Search

Holly M.

Dayton, OH

$40/hour

Patient, creative teacher who matches lesson to person's needs

In-person lessons
Background check passed as of 5/31/16
5.0 average from 2 ratings

$40/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Holly will reply soon.

Response time: 4 hours

Contact Holly

Wittenberg University
Music
Xavier University
MEd

Education

Wittenberg University (Music)

Xavier University (MEd)

About Holly

I am a state certified teacher (K-3) and Montessori certified teacher (ages 3-6), with a Masters in Education. I approach teaching by observing and listening first, so I know where any struggle lies, what is important and natural to the learner, what interests I can use to attract them, and whether they are going to learn best by watching, doing, listening, creating, playing, talking, or a combination. But finding what works one day does not always work another day or with another subject, so I change to a different approach as we are working, to ensure a feeling of success. I believe it is important to feel success and a sense of ease in order to desire to do the practice that cements the learning. This is true at 5, 15, or 50 years old!

Examples of practice or teaching methods with phonics, learning to read, with numbers and math skills, or with most any subject, include using many beautiful objects and pictures to attract a student to practice their work, worksheets for those who enjoy that (especially continued at home), interesting books, making up chants or moving to music or simply moving in order to learn, making or doing puzzles or games together, drawing, and 'rote' teaching, whatever combination works best. Most learning needs to be applied in different ways in order to really comprehend, so I use multiple activities, and, most importantly, a transition between them, so that it feels familiar. I can create activities for the parent and child to work on together as well. I have been successful with many who struggled because they weren't 'catching on', but they needed something different, and it almost always started with being accepted for who they were and what they saw and what they were trying to do.

I have taught pre-school and kindergarten age children, and even toddlers, for 20 years. Prior to that, I was an academic advisor with college age students, a financial planner with adults, and a student in 3 correspondence courses, where I learned what it was like to learn 'on your own!' It was suddenly 'not so easy' to learn, and I had to figure out how to remember and apply what I was reading. So, whether you are the parent of a toddler, kindergartner, teenager, or are an adult yourself, I really think I can help you reach your learning goal.

I think I am especially good at working with those who lack confidence because they have not felt understood or appreciated for their way of doing things.

I studied Music Theory in college, and have played piano, sung in choirs and read music since I was 10 years old.

I'm sure we can work out something that will be helpful to you in trying to meet your goal, at convenient times, and make any necessary changes as we work together.
I am a state certified teacher (K-3) and Montessori certified teacher (ages 3-6), with a Masters in Education. I approach teaching by observing and listening first, so I know where any struggle lies, what is important and natural to the learner, what interests I can use to attract them, and whether they are going to learn best by watching, doing, Read more

Policies
Cancellation
1 hour notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 30 miles of Dayton, OH 45439
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Music:
General Music,
Music Theory, Piano
English:
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading,
Vocabulary
Language:
Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math,
Grammar, Handwriting,
Homeschool,
Phonics,
Reading,
Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am certified with a Masters Degree in K-3 Education, with Montessori Certification in ages 3-6 years old. I taught Kindergarten for 17 years. I have taken Professional Development courses every year while in teaching. I have completed coursework beyond a Masters in new areas of learning.

Elementary Math

I am a State certified (K-3) and Montessori certified teacher, with a Masters in Education and further coursework involving the brain and learning. I have taught early Math skills to young children, laying the groundwork for higher level Math, for 20 years. Prior to teaching, I was a financial planner and Banker for 10 years, so have experience in applying the early Math skills in career and everyday life. Adding interest to Math concepts can make it easier, as can finding the way to make learning 'click', which has been essential in working with young children, and is no less important as we get older!

General Music

I was a music major in college. I have taken all the music history, theory, and related courses, majored in voice performance and minored in piano. I took piano and voice lessons as a child, learning to read music and sight-sing music. I continue to sight sing as an adult every week in choir practice.

Handwriting

I have taught young children to write for almost 20 years. I have attended workshops on handwriting. I have attended courses on the brain that included reasons why eyesight or tracking can affect handwriting. The Montessori works we used were especially prepared with attention to the grasp on knobs that would be similar to the grasp for holding a pencil. I am familiar with different methods of practicing the primary strokes for making letters, whether manuscript, D'Nealian, or cursive.

Homeschool

I would be able to work with the parents or find out the appropriate information to determine the requirements for homeschooling. I am certified to teach K-3 in Ohio. I have many years experience working with parents at conferences in which I made or chose activities they could do with their children.

Phonics

I was trained in teaching phonics at Xavier University, receiving a Masters in Education. Being a Montessori certified teacher, the training was always in phonics, not whole language. Phonics was used not only to prepare for reading, even with pre-schoolers, but also for sounding out what a child wanted to write. I am familiar with many hands-on activities that practice phonics as well.

Piano

I took piano lessons as a child for several years and minored in piano in college. I could teach 'beginning' piano. I play piano as needed for a training choir of four-year-olds at my church or to practice choir music at home.

Prealgebra

I was a financial planner and banker for a total of 10 years before teaching for 20 years. I worked with 6-12 year olds for 3 years in after school care or teaching recorder; otherwise I was teaching Math concepts to young children, but with Montessori materials that really laid the groundwork for higher Math. So, besides truly enjoying Math, which is so important in teaching it(!), using Prealgebra skills in my financial career and in everyday living, and
teaching experience, I believe I have the skills and resourcefulness to find the way to make those prealgebra concepts fun and easy for students.

Reading

I am a State certified K-3, and Montessori certified teacher, with a Masters in Education, and have taught children to read for 17 years. Though I primarily use the Montessori language vehicles, I adapt those or create material as needed. I observe in order to assess what links may be missing in the chain of reading, and then focus on those and incorporate what is already known. Practice, interesting items to read, and successful 'small steps' combine to unlock the mystery of reading. There is much evidence that fluency, as well as phonemic awareness, are important in learning to read. I have used many vehicles over the years to aid with these, and with learning to read.

Study Skills

My experience helping families improve study skills was that they felt improvement when using an environment they considered conducive to studying, at routine times. Conducive to studying would typically include a lack of interruptions, a place to write, and everything one needed. The general need for nutrition and sleep and exercise and even fun, though, is essential. The presence of someone near enough to get a question answered, without interrupting, intimidating, or helping too much is helpful, as is adequate lighting and a comfortable place to sit, stand, or walk. Study skills, themselves, involve taking helpful notes, asking yourself questions, manipulating objects, reviewing, knowing how a book lesson is organized, and having a plan for working on small chunks at a time, feeling successful.

Wittenberg University
Music
Xavier University
MEd

Education

Wittenberg University (Music)

Xavier University (MEd)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 1 hour notice required

Travel policy

Holly will travel within 30 miles of Dayton, OH 45439.