Photography is a hobby of mine, and while I am not a professional, I have a DSLR Nikon D90. I like taking photographs of plants and small animals such as insects as well as family and friends. I have not studied photography though a course, only trial and error, and books on photography. I use the rule of thirds, and I am constantly working on my composition.


Pre-Algebra is the study of the real number system and its properties. This is a subject I am intimately familiar with and have tutored before.


Precalculus is the review of algebra and the study of the real and complex number systems, graphs, functions and the properties of graphs of functions, and trigonometry. I have studied this in depth and have tutored it before.


Probability is the study of how likely something is to happen and how many different ways you can put groups of things together. I have studied this in depth and feel confident that tutoring it will come naturally to me.


Proofreading is the proofing of documents to look for grammatical errors, syntax errors, punctuation and capitalization errors, spelling, and consistent sentence structure, as well as checking for coherence and readability. I am very good at all that. I used to help my classmates on a peer-to-peer level with this.


The Preliminary SAT gives practice for the real SAT and enters the student into the National Merit Scholarship program if s/he qualifies. I took the PSAT and I am familiar with the material on it.


I have helped several students learn to read. It requires patience and encouragement, both of which I have in ample supply.

Study Skills

Over the years, I have learned study skills to keep up with the course. First and foremost is doing homework--at an allotted time. By setting aside a block of time, you take away that "I could be doing something more important (interesting, leisurely, or whatnot)" excuse. There are many other things I have learned help with studying.


I have read a lot in my lifetime and my vocabulary shows it. Science fiction, fantasy, nonfiction. My bookshelf is full to the brim with mostly textbooks and nonfiction books. I also have experience discerning the meaning of words based on context, from reading.

American InterContinental University


American InterContinental University

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $35.00

Cancellation: 2 hours notice required

Travel policy

Elise will travel within 30 miles of Claremore, OK 74019.

Background Check Status for Elise D.

Elise D. has not yet had a background check. After sending a message to Elise, you will be able to order a background check for $7.99. The check will be processed by First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.