Search

Eddie P.

New York, NY

$65/hour

SAT, GRE, Reading, Writing, Math & more!

50+ Hours
4.8 average from 13 ratings
Patient and thorough
— Chavita, New York, NY on 3/29/16

$65/Hour


Send a message explaining your needs and Eddie will reply soon.

Response time:

Contact Eddie

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Religious Studies

Education

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Religious Studies)

About Eddie

I am a May 2015 of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the nation’s first public university. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies, with minors in History and Creative Writing. Since I began tutoring in September 2015, I have helped many students improve their reading, writing, math and history skills. I have worked mainly with high school and middle school students, helping to improve grades and raise test scores. Before working formally as a tutor, I had worked with students aged 8 to 18 as a mentor and camp counselor. I believe it is my love of learning, combined with my very practical sense of students' needs and goals, that sets me apart as a tutor.

I work to help students grasp not just the content, but also the academic skill sets that will prepare them to respond to new challenges with confidence. With a patient dedication to the building of deep understanding, I guide students to their own “a-ha!” moments; these moments lend students the self-assurance and energy they need to move forward.

I tutor students of a broad range of academic levels in diverse subjects areas. I enjoy helping students with math (namely pre-Algebra, Algebra and Geometry), reading, writing, social sciences and history, as well as all three sections of the SAT. Throughout my academic career, I always stood out as a curious, intelligent and eager student. In high school, I scored a 2250 (out of 2400) on the SAT: 730 on reading, 720 on math, 800 on writing.

I have a 12-hour cancellation policy. I live on the Upper West Side near a 2/3 express stop, and am willing to travel by bus and/or subway up to an hour. I can meet with the student in almost any location of your choosing - your home, a coffee shop, a library.

When it comes to math help and SAT math preparation, I work to provide not only the necessary content review, but helpful problem-solving strategies, as well. I have never come across an SAT math problem that I have not been able to solve in a timely manner. I work to explain math to my students in a way that they can understand.

Since childhood, I have had a particular passion for reading and writing. As a student of creative writing in college, I was asked to give comprehensive editorial commentary on the work of my many peers, all of whom had different objectives and writing styles. I took that task very seriously, and as a tutor, I offer the very same dedication and close attention to detail, as well as the space to let my students’ ideas to flourish independently. I look forward to helping students of a wide range of ambitions, from the practical and logistical to the creative and ambitious.

Regarding the study of American history, I have a knowledge base that comes with a lifetime of reading, and a set of skills that comes with rigorous university education. My college minor was History. My junior year, I received a $5,000 grant from my university to carry out a historical research project at an archive here in New York City. I have written research papers on a wide range of subjects, from Puritan proselytizing to mass migration.

I invite anyone interested in my services to contact me with any questions! Happy studies!
I am a May 2015 of The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the nation’s first public university. I received my Bachelor of Arts in Religious Studies, with minors in History and Creative Writing. Since I began tutoring in September 2015, I have helped many students improve their reading, writing, math and history skills. I have worked Read more

Policies
Cancellation
12 hours notice required
Travel Radius
Travels within 12 miles of New York, NY 10025
Background Check: Passed

"Patient and thorough"

- Chavita, New York, NY on 3/29/16

"Helping with Homework"

- Marva, Brooklyn, NY on 4/7/16

"Smart, nice!"

- Issa, New York, NY on 3/26/16
Math:
Algebra 1, Elementary Math, Geometry, Prealgebra
English:
English,
Grammar, Literature, Proofreading, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Language:
Reading, Writing
History:
American History, European History, Geography, Government & Politics, Religion,
Social Studies, World History,
Writing
Special Needs:
Elementary Math, Reading
Elementary Education:
Elementary Math, Grammar, Reading, Vocabulary, Writing
Business:
Writing

Approved subjects are in bold.

Approved subjects

In most cases, tutors gain approval in a subject by passing a proficiency exam. For some subject areas, like music and art, tutors submit written requests to demonstrate their proficiency to potential students. If a tutor is interested but not yet approved in a subject, the subject will appear in non-bold font. Tutors need to be approved in a subject prior to beginning lessons.

English

I majored in Religious Studies, and minored in Creative Writing and History, all of which are very writing-intensive subjects. In college, I often found myself giving writing advice to my classroom peers, and since graduating, I have helped a number of students improve their writing skills and perfect their papers.

Religion

I majored in Religious Studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, one of the top programs in the nation for the academic study of religion. There, my coursework covered a wide range of religious traditions and historical phenomena, most notably Catholicism, the Protestant traditions in both Europe and the Americas, Judaism and the history of Hebrew scriptures, Islam, Buddhism, and religious colonialism in the Americas. I also attended Christian-affiliated religious schools from grades 5 to 11, where I received an education in Christian history and theology. While I may not share in my students' beliefs, I am comfortable teaching both college-level academic courses and high/middle school courses on Christian (Catholic or Protestant) history and/or theology, the Bible, and comparative religions.

World History

I minored in History at one of the nation's top programs, where I took courses in North American, South American, Caribbean, European, Middle Eastern and African History. I have written a number of research papers around various world historical topics, including, but not limited to: the African Diaspora, colonialism in Northern Africa, India and North America, and the history of women's religious practice in Iran. I have both a broad perspective, and a curiosity for local detail.

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Religious Studies

Education

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Religious Studies)

Patient and thorough

Eddie has been working with my son on his writing and math skills. He is in the fourth grade. He helps my son stay on task. When my son works with him his work is done in half he time.

— Chavita, New York, NY on 3/29/16

Hourly rate

Standard Hourly Rate: $65.00

Cancellation: 12 hours notice required

Travel policy

Eddie will travel within 12 miles of New York, NY 10025.