Over 10 tutoring hours

Stacy W.

Oakland Gardens, NY


Special Education Teacher

In-person lessons
Replies in 7 hours
5.0 Avg. Rating
5 Ratings
7hrs Response Time

Message Stacy

Send Stacy a message explaining your needs and you will receive a response by email. Have you already emailed Stacy or another tutor? If so, you have an account! Sign in now

 This tutor hasn’t set his or her schedule.
Please enter the tutor's email address.
Please enter the student's email address.
Please describe how you heard about us.
I have read and agree to the terms of use. *

Receive responses from additional tutors

If you select this option, WyzAnt will ask interested tutors to contact you by email if they are able to help. A maximum of five different tutors will email you and none of your personal information, including your email address, will be released.

C.W Post
C.W Post


C.W Post (Education)

C.W Post (Master's)

About Stacy

My credentials include a Master's Degree in Special Education, a Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education, and 4 years of direct instructional experience. I am certified in Childhood Education grades 1-6 and Middle School grades 5-9.

I am currently working as a resource room teacher in a middle school where I assist students in social studies, science, mathematics, Spanish, and English. I also have started to work with 9th grade and 10th grade students on English and mathematics(algebra, geometry). I have taught 6th and 7th grade math and science. My experiences have helped me become a well-rounded and compassionate individual, who takes student's unique goals, needs, and interests into account.
My credentials include a Master's Degree in Special Education, a Bachelor's Degree in Elementary Education, and 4 years of direct instructional experience. I am certified in Childhood Education grades 1-6 and Middle School grades 5-9.

I am currently
Read more

10 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 20 miles of Oakland Gardens, NY 11364
Background Check: Passed
In-person lessons
Algebra 1, Linear Algebra, Prealgebra
Grammar, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary
Biology, Genetics,
Microsoft Word
Social Studies
Elementary Education:
Elementary (K-6th),
Elementary Science, Grammar, Reading, Study Skills,
Microsoft Word
Algebra 1, Biology, Elementary (K-6th),
Prealgebra, Reading, Study Skills
Test Preparation:
Corporate Training:
Grammar, Microsoft Word, Proofreading

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.


I am a special education teacher who has been working with students with special needs for a little over 4 years now. I have experience working with students with ADD/ADHD and have found multiple strategies to help these students focus and understand concepts that they are struggling to comprehend when it is taught within the classroom. I think that students with ADD/ ADHD greatly benefit from working with a tutor one-on-one.


I am currently a special education teacher who works with students that are learning disabled and on the autism spectrum. I have many experiences working with student's with Aspergers, including currently tutoring a student with Aspergers.


Have worked at the genesis school for autism, worked at the School for Language and Communication Development where students were on the spectrum, and I currently work as a special education teacher as a self-contained teacher where a few of my students are on the spectrum. I also have taken and passed the autism workshop and my certification is in special education.

Elementary (K-6th)

I am certified in elementary education grades 1 through 6. I currently tutor my nieces who are in first and I tutor for one other child in math who is in 6th grade. I greatly enjoy tutoring on the elementary level because I am currently teaching at a middle school/ high school. I would be excited to take on more elementary students since that was the level in which I first wanted to teach when I went for teaching.


I have many experiences tutoring and teaching genetics to students. I taught genetics my first year teaching and I took 2 years of biology in college. Besides being able to teach genetics I also enjoy learning about and teaching genetics, which I feel helps the kids to enjoy learning about genetics.


I have many experiences teaching and getting students ready for state tests. I prepared 10th grade students how to prepare and practice for the geometry regents and I had all my students pass the Regents with a 75 and higher. I also like to teach my students test-taking strategies which I always do for my special education students. All students can benefit from using strategies.

Social Studies

I currently work in a middle school as a resource room teacher, in which I assist students with most of their major subjects. One subject in which I frequently work with them is social studies so I am familiar with 6th, 7th, and 8th grade social studies. I also tutor a 7th grade student in social studies.

Special Needs

I have four years of direct instructional experience teaching special education students in 6th and 7th grade math and science. I have experience with tiered lessons in which I applied differentiated instruction to meet the needs of each student. I currently work as a resource room teacher in a middle school in Glen Cove where I work with students in small groups and 1-on-1 with test preparation and to improve students study skills, organizational skills,and self-advocacy. I also provide push in support to assist the classroom teacher and students.

Study Skills

As a resource room teacher my job is to teach my students organizational skills and study skills. I teach my students all unique ways to study and I also teach them different strategies they can use.

C.W Post
C.W Post


C.W Post (Education)

C.W Post (Master's)

Hourly fee

Standard Hourly Fee: $75.00

Cancellation: 10 hours notice required

Travel policy

Stacy will travel within 20 miles of Oakland Gardens, NY 11364.

Background Check Status for Stacy W.

Stacy W. passed a background check on 3/6/12. The check was ordered by Stacy through First Advantage. For more information, please review the background check information page.

After sending a message to Stacy, you will be able to order a new background check for $7.99. As part of your tutor selection process, we encourage you to run updated background checks. Please also review the safety tips for hiring tutors.