Search

Alyse G.

Streetsboro, OH

$50/hour

Specializes in English. Concentrations: Psychology, Language, Music.

50+ Hours
Background check passed as of 4/19/15
4.7 average from 18 ratings

$50/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Alyse will reply soon.

Response time: 15 minutes

Contact Alyse

Kent State University
Psychology

Education

Kent State University (Psychology)

About Alyse

Hello all, My name is Alyse. My lifelong passion is and always has been to help others, and I therefore have lived my life surrounding myself with very educational settings to challenge my knowledge and expand my personal experiences. I have always been a curious person. I always asked questions growing up and continue to because there is always more room to learn. I carefully observe my surroundings and have come to realize that a lot of people have a difficult time learning, retaining information, and trouble comprehending certain information. I began my tutoring experience by reaching out to high school students in need. In doing so, I have been tutoring for 8 years now. I love helping others, and I do not have words to describe the feeling I obtain from seeing their success.

I have earned both my Associate (2011-2013) and Bachelor (2013-2015) Degree(s) in Psychology from Kent State University. I will be entering a graduate program also in the fall of 2017 to obtain a Master's Degree in Psychology, and from what college is still up for debate. During my studies for my undergraduate degrees, I minored in Integrated Language Arts, and have specific concentrations in Literature, Language Arts, Writing, and Poetry. My sub-field specialties are in grammar, spelling, and punctuation. I can assist in a wide variety of subjects outside of these subjects, so please browse my profile and please contact me if the opportunity arises. Thank you!

Respectfully Yours,

Alyse
Hello all, My name is Alyse. My lifelong passion is and always has been to help others, and I therefore have lived my life surrounding myself with very educational settings to challenge my knowledge and expand my personal experiences. I have always been a curious person. I always asked questions growing up and continue to because there is always Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 40 miles of Streetsboro, OH 44241
Background Check: Passed
Art:
Photography
English:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, Bible Studies,
English,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary
Test Preparation:
ACT English,
ACT Reading, SAT Writing
Computer:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Photography
Language:
Reading, Sign Language,
Speech
Special Needs:
Phonics, Reading, Sign Language,
Study Skills
Elementary Education:
Grammar, Handwriting,
Phonics, Reading, Spelling,
Study Skills, Vocabulary
Business:
Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
Sports/Recreation:
Ballet,
Golf,
Tennis, Volleyball,
Yoga

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

ACT English

On the additional writing composition section that is optional on the ACT, I scored a 10 on a scale of 2-12. I excel in English above all, and this is hands down my favorite subject. I want to help others who have a difficult time in any English related subjects.

Ballet

Ballet is a common yet elegant and graceful form of art. I was a ballerina in my teenage years, and can assist/teach anyone interested in learning more about the dance or specific moves such as a pirouette, aplomb, plié, jèté, arabesque, sauté, chassé, etc.

Bible Studies

I am a certified Sunday School teacher at a church near my home.

Drums

I began playing drums about 8 years ago. It's the first instrument I took interest in. My tutoring includes how to correctly setup individual drums, adding helpful features for better sound quality, how to tune drums, and how to multi-task (for those with difficulties in doing so). Then, how to incorporate into music.

English

I've excelled in English my whole life. When I was in middle school, I received a grade of (13+; beyond high school level) on the Ohio state proficiency tests. I specialize in spelling, reading, writing, grammar, punctuation, poetry, and proofreading.

General Music

I was in middle school/high school choir for a total of six years, combined with lessons from family members and friends in the band. I joined a band in high school in which I shifted positions between lead vocalist to drums. I play multiple instruments including piano, guitar, drums, ukulele, etc. I am more than happy to help a person(s) understand the general concepts of music, how it came to be, why our music is the way it is today, and any thing else under the sky that categorizes. Basically, if anyone has questions about music, I've got the answer and can help!

Golf

I've been playing golf with my family and friends ever since I was first introduced to the sport at a young age. Everyone wanted to go to an amusement park, and I wanted to go to a golfing range. My father golfed for a living and showed me very important tactics. Can tutor in game basics, understanding, concepts, diversity, par, positions, locations, the main principles, stances, seasons, etc.

