NEW FEATURES MORE

Search
Over 10 tutoring hours

Phillip K.

New York, NY

$35/hour

Passionate about math and German language and culture

In-person lessons
5.0 average from 3 ratings

$35/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Phillip will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Phillip

Fordham University
Math and Economics

Education

Fordham University (Math and Economics)

About Phillip

I am currently a student at Fordham University studying mathematics and economics. I am passionate about math and believe that it is possible for anyone to find some joy or satisfaction in mathematics -- and that, I believe, is path to succeeding in the subject. I also grew up in Germany and graduated from high school there after moving internationally, giving me fluent German skills and a great appreciation for German culture that I would also love to pass on through German tutoring. I enjoy tutoring because it's been a part of my life with my younger sister for the past six years -- helping her understand math and sciences and seeing her improvement gives me a sense that what I'm doing actually makes a difference.
When tutoring, I will make sure that you gain a proper understanding of the material. Not just knowledge of the material, but actual understanding -- the difference is huge. Instead of just teaching what to do or how things work, I will make sure you understand the reasoning behind for example certain mathematical theorems or grammatical structures. Only then will materials actually stick properly. If one understands the reason behind and the application of a concept, then it is properly understood and will be remembered. This is how I believe a person should be tutored.

Most of my tutoring experience comes from tutoring my sister. Throughout my education, I never had much trouble. My sister, however, was different. She was always creative and more the artistic type -- from second grade onwards she started struggling with basic math. Although still a kid myself at the time, I tutored her for extra allowance from my parents. I kept that up for years and found that she only remembered things if she really understood them, which helped me develop my approach to tutoring. In high school, I was then part of the maths club and tutored struggling peers. I thus have experience tutoring both young children and teenagers up to seniors in high school. As for my educational background, I completed my Abitur in Germany with "Leistungskurse" -- majors -- in mathematics and biology and am now pursuing my BA in mathematics and economics at Fordham University at Lincoln Center, where I currently hold a 3.9 GPA.

Math has always been my strongest subject. Throughout my education, I have taken various classes in the fields calculus, linear algebra, statistics, and I have applied these skills in the economics aspect of my current studies. I see applying mathematical skills as crucial to understanding and enjoying mathematics as otherwise an instructor is faced with questions like "what will I ever use this for? How is calculus ever going to help me?" that can get in the way of finding motivation to learn math. Furthermore, a major barrier to understanding maths in school is that teachers often will teach concepts without showing the reasoning behind them or only giving a dry proof to say "here you go, this works" without having students fully understand why a certain theorem works.

I grew up in Germany raised as a bilingual child. I spoke only English at home, and only German in school. I then moved overseas for middle school and part of high school only to return to Germany to complete my last two years of high school there. This gave me excellent proficiency of both the English and the German language, which is essential to teach in. German properly to an English speaker. To some people's surprise, knowing English is a HUGE advantage to learning German. There are so many connections between the two languages. For example, have you ever wondered what's up with the 'ght' in English words such as night, light or eight? These all stem from their German counterparts that instead end in 'cht' -- Nacht, Licht and Acht. Making connections between English and German, I feel, is the most efficient way for someone to learn German.

I am located in the 90s on the West Side and am willing to tutor pretty much anywhere in Manhattan. I can be flexible with hours and adjust for you anytime that doesn't interfere with my class schedule. I can come to your school or home or any place you would want me to tutor. I'm friendly and will enjoy seeing your improvement!
I am currently a student at Fordham University studying mathematics and economics. I am passionate about math and believe that it is possible for anyone to find some joy Read more

Policies
Cancellation
3 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 5 miles of New York, NY 10024
In-person lessons
Math:
Algebra 1, Calculus, Differential Equations, Geometry, Prealgebra, Precalculus, SAT Math, Statistics
Science:
Biology, Genetics, Philosophy
Music:
Guitar
Test Preparation:
SAT Math
Language:
German
Business:
Economics

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

Fordham University
Math and Economics

Education

Fordham University (Math and Economics)

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $35.00

Cancellation: 3 hours notice required

Travel policy

Phillip will travel within 5 miles of New York, NY 10024.