Kelly D.

Syracuse, NY


Experienced, Certified, and Patient English Tutor

In-person lessons
20+ Hours
5.0 average from 27 ratings
— Cristina, Boca Raton, FL on 1/27/15


Send a message explaining your needs and Kelly will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Kelly

New College of Florida
English Literature


New College of Florida (English Literature)

About Kelly


About Me
I am a certified English grades 6-12 teacher (in the state of Florida). I have recently moved up to Plymouth, PA.

I graduated from New College of Florida (the honors college of Florida) in May 2014 with a Bachelor's degree in English Literature. My final year there I researched, wrote, and successfully defended a 70 page senior thesis on my favorite author, Jane Austen. In high school I took a total of 7 AP courses (including English Language and Composition, English Literature, Biology, American History, etc). In college I went on to take advanced level English Literature classes, including but not limited to: a composition tutorial, a critical theory course, and many classes in different periods and genres of literature. My favorite period and region is late 18th Century to early 20th Century British literature but I enjoy all decades and genres!

I have applied to graduate schools for a Master's of Library Science (specializing in archives and preservation) and have been accepted to all schools I applied to. I will be making a final decision shortly and beginning work this fall. After I finish my master's degree I will be moving on to the PhD.

I have worked as a 9th grade English teacher in Florida. While at that school I also taught Journalism, Communications, and Intensive Reading for grades 9-12. I have also been a tutor for about 3 years now, and teacher's assistant on numerous occasions. In June of 2013 I worked for Duke TIP (Talent Identification Program) as a teacher's assistant at their Texas A&M location for an English literature course. I was hired to work for Duke TIP again in June and July of 2014, this time at Rice University in Houston. I have much experience with helping students achieve their educational goals.

Most of my experience has been with grades 6-12. I tend to prefer working with high school, college, and adult learners but I am not opposed to younger students under the right circumstances.

What I Offer
I am available to tutor in English, English literature, reading, writing, proof-reading, and essay research and writing. I am familiar with MLA standards and how to do advanced research including using databases. I am also available to assist with test preparation, specifically any writing/reading portions of the SAT, ACT, Praxis, GRE, etc.

My availability tends to fluctuate week to week but do not hesitate to contact me with your preferred times. I am pretty flexible and I'm sure we can work something out that fits everyone's schedules. However, please try to provide me with at least two days notice so we have plenty of time to plan. It is typical for me to want to read, re-read, and annotate your work, as well as design a plan for our meeting beforehand.

I would prefer to tutor in a public location (e.g. libraries, cafes, etc). However, if your child is younger (typically before high school age) I am willing to tutor at your residence. If you would like to stay at the location we choose, that's fine too. Please allow for a 24 hour cancellation notice even though my policy is not to charge a cancellation fee unless cancelled within 8 hours. I am amenable to make-up classes.

I believe that part of what helps foster academic improvement is overcoming challenges. It is my aspiration to help students set personal goals and meet them. I encourage organization and good time management practices. I will communicate with the student's teachers if requested. I will help with homework and studying, as well as assign extra work when appropriate. I will also provide progress reports if so desired.

Also, if you are in your undergraduate years at college and merely need someone to review/edit your papers, but do not otherwise require assistance (i.e. no face-to-face meeting), contact me to talk about a potentially reduced rate.

Thank you for taking the time to read my profile. I look forward to hearing from you!

About Me
I am a certified English grades 6-12 teacher (in the state of Florida). I have recently moved up to Plymouth, PA.

I graduated from New College of Florida (the honors college of Florida) in May 2014 with a Bachelor's degree in English Literature. My final year there I researched, wrote, and successfully
Read more

8 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 10 miles of Syracuse, NY 13210
In-person lessons


- Cristina, Boca Raton, FL on 1/27/15
Kelly replied on 1/27/2015

Thank you for your feedback, Cristina!

Common Core,
ACT English, ACT Reading, English,
Grammar, Literature,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing, Vocabulary, Writing
Test Preparation:
ACT English, ACT Reading, Common Core,
GRE, Praxis,
SAT Reading, SAT Writing
Special Needs:
Common Core,
Elementary Education:
Common Core,
Grammar, Reading,
Vocabulary, Writing
GRE, Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Common Core

I have worked as a certified high school grade 9 English (a common core class) teacher. Much of that experience is centered around preparing the students for the state standardized tests. I, therefore, have particular knowledge of common core requirements.


English has always been my strongest subject. In high school I took several AP classes in English. I recently graduated from a top Florida honors college with a BA in English Literature. I have worked with many students on numerous occasions in academic settings to help them improve varying levels of competency in English.


I received a BA in English Literature from New College of Florida, where most of the curriculum is based on close readings and deep analysis. My senior thesis focused on a complicated technique Jane Austen uses in "Pride and Prejudice" and "Mansfield Park" to add depth to her characters. I have been a teacher's assistant for a total of four literature classes.


I am familiar with the format of educator tests. I have a teaching certification for English grades 6-12 and experience in the classroom. I have also helped students specifically with test preparation, both in formal and informal settings.


In college I took a private class on advanced academic writing techniques. I have helped many students strengthen their drafts (academic or creative) in order to attain successful grades.


Besides being a voracious reader for personal pleasure (currently working on a 50 book reading list), I spent the vast majority of my undergraduate career analyzing texts. Classes at New College were designed to teach students how to "digest" a passage for meaning, and how to eloquently express your understanding of it. Most of my work day at Duke TIP revolved around having serious discussions with students about the implications of the assigned readings.


I wrote a successful 70 page thesis on a complicated technique Jane Austen employed in two of her most famous books, in order to give more depth to her characters. Besides that, during my undergraduate career I wrote a plethora of analytical/research papers. In high school I won county awards for creative pieces I wrote, and I still write for pleasure often.

New College of Florida
English Literature


New College of Florida (English Literature)


Not only was she patient but she explained everything thoroughly. She even reviewed a prior assignment and brought it with her to our session, in order to show me grammar techniques to keep in mind. If you are searching for an English tutor...look no further because she's FANTASTIC!

— Cristina, Boca Raton, FL on 1/27/15

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $40.00

Cancellation: 8 hours notice required

Travel policy

Kelly will travel within 10 miles of Syracuse, NY 13210.