Guitar

I've been playing acoustic/electric guitar for seven years now, and am self- taught. I have the talent to play by ear. Understanding the basics for guitar is the main objective. I can help with studying and memorizing scales, string order, string picking or chord strumming, how to re-string a guitar, how to store it when not in use, how and when to use a tuner and alternatives if you don't have one. How to run a sound check is important for playing shows/live. If someone also sings and plans to accompany themselves with their guitar, we can go over ways to reroute a sound check/set up, set list, rules for unplugged performances, and the best ways to maintain control.

Handwriting

I have very neat handwriting, and would be more than willing to help pass that on. Print AND cursive. Writing paces, fonts, sizes, eras, line thickness, context, different ways to write and shape letters and numbers, visual necessities, penmanship vitality, and last but not least, symbols/different languages. My biggest goal is to help those who have very sloppy/illegible handwriting.

Music Production

I've been composing music, studying the history of music, and why music came to be what it is today. Over generations music has grown and changed dramatically and the turnout is astounding. However, understanding music is an important factor in learning about musical pieces and their composers; Mozart, Beethoven, etc. I've sang and played instruments ever since I was physically able and enjoy sharing that passion with others. I write music, I compose instrumental pieces with different instruments and I work to string them together and create works of art. I use programs such as GarageBand, Starmaker, and Smule Karaoke to record and compose musical pieces, and I then add my lyrics.

Piano

I've been playing piano for 6 years now. Tutoring will include, all important skills and basic principles, how to play with both hands simultaneously, assistance so with multi-tasking, introducing simple and popular pieces of work, discover of middle C and its means on a piano, the classic scale and letters, how many keys of each color, reason for seating and foot pedals, proper posture for body, hands, and fingers, and maintenance of elegance for performances.

Sign Language

I've taken ASL 1, 2, and 3. I've attended deaf seminars, public meetings, signing-song contests, and deaf coffee shop events. I tutor in all the basic rules, do's and don'ts in the American Sign Language, point of view and signer's perspective, the alphabet, idioms, figures of speech, special phrases, storytelling, and counting dollars and cents.

Songwriting

With a specialty in poetry, composition, and standard/creative writing basics, I tutor in common schemas in poetry, themes, genres, poetic formats, different poetry styles, famous poets and examples, famous artists and their outstanding lyrics, and the importance of rhyming while obtaining meaning. I've been writing songs/lyrics ever since I could hold a pencil, and have quite the collection of my own. I'd love to teach others or help students who suffer from writer's block.

Speech

I've been working with children in a speech therapy unit for three years now. I absolutely love it. I love seeing their faces light up upon their success and relief from frustration. More importantly, their parents are so thankful because they lost hope in ever finding a solution for their children. There's always hope, so don't give up! I'm here to help.

Spelling

I excel in English, as it is my minor in college for my undergraduate degree, and I am a teaching assistant at Kent State University. Feel free to observe my profile and check out all of my qualifications, which I have been tested through WyzAnt.

Voice (Music)

I am a singer and I began singing when I was four. I auditioned for American Idol in 2012 (completing the second round) and auditioned for The Voice in 2014 (completing the fourth round). I have a smorgasbord of videos across web media. I was in a band in high school where I was the lead vocalist in an all boy band. I play live, unplugged covers and some original pieces at coffee houses/shops, also upon invitation. I partake in karaoke night at local bars/restaurants. I want to help others who want to learn how to sing, control their breathing, low and high pitches, differences between chest and head voice and how to appropriately switch between them while maintaining a smooth tone. In addition, vocal projection is important and so is pitch. I'd really like to help those who are tone deaf, and help them stray from that.

Volleyball

I played volleyball in grades 7-12. I absolutely loved it because it's my favorite sport of all time. I'd like to teach others the basic principles, answer questions anyone may have, provide examples for team work and gameplay. The most important assets include: dig, ace, bump, set, spike, and proper floor rotation.

Kent State University
Psychology

Education

Kent State University (Psychology)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $50.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Alyse will travel within 40 miles of Streetsboro, OH 44241.