NEW FEATURES MORE

Search

Francesca M.

Beachwood, OH

$60/hour

English, Math, Science, SAT/College prep, Swimming, Basic Music

$60/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Francesca will reply soon.

Response time: 9 hours

Contact Francesca

Case Western Reserve University
Education, Biology

Education

Case Western Reserve University (Education, Biology)

About Francesca

I began teaching when I was in 8th grade and have taught a wide range of subjects in a wide range of settings. My first job was babysitting and tutoring elementary school work. I have also taught in-water swimming lessons (my specialty), tutored for math, writing, SATs, general elementary reading and math and chemistry and taught Sunday school and chapel. Musical endeavors include teaching piano, hand bells, tone chimes, and youth choir. Other teaching activities have included coaching swim team, participating as an instructor in a Saturday tutoring program, weight lifting instruction, instructing college application workshops, and was in charge of facilitating the hospital internships at my high school. I have done some teacher observations in fairly disadvantaged schools, Montessori schools, and an alternative middle/high school. I spent a semester working in a 7th grade science classroom and a 1-3 grade Montessori lower elementary classroom.

My general tactic when teaching anything is to try many different methods of presenting the information so that the student is able to best understand and absorb it. Since I am a tactile learner and learn better by working my way through problems rather than simply listening or seeing information presented, I generally present information in less traditional ways. This means that I will try to teach trough modeling or physical representations of the information if that helps, and that I am familiar with many different learning styles. I am also happy to try to come up with ideas for how to help my students outside of just general tutoring, such as suggesting study skills/habits or parental involvement. Many of my students have IEPs or have developmental and attention-related disabilities, so I am quite comfortable with challenging or unique situations.

I am a college graduate interested in attending medical school in the future and studied in chemistry, biology, psychology and education. Currently, I am working as the primary instructor/director of a non-profit organization that works to give disadvantaged middle and high school students the opportunity to learn about the medical profession and also provides instruction on applying to college, professionalism, and SATs.

I am able to drive to most of the Cleveland area and my price per hour is slightly negotiable on an individual basis.
I began teaching when I was in 8th grade and have taught a wide range of subjects in a wide range of settings. My first job was babysitting and tutoring elementary school work. I have also taught in-water swimming lessons (my specialty), tutored for math, writing, SATs, general elementary reading and math and chemistry and taught Sunday school and Read more

Policies
Cancellation
24 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Beachwood, OH 44122
Math:
ACT Math, Algebra 1, Algebra 2, Calculus, Discrete Math, Elementary Math, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Statistics
Science:
ACT Science, Anatomy, Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Geology, Nursing, Nutrition, Physical Science, Physiology, Psychology, Sociology
Music:
Drums, Piano,
Sight Singing, Voice (Music)
English:
ACT English, English, ESL/ESOL, Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Public Speaking,
Reading, SAT Reading,
SAT Writing, TOEFL, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Math, ACT Science, AFOQT,
ASVAB, College Counseling, GED, GRE, MCAT, Praxis, PSAT, SAT Math, SAT Reading,
SAT Writing, TOEFL
Computer:
Computer Science, General Computer, Microsoft Access, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Publisher, Microsoft Windows, Microsoft Word, SAS
Language:
ESL/ESOL, TOEFL
Special Needs:
ADD/ADHD, Aspergers, Autism, Phonics
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Math, Elementary Science, Grammar, Phonics, Reading, Spelling, Study Skills,
Vocabulary
Business:
GRE, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word, Public Speaking
Sports/Recreation:
Bodybuilding, Cooking, Swimming,
Water Polo

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

AFOQT

I have been a standardized tutor for nearly a decade and a lot of experience teaching the reading comprehension, writing, and math (algebra, geometry, and reasoning) skills that are seen on this qualifying exam. I am also from a military family and have a lot of experience with the entrance processes and exams for all branches.

Elementary (K-6th)

I tutored a 4th grader for 4-5 hours a week over the span of about a year. I reviewed math facts, practiced reading and pronunciation skills, and helped him complete his homework each tutoring session. I have also had experience in a 1-3rd grade Montessori classroom and have learned about different education techniques through education classes in college.

Piano

I was a substitute piano teacher for students at my church and that I babysat. I also was the pianist for the children's choir at my church and have been taking piano for many years. I am competent at teaching note reading, memory devices for learning notes and key signatures and am extremely patient. I would work best teaching beginner and intermediate students.

Public Speaking

I have tutored a doctor and masters students in speech and pronunciation as well as professionalism and confidence in public speaking. I have worked with people going through interviews for jobs, residencies, and colleges, as well as students preparing for class presentations and speeches.
Additionally, I have worked with middle and high school students as they present research at the end of biomedical programs.

SAT Reading

SAT prep at local high school (2 years)
TOEFL/standardized test prep at music university in college (1 year)
SAT prep for high school students (7 years intermittently over 15 years)
Other standardized test prep (15 years)

Study Skills

I have taken a study skills course in college and know many ways to help manage time and information so that learning is more manageable. I can help scheduling, provide organizational techniques, give broad overviews of subjects, teach outlining and note taking skills, and assist in general structure of study habits.

Swimming

I was a varsity swimmer throughout high school, coached swim team and have taught group and one-on-one in-water lessons for over ten years. I have taught through Curl-Burke swim club, Tollefson swimming, and privately arranged swim lessons. I know how to teach each stroke technically correctly and how to increase stamina and endurance for more advanced swimmers.

Case Western Reserve University
Education, Biology

Education

Case Western Reserve University (Education, Biology)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $60.00

Cancellation: 24 hours notice required

Travel policy

Francesca will travel within 20 miles of Beachwood, OH 44122